Ratings based on 1,018 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Very nice hotel close to Lakewood Church.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Hotel is very clean and personnel is very friendly. Very good location with easy access...
Cons: Making it pet friendly...
Location: Location is great.
Very good experience rooms are very confortable and service is excelent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Mark Yakoubek, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I hope you have a chance to stay with us again soon. Mark Yakoubek Rooms Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Beach, FL

Nice hotel close to Lake Wood Church

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Staff, especially PJ and Tonia at the front desk, went above and beyond to make us welcome. Cookies at check in are a nice touch. Bed was comfy and we liked the shower was separate from the sinks. Sprigs breakfast buffet is awesome. Fitness room was bright and airy with up to date equipment. Underground garage parking is tight and a little confusing but we figured it out by the end of the weekend. Biggest bonus was close proximity to Joel Osteen's church which is in walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thanks for a great review. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your visit went. We look forward to your return. Mark Yakoubek Rooms Director
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Only Business Trippers Should Stay Here

Posted Feb 13, 2017
With parking, Wi-Fi, and breakfast requiring add-on fees, there is really no reason to stay here unless you can expense all those add-on's back to your company or are part of some sort of "frequent-sleeper" program that includes those things with your "membership." Everything was comfortable and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by mark.yakoubek@hilton.com, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback. I hope you will consider staying with us in the future. Mark Yakoubek Rooms Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Posted Jan 31, 2017
The location was perfect as I had meetings in one of the Greenway Plazas. Free shuttle ride was welcomed addition.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback. We hope you have a chance to visit again soon. Mark Yakoubek Rooms Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Double tree Greenway plaza

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Clean atmosphere. Enjoyed the stafff. We enjoy the food and outside fire pit. But unfortunately this time. They had run out of gas on the fire pit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thanks for the feedback. I hope you have a chance to visit us again soon. Mark Yakoubek Rooms Director
5 out of 5
by Michael

Convenient access to Lakewood Church

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
The rooms are really well appointed and feel luxurious. We stayed here on Christmas eve so that we could attend services at Lakewood Church/Joel Osteen ministries. The hotel is literally above the parking garage that serves the church.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for a great review. Hope to see you back with us soon. Mark Yakoubek Rooms Director
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exceptional customer service

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Overall the customer service is what made our stay a 5 star rating. Thank you for making sure that our stay was pleasant. The staff went above and beyond to make sure our room was in perfect conditions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and 5 STAR rating of the Doubletree Greenway Plaza. We train our staff to go above and beyond to ensure every aspect of your stay is enjoyable. I hope you have a chance to stay with us again. Mark Yakoubek Rooms Director
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
I was disappointed because I felt you had hidden fees, due to being charged for wifi in room. It says free wifi-not lobby only! Also, charged for parking, NO microwave in room( we stayed for two days) I really expected more with this being Hilton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry we failed to meet your expectations. We use surveys like yours to find ways to improve our operation. We are committed to exceeding your expectations in the future. Mark Yakoubek Rooms Director
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay. I felt as if free parking should have been offered. There was a fee for parking even if you self parked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I hope you have a chance to stay with us again soon. Mark Yakoubek Rooms Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Very pleasantly surprised. Got a great deal for the money. Beautiful view comfortable bed spacious room. Loved the warm cookies!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 STAR review of the Doubletree Greenway Plaza. I hope you have a chance to visit us again soon. Mark Yakoubek Rooms Director