Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Mac from Los Angeles

Classy style, lacks comfort

Posted Nov 8, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel East Houston is quite stylish, has very friendly staff and couldn't be better located. I loved the coffee and tea bar everyday - open for most of the day. There is a Whole Foods and great restaurants just blocks away. The rooftop deck is fantastic. Our room was tiny, which is NYC typical. The bathroom was really spacious and the tub was wonderful! (Particularly good for a soak after the NYC marathon!). The bed however was really firm. So firm that I had a hard time sleeping. I hate to complain about that, because I liked everything else about our stay. The bed, however is really key to a hotel, so here's hoping they get some pillowtops to add and soften the blow for the next guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not comfortable

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels
The room was so small it didn't even have a chair. And the mattress was *very* hard.
5 out of 5
by Bob from Cape Cod

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels
My activities take place on the lower east side and this hotel is in the perfect location for me. Clean, comfortable, and convenient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lower eastside

Posted Oct 21, 2013
WOW. Small small small. I paid $333.00 for a two by two. No closet no draw space. I put my suitcase on the ground and lived out if it. I had 8 inches between walk and bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daniel from Birmingham, MI

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Hotel was convenient to friends I visited in SOHO. Room was clean but very small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Clean and Convenient

Posted Oct 6, 2013
The Hotel outside and lobby are very nice looking which is a big relief when staying at a hotel for the first time. I was looking for a place on the lower end of the price range for the area so that can mean a less than inviting appearance, but my initial impression was very positive here. There were no problems locating my reservation and I was in my room a few minutes after arrival. The room was small but sufficient for me, a single traveler. The decor was updated and neat. It was just perfect for what I was looking for which, basically, was a clean comfortable bedroom for the night and a nice bathroom to prepare for the day. Its not the type of space that you'd want to hang out in due to the small size, but thats not what I was looking for. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ben H from Indiana

NYU interview stay

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels
I stayed one night for an interview the following morning. Staff was helpful and accommodating. Rooms are small, of course (it's NYC) but very nice. The view from my 6th floor north facing rooms was amazing! Definitely didn't expect such a view for the price. It was somewhat noisy in the morning around 7 as my neighbors got ready for the day, but not unreasonable. I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Steve from Florida

Small with it all

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels
I loved this hotel. The staff, location and amenities are excellent. Small but so comfy room with everything one needs or nearby. Good coffee and tea available all day on lower level, NY Times in the a.m., a fridge and microwave for guest use. A wonderful rooftop furnished with comfy tables,chairs,couches and you are invited to bring in food and drink to enjoy.