Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Strong chemical smell.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Clean The AC works too slow. Nice bathroom. Comfy bed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very average hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: bed and TV
Cons: Better bathroom supplies, more comfy bed
There is nothing special about this hotel. But that being said it is not that bad. It had a nice 40 inch tv, king size bed and sofa bed in our room. You could tell the hotel room was old but it was pretty well maintained. Be advised that it isn't in that great of a part of town. When I told my family about the area I stayed at they were pretty surprised.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Last minute

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Not a five star place, basic.. You pay for what you get. Cheap
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel with very friendly staff

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Everything was good. Couldn't connect to the wifi that they advertise, but overall it was a very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Tennessee

An outstanding value

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: Room was in good repair and spotlessly clean.
Cons: Wifi signal was spotty, but maybe the guy in the next room was streaming Netflix...
Location: True, it is out of the way and there is not much to do in the vicinity, but my impression is that most guests are workers newly arrived in the area.
As many other reviewers have noted, this motel is an outstanding value for the money. True, the facility is a little dated, but the room was in 100% working order and was spotlessly clean. I have stayed in many other "better" motels (bigger name and higher prices) that had moldy bathrooms, broken A/C, broken towel bars and shower rods (that previous guests had used as grab handles and had gone unrepaired). NONE of that was present in my room at Budget Host, Hempstead Inn. Add in the lower prices, and it is an outstanding value. I would not hesitate to stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

poor condition

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: It was quiet
Cons: need some updates and cleaning ( carpet should be washed insted of just vacumed )
Location: it is too far away from city. nothing to do nearby.
Facilities are old. Carpet is old and not clean. Room doesn't smell good unless you keep the door open. However it was quiet which is good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, Missouri

One night stay in Hotel Budget Host, Hempstead Inn

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Pros: The staff.
Cons: The carpeting need to be updated, which will improve the odor situation in the room.
Location: Ok
First of all, I was grateful to the staff for accommodating me, despite my very late arrival. I arrived at the hotel at about 1:30 AM and the staff processed me in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tu

Good hotel nice and quiet

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Okay hotel only upstairs have to unlock doors to get your luggage in
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Good Hotel With Great Value

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: The amenities mentioned above were greatly appreciated, as was the courtesy and professionalism of the staff (front desk and housekeeping).
Cons: The free wireless internet was appreciated but was a bit slow and disconnected occasionally. A coffee maker in the room would have been nice.
Location: There aren't many attractions in the immediate area; that fact alone must account for the extremely economical room rates.
I wish one of the criteria used to judge the Budget Host Hempstead Inn was value; in that category, they'd receive a "5." The fact of the matter is that this motel is in a bit of an out-of-the-way location (about a 10 mile, 20 minute drive from most of Houston's attractions) -- but it's a NICE location (i.e., totally safe). Furthermore, it's a convenient location in certain respects; there's a Burger King next door and a little convenience store within easy walking distance. The place is run in a sensible, considerate manner. They have (but don't advertise) a typical, modest, "continental breakfast" for their guests (orange juice, milk, coffee, cold cereal, and packaged pastries) available for free in the lobby each morning -- and they end its availability at a ridiculously early hour (as certain other motel chains do). The beds are extremely comfortable, the rooms are well maintained, there are TV's, microwaves, refrigerators, blow dryers, iron & ironing boards, complimentary soap (bath and facial), shampoo, and even body lotion. If you're still in your room around the sensible 11 am checkout time on an extended stay, the front desk may call you to ask if you need room service; you don't have to worry about a maid using her key to barge in at an inopportune moment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Posted Aug 25, 2015
I thought everything was very nice. Very quite and comfortable sleep. In a very nice area.