Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Nice, near downtown Portland.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
The hotel was clean, staff were friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast was good. The only possible down side is that because it is an older hotel not all the rooms have private baths, and some that do you have to access through the hallway. Each room does have a set of robs if you are uneasy about walking the hall in you pjs. There are a few rooms that have private baths in the room, it should say in the listing but if you are unsure you can call the hotel and they can tell you and there is always someone there to answer the phone day or night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Fine

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Lobby was beautiful staff was amazing. Room was UNBELIEVABLY SMALL. there was a bed and barely enough room to walk around the bed. Room was honestly the size of a closet!!! There also are pipes in EVERY ROOM except the ground floor. These pipes made obnoxious and loud noises throughout the entire night. Very loud popping sounds, sounded like metal clanging all night. Did not get any sleep and there was NOTHING hotel staff could do about it because its part of how the building is. Unless you plan on getting the best room money can buy here and sleeping on the ground floor, its not worth it. Staff was great, and the look and decore are great. But rooms are SMALL
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris

Portland Stay

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: small and nice
Cons: I would not change a thing
Location: very central
nice place, good location, good food nearby, friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Met our needs.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
We were between houses, it was 1am when we arrived and were exhausted. The desk staff was warm and inviting, the room, though small was all we needed for a good night's sleep. It was quiet and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnville, Maine

Home away from home

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: I am welcomed, safe and content.
Cons: Nothing, really, do not change a thing.
Location: Close to hospital and downtown and the bus station and the ball park. Easy to find from highway.
I live two hours away from Portland, but when there for business, pleasure, or to be near someone at the hospital across the street, the Inn at St. John is where I want to stay. It is old, funky, there is no elevator and most of the rooms are up a flight or two of stairs. That encourages me to travel light. Everything is clean and neat, the small television and wi-fi are enough, I don't need bells and whistles. The rooms are surprisingly quiet, as are the narrow hallways. The simple breakfast is enough. The staff is of the finest kind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Tiny and charming

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Location: On the outskirts of downtown Portland, but on the main drag so it doesn't take that long to walk to the commercial district, also it's on a bus route.
It's a tiny little hotel, but they took that and ran with it very well. The European style accommodations were a nice change of pace from a standard hotel. Friendly staff, and the location was a lot quieter than I expected since we were across from the hospital. A note about the size of the rooms: if you want a place that you can stay in all day this may not be right for you, but if you want a nice place to sleep it works. I'm 6'2" and I filled the bathroom just by stepping inside but that wasn't an issue because I went to Portland to do stuff outside of the hotel, so don't be scared away by the size of the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S; Illinois

A beautiful, quaint hotel.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
A wonderful stay. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. A lovely atmosphere. We will most certainly be back the next time that we are in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from US

Historic hotel for Maine Medical Center interview

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: I have stayed at St. John's inn before - it is a good price and located very close to MMC. There is a parking lot in the back, and complementary continental breakfast in the morning (pastries, cereal, yogurt, coffee, water bottles). The hotel staff is extremely nice, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. You share a semi-private bathroom with other rooms on your floor (maybe 4 other rooms?) but I didn't mind this. The hotel reminds me a a bed and breakfast, but operates like a hotel. Very comfortable stay - would come back again!
Cons: You do share a semi-private bathroom with other rooms. I don't mind this, but some people might.
Location: MMC, Western promanade (park) is very closeby. Portland is very walkable city, and there are many restaurants within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel, reasonable cost

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Cons: There is nothing to improve, though potential customers should know some of the rooms have a separate bathroom in the hallway that is shared.
This hotel has a beautiful atmosphere and offers all of my favorite amenities - free bottled water and coffee, cookies and free wi-fi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sedgwick, Maine

A Delightful Treat to What an Inn Should Be!

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: The inn is so wonderfully decorated yet is cozy and comfortable without that "look but don't touch" feel. I could not have been more pleased to find the Inn at St John like the inns in Europe and a few places here and there in the US. The staff at this inn are a big part of this high praise. I was truly pleased in every way. Will choose to stay here whenever in Portland!
Cons: Not a thing! I found that even my dietary restrictions were addressed by the Management at the Inn at Sst. John!
Location: Restaurants within walking distance are excellent. Pharmacy and other services also within a short walk. I was in Portland for a meeting.