Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Great hotel, fantastic location, lovely staff.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Great hotel with all the facilities you need & more than other Gambian hotels. Superb location. Really friendly staff.
Location: Senegambia strip, Serekunda, all the main attractions within a short taxi drive.
Our 5th year here .... & we cant wait to go back !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk somerset

Good location, close to beach.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Excellent hotel location, lovely beach. Only complaint is food in hotel, menue average but they didnt have a lot of dishes available, so went hungry a few times, . Taxi's expensive to main strip to bars & resturants, which is annoying , as eating out is a must with food choices being poor in hotel. There is no free shuttle available, so taxi's are the only option
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room tiny, nothing worked good expensive at hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Ebookers
Gambia was great but hotel was not good. The room for 3 people was really only big enough for 2 so had to up grade to a bigger room. Nothing worked, air conditioning didn't work, rooms very tired not a 5 star at all the spa was dreadful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very relaxing hotel and nice spa

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Stayed for 4 nights and had a very nice time. Would come again. African cabana style rooms and very roomy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic location right on the beautiful beach

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, layout of the accommodation and lovely suites.
Cons: I loved it all.
Location: If you want to experience the Gambian life, go to the markets. Try the Albert Market in Banjul and the Serrakunka market slightly nearer.
The Gambian people and staff at the hotel were one of the most friendliest I have ever known. The food (which I was worried about) was delicious and I loved the Gambian food but there was English in abundance. The accommodation (apartments) were located apart from each other so you had a lot of privacy, were spacious and cool if needed to be. The beach is long and very sandy for lovely walks. The spa treatments were very enjoyable and good value. Overall I just loved it all.
5 out of 5
by NEIL from Byfleet

Relaxing location, with lovely grounds on beach

Posted Mar 8, 2015 on Hotels
Very peaceful hotel situation in lovely grounds on the beach.Fantastic pool that was large enough to swim lengths.Lots of sunbeds to move where ever wanted & never on top of other guests.Rooms very comfortable,loved the fluffy dressing gowns for sitting on the balcony with a cuppa first thing.Kept.very clean daily.Had extra treat (R 7126)as could see monkeys playing nearby and Kingfishers landing just outside.Air con unit very noisy & not very effective.All staff exceptionally friendly,especially,our cleaner,gardener,Malick & Yaya in bar(who made me a special banana cocktail & made it cocktail of the week)Rhiana,Agnes,Lomin & the egg lady at breakfast,the pool guy,all the reception staff etc.Our only real gripe was the extremely slow service at dinner in the evening.The staff were always friendly,but not organised.It wasn't because they were busy either.There were several area's off the main area that were more inviting,but you got forgotten & then when you were noticed you had to wait ages for everything,which didn't make for a good experience.The white wine actually ran out of stock one evening!I'd read lots of similar reviews like this which is another reason we chose B&B.The senior management need to take notice of these reviews & solve the problem.Perhaps more staff training in organisational & time management skills.All in all though this didn't put us off the hotel. We had a fantastically relaxing stay & were looked after in every other aspect other than dinner.
3 out of 5
by yu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Friendly staff, reasonable food, great location

Posted Mar 4, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay. The security were good most the time but one male (security man) hassled us a bit and even got a bit demanding and asked for our iphone and money. The food was average, I wouldn't go full board as the restaurants in the area were amazing. Drinks are a bit pricy but beer is cheap enough. Staff in the bar, garden, cleaners, reception were really friendly. The hotel was full enough for me, I wouldn't want it busier. Rooms and grounds are clean. Location is fab, we didn't venture to the pool much and lounged outside our room right next to the sea. Info/tips: Everyone wants money! Get used to it. It's windy, I wish I'd taken another cardy for night time. A meal out will cost you £30-£40 for wine, starters, quality steak and an espresso. Go to 'the butchers shop' for dinner - excellent food Try scala restaurant also amazing
2 out of 5
by Lillian from Denmark

Needs a touch-up

Posted Feb 10, 2015 on Hotels
Ok as such, but if you try to access a lunch you have a problem, because they think you are trying to run away from the bill :-_
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good quiet location

Posted Jan 4, 2015
The breakfast choice and management is barely 3*. If you can find milk for tea or cutlery or someone clearing tables you will have to wait a long time. There are so many basic little things they dont think about doing well. There is no urgency or attention to detail. The hotel is a long way from anything so you have to rely on the limited offerings at the hotel for food and entertainment. The whole place seems like a half hearted effort throughout. However, the location is quiet and the views are great.