Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotell with beautiful grounds.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: The grounds, room and adult pool
Cons: The food not up to standards of 5 star hotel. Breakfast buffet disaster. Do it right or dont do at all
The hotel and rooms are excellent with very comfortable beds. The entire staff was very service oriented and very friendly. Valet to pool attendants were all outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Beautiful property

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Wonderful property with great families. Unfortunately the food at Amaya was literally not edible. We complained to the front desk but not much was done. The meal was expensive and nobody in our party managed to have more than a couple of bites
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Amazing hotel with great staff. I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NM

Deficits for handicapped; excellent staff

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: The staff.
Cons: See above. I think they need to have an expert on handicapped issues come to go through the entire hotel and make recommendations.
Location: We were visiting family and used Lyft to go back and forth to San Diego. Their service was perfect.
We stayed 6 nights. The staff is marvelous: they cannot do enough for you and are there instantly when you call. The housekeeping staff does not always leave complete supplies in the bathroom, but they readily supply them when called. When I asked the housekeeper directly, she was more careful with the items that we needed. The facility is not well-thought out for anyone with mobility issues. EG: no telephones or benches in the hallways or at elevators; no exterior benches of any kind at Club M. The reason the latter is important is that the distance to the restaurant is too far for mobility impaired to walk, which means taking a cart. To return, the cart is summoned and then there is no place outside to wait. We found the food very good, though the service is slow everywhere. If you want a prompt breakfast, order room service. I was interested that I ordered the same item twice at Club M (sweet potato puree soup) and got two entirely different renditions of the recipe. The caesar salad has remarkably excellent anchovies! Another issue: for a person with vision issues: the elevator neither chimes nor announces the floors. The website says that the Relaxation Pool is heated; I do not think that this is so. The staff said it was 81 degrees, but I debate that - it seemed just plain cold to me. Because of the aforementioned mobility issues, I require a heated pool and was disappointed and unable to use the pool. The spa was fine,though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel, beautiful grounds.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The setting and gardens.
Cons: Rooms felt a bit cramped.
Lovely hotel set in a beautiful neighbourhood. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were very clean. Fitness and spa looked good, but didn't have the opportunity to use them.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with beautiful grounds

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Great Italian restaurant
Cons: Parking is either $35 a night (ridiculous) or self-parking which is purposely designed to be a significant walk. I won't stay again due to this.
A resort like environment with well designed gardens and facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica, CA

Hillside Estate

Posted Apr 7, 2017
The Fairmont Del Mar is absolutely beautiful. My boyfriend brought me there for my birthday, and I was very pleased. The grounds are amazing as well as their rooms. You really feel like you are on a five star vacation. Every detail was perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by elena

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was absolutely amazing. We will definetely return.
5 out of 5
by Patricia

Great experience

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
We had a nice stay, room was lovely, restaurant was great, good food and great service. I also hosted a baby shower in their restaurant -- they were very accommodating, professional and all are guests were thoroughly impressed. Hopefully next time we stay there, it will be for more than just one night!