Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Berlin, WI

Great spot for snowmobiling!

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Had an enjoyable 2 night stay for our short get away for snowmobiling. Great location at a clean motel. The front desk staff were very friendly as well! Highly recommend this AmericInn.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Winter Wonderland

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel. Clean. Friendly service. Plowed out the parking lot early enough to get to our event.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mn

Clean, efficient, and accommodating

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: nothing
Location: Convenient shopping a short walk away.
We were in Houghton for a ski race weekend. We brought our truck camper along. Staff was very helpful in assisting us to plug in. This helped us tremendously! Our room was very clean and comfortable. We didn't need to mess with the thermostat. It was at a perfect temperature.The breakfast was plenty, and the eggs were hot. The pool area and sauna were clean and well kept. The coffee and tea were always available, which is a nice touch, and the fresh fruit was appreciated. Great value, friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Very nice stay at AmericInn

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Location: 15 minute drive from airport.
Hotel staff were all very friendly, and hotel was very nice. Breakfast was very good. Would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bathroom Flood

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
The bathroom completely flooded on the first night of my 2 night stay. Wet carpet, bathroom, etc. I was told this room does it 'all the time because we're renovating' and essentially ended up cleaning the bulk of the initial mess myself after the gal from the front desk brought a mop. When I returned for the next evening, the room had been cleaned and dried - there were 2 fans running. This makes for a great travel story, but was quite inconvenient without any offer of compensation for the trouble.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Frills Clean and Comfortable Hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Good no frills hotel. Older hotel well maintained. Very clean room with comfortable bed. Staff very friendly and helpful. This was our second stay at this property. Well stay again in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calumet, Michigan

Exploring the U.P

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
Great time with friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Very clean hotel about 10 minutes from Michigan Tech.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midland MI

Hotel 20 minutes from MTU.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Overall we were pleased with our stay at this hotel. We wanted a hotel in Houghton or Hancock for move-in weekend at MTU, but they were all booked already. This was a good location within a reasonable distance. Hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly, professional and courteous. The breakfast was typical of a chain hotel breakfast. Pool and hot tub were clean and enjoyable. We were somewhat disappointed when the staff requested that our family leave the pool area on Saturday evening at 10:00 p.m., even though no one else was there using it. This was due to the hotel's rule that between 10 p.m. and midnight the pool was only for guests over 18 years of age. We wouldn't have minded if anyone else was actually in the pool, but it didn't make sense to us in this case. Overall I would recommend this hotel, but there is nothing to write home about.