Ratings based on 652 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay after 2 am arrival.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Slept well very well. How many caracters do I have to add before it's accepted
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2017
It was okay, not much time spent in the room. Bathroom a little small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fort frances

Nice stay

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Nice place friendly staff! Would definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
We were in Thunder Bay for two nights for a family funeral and needed easy access to the airport and car rentals. The location was great, the shuttle was a bonus, particularly as we arrived on a later flight. There is plenty of parking and free wifi. On our last evening we gathered for dinner in the Runaway Restaurant. There were about 15 of us. We had a very nice meal in pleasant surroundings. Food and service were excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017
This hotel is not new but it was pretty nice. A big of a musty smell in the room. The pool, lobby and restaurant are very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Ontario

Dated, terrible wifi, flies and bad heater.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Pool & Hot Tub. Great restaurant.
Cons: The entire room.
Location: Not much. Airport.
Booked this hotel due to the pictures supplied on Expedia. I like to stay in decently nice hotels. I stayed at the Valhalla, easy to say I won't be booking here again. The first room I was assigned, the wifi didn't work at all on either my Mac or iPhone 7. They moved me down the hall, Wifi worked, but poorly. The room was very, very out-dated (nothing like the pictures), but over conversation in the hot tub, I hear the 5th floor is renovated. Everything about the room is out-dated; couch, chairs, furniture, clock, lamps... There were several flies (like fruit flies?) everywhere in the room, which made the stay pretty gross. The heater only had constant settings. It was either on constantly or off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

I felt like queen its a beautiful hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2017
The staff was humorous and helpful. Its quiet classy and reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Lauri, Hotel Management
Mila, Thank you for sharing such a great review of your times with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on future visits to our area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from white river on

Not bad hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2017
The couch was stained and we didn't get the room I asked the restaurant isn't the best food was cold and I don't go to that kind of restaurant and get frozen burger.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Lauri, Hotel Management
Rose, Thank you for choosing the Valhalla Inn and taking the time to share your feedback. We do apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Your food comments have been shared with our new Director of Kitchen Operations for his attention. He is in the process of making several positive changes in outlets. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future so that we can win back your confidence. Lauri Hoskins Director of Sales
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Had a good sleep. The floor we were on is scheduled for renovations this year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Lauri, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased that renovations will taking place on both the 1st & 3rd floors starting in April. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Lauri Hoskins Director of Sales
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario

Good restaurants

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Not very impressive
Cons: Overall room conditions and brought up to date everything is at least 20 years old if not more in those rooms
Room far out dated, was in a non smoking room that stunk of old cigarette, ice machine not working, vending machine for beverages not working, the bathroom ceiling was peeling and looked like it exterienced some serious water damage. It has a great steak house. Elevator also smelled of cigarette. Great shuttle service. Rediculouslt charge 20$ to activate your room phone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Lauri, Hotel Management
April, Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay at the Valhalla Inn. The hotel does normally ask either for credit card on file or a security deposit for any incidental charges. We do apologize that some conditions in the hotel did not meet your expectations and your review is being shared with the team for their attention. We do hope you will consider staying with us again on future visits to Thunder Bay.