Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oldham

Pleasant hotel close to Durham,Sunderland ,coast.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Central for our needs.Bar appeared to be hub for the locality and the patrons were a friendly group of people.If in the area would definitely stay .
Cons: Some of the room furniture could be upgraded,a little MFI perhaps.
Location: Durham with all its treasures is less than 10 miles away.Similar distance to Sunderland and coast.Beamish is again close,as is Newcastle.Very central.
Very pleasing,ideal location,friendly locals.Bar and Restaurant very busy but not uncomfortably so.We were visiting the area to support our grandson who was representing Lancashire versus Durham at Under 13 level.There was some road noise,the hotel is between two roads.Dinner and Breakfast were well cooked and served.Hotel was fully booked which obviously says something for the place.
4 out of 5
by Gary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by John from Goole

The outside a little tired but lovely inside

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
We picked this hotel as it was close to a charity ball venue - it was reasonably priced and although the outside needs updating and some tlc, inside was clean and comfortable. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to motorway.

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were very helpful & accomodating. The bed was lumpy & awful to sleep in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed in this hotel overnight as I was attending a football match in Sunderland the next day. Hotel was very nice, nothing extraordinary but it was very comfortable to stay in and the service was good. Only downside was the lack of knowledge of the breakfast ingredients as my wife is coleaic and needs to eat gluten free, however, the staff did make an effort to try and cater for this. Maybe some training on this matter would be suitable. The place itself is in a quiet village but we got a bus into Durham which took 20 minutes, probably a 10 minute drive in the car. The seaside is also only a 10/15 minute drive away. SO overall a good location.
4 out of 5
by Donald from Calford Green

A handy place to stay for Wearside

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Conveniently situated adjacent to the A690, the only drawback being noise from the road which meant the windows had to be closed at night. Excellent restaurant (Thai and English) and breakfasts cooked to order. The only downside was that the bathroom was rather spartan: no rails for towels, no toilet roll holder, no shelf under the mirror, no tissues.
4 out of 5
by Ben from York

Enjoyable

Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed our night's stay at the Highfield Hotel. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Had a great meal in the superb Thai Restaurant too. Highly recommend eating there during your stay. Rooms were excellent, very comfy and good size.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

****

Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms were lovely and food was gorgeous
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Comfortable Hotel on a Main Route

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Restaurant on site
Cons: Shower needs repair and TV had a weak signal so didn't work
Location: Located within easy reach of main roads and just outsid Sunderland
The hotel is comfortable enough and has a restaurant on site. The shower in our room needs repairing and the TV didn't work! We only stayed for a night so didn't mention it. Breakfast was good and the staff helpful?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Got a cheap deal. well worth the price

Posted Nov 21, 2011
Location: Newcastle
well worth it.