Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach

Comfortable room and Beautiful View

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: The bed was very comfortable and I really enjoyed the breakfast and evening drinks on the top floor
Cons: Carpet could stand to be cleaned
Location: There are many interesting shops, some selling items made by local artists. Many interesting historical buildings in nearby Laurium and Calumet.
I wasn't expecting too much from this hotel as some reviews indicated that it was a bit rundown. It is, but in a comfortable way. The furnishings are more "antique" than "need to be replaced" and the bed was very good. I appreciated the breakfast and drink coupons. The view from the 7th floor (location of restaurant and bar) is wonderful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Muskegon

Great location, beautiful view

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Location, view, breakfast, drinks
Cons: Room heat didn't seem to go down, finally turned it off to be comfortable at night
Location: Walk to restaraunts and bars, campus weather permitting
Stayed 2 nights to visit student. Walk to town, great breakfast in dining room with view. Free drink coupons both nights for 7th floor bar with view.
5 out of 5
by George

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Renee

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and base for snowmobiling.
3 out of 5
by Vicki

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
Our room was so HOT, we couldn't figure out how to cool it down, please fix the heating system
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

NIce but very tired.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Views and location
Cons: Condition and a freshing up.
Location: Good location and nice being downtown.
Hotel is tired and needs upgrades. Furniture all scuffed up. Good location but again I feel needs attention. Staff friendly and breakfast with a view always nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, friendly staff.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Room was nice. Only gripe is that the heater had no thermostat, on low got too hot, fan was too cold, had to self regulate by changing every couple hours.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
Very dated property with deferred maintenance. Cleanliness of property below average at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice Hotel, right downtown.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: I liked the location, and beautiful view of the Keweenaw from the restaurant and lounge, as well as the staff.
Cons: The room we stayed in needs new carpet, and furniture. The bathroom is also quite dated. The TV was not in HD, although it was a flat screen.
Location: It is located in downtown Houghton, near Michigan Technological University. There are quaint shops and good restaurants within walking distance.
This is a nice hotel, in a great location, but the room we had is in need of a serious update. The furniture and carpeting are quite worn, and the bathroom needs some improvements. (It did appear that some rooms had been remodeled, but not the room we were in.) The staff was pleasant and helpful. The included breakfast was tasty, but small, and the free drinks at the lounge were appreciated, but watery.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gibsonia

UP for MTU Sr. Night

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Location: the location is great, and there are many things to do within walking distance (shops, museums, restaurants, parks, churches)
The hotel is very well located in downtown Houghton. It is an older hotel, and some of the furnishings are a bit shabby, and there are not enough outlets for charging electronic devices in rooms. We also had problems with the guests staying in the room above us being too noisy quite far into the night. A huge disappointment was the fact that we found out at 6:30 am on Sunday, that breakfast would not be available until 7am (our departure time). we had to scramble to make other plans. The breakfast included with the hotel cost was very subpar (we got much better fare at a Baymont on our way up to the UP).