Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by Britney from Hammond, IN

Great hotel.

Posted Oct 19, 2013
I enjoyed my stay.
3 out of 5
by Dee from IL

Just an ok hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: The cost
Location: Casinos nearby
I paid way to much for this room. This is an overpriced hotel. The facilities are basic.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by Brenda from Ohio

Nice place to sleep and nice restaurant.

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Pros: Clean and nice to have restaurant available to their guests.
Cons: Rooms may need deorderized.
Location: We were at a wedding in Chicago, so great location to reach the big city.
Unforturnately, although very clean room, it smelled like cigarette smoke and we both did not like that odor. We arrived late, and when I called the desk, we were informed the custodial staff had already left for the night. We felt the desk clerk was very nice to us and apologized that he couldn't do anything about the problem. I reported the odor to the daytime desk staff so they were also made aware of the problem.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by mrs. from St. Louis, MO, USA

Clean and comfortable rooms.

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Had to leave hotel for food
I am picky about the cleanliness of hotels, but I could not find anything wrong with my room. It was super clean! I stayed over the memorial day weekend and the halls were quiet. Front desk staff were helpful.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Indiana hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2013
Hotel was good however room had a moldy smell. Staff was very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel overall

Posted Jul 30, 2012
Pros: Breakfast was okay but the sausage that i ordered was not done, very very pink on the inside.
Cons: Breakfast
It was a good place to stay for my location and the staff was friendly and courteous
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elizabethtown, KY

I will use this hotel again when I'm in the area.

Posted Oct 18, 2011
The hotel management were friendly and helpful. Our assigned room was non-smoking but reeked of smoke. Management found another room which was satisfactory. An indoor pool would improve the lure for this hotel. The ability to walk to a nice place to eat without going outside was nice, the food good as well as the staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati OH

Nice place in a not-so-nice area

Posted Sep 13, 2011
I grew up on the South Side of Chicago and had some trepidation about actually staying in Hammond, Indiana. But I was pleasantly surprised. I am a woman who was traveling alone and I never felt unsafe. It was kind of off the beaten path in an area of hotels and businesses. The rooms and public areas were clean and updated. The staff - from the front desk to the restaurant to the housekeepers - were friendly and helpful. Vending machines and ice were conveniently located. I didn't use the pool or fitness room so I can't speak to that. My only complaint was that the bed was rather hard and lumpy. But other than that it was a very comfortable place. I had recently stayed in an extremely expensive "boutique hotel" in Chicago and had never been so miserable in my life! This Best Western was relatively inexpensive and seemed positively luxurious compared to that place. The room was a good size, it had a comfy chair, the bathroom was modern and worked well - no complaints. No - Hammond is not a garden spot, but I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who needed to stay close to northwest Indiana or the southeast suburbs of Chicago.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Bad Service, Old hotel, go somewhere else.

Posted Sep 9, 2011
This place is a dive and overpriced for what you get. Avoid.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Very good quality at very affordable price

Posted Mar 29, 2011
The hotel was close to a major freeway but just far away enough that road noise was no factor. Bathroom was spotless and the bed very comfortable. Not much else I expect in a hotel/motel. I would stay at Best Western at this location without hesitation.