Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointed with Houston stay

Posted Sep 14, 2015
The hallway carpet had a misty odor. The carpet in the room was very dirty. The muffins were stale. The coffee was disappointing, there was only sweetened coffemate available, no plain milk or half-half packets. The front desk very seldom had a person. Overall, we would rate our stay as a C.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Good in a pinch, if you're not picky

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Had to make an emergency trip to Houston, and wanted to keep it under $100 for lodging. This was the closest hotel that pulled that off without looking like a total dump. It didn't really excel anywhere, but it didn't fall incredibly short, either. The common areas all seem to reek of smoke, but the room itself was pretty clean. The staff ranged from courteous to disinterested, depending on the shift I dealt with. Wi-Fi is always nice, but it was pretty slow, even for basic web browsing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Too Many Things Not Working

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Coffee in the morning was decent.
Cons: Keep things in good working condition.
Location: Easy to find. Close to highway. Quiet neighborhood. About 5 minutes from Walmart, McDonald, Burger King.
When we arrived no one was at the check-in counter. We had to wait almost 10 minutes before the guy showed up. He thought I booked for smoking room even though my booking record clearly showed non-smoking room. After a while he said he found a room in third floor for us, but he told us to climb the stairs because elevator was not working. After I opened the door of the room, it's a mess, with a large bag of trash. We had to walk down the stairs. Now he said he found a room for us in first floor because someone just cancelled their reservation. We went out for dinner. After we came back I wanted to get on-line, but found out internet was not working. He replied, "Yes, internet has been done the whole day. We've been trying to fix it in the past four hours." Later, I turned on TV, there's nothing. He replied, "Yes, cable and internet were down together." I said, "You should have told me before you processed my check-in." He said, "I thought I did. I've been repeating it to people the whole day." Well, he never mentioned anything to me. Also, I had to ask for hair dryer because the one in our room was missing. Breakfast was very disappointing. There were only a few muffins and some bags of oatmeal. Some of the things in the room were not working, either. It's possible that the hotel staff was telling the truth that thunderstorm brought internet and cable down. And the staff was always polite and was quick to get me missing items such as hair dryer and cups, etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful.
This property appears to be ok from the curb but once you get inside and see the "dated" fixtures; ride the elevator that threatens to break down; and struggle to unlock your room with outdated equipment, you realize that that this property is in need of a major remodel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas

Nightmare Stay

Posted Mar 26, 2015
The room I was given had a beeping smoke alarm. I was given the choice of sleeping there or taking a room that stank of cigarette smoke. The beeping would have made sleeping impossible. I chose the smoking room and woke up with a horrible sore throat. The hotel's response -take it or leave it, but you have already paid for the room and we will not make any accommodations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Tx

Quiet midrange hotel for independent travelers

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: See details above
Cons: Upgrade the chairs & pillows. Upgrade the entry to allow easier access especially to impaired visitors. (I had a splinted left wrist) Get a new dolly.
Location: Access to 290. Feeder road shopping.
Staff was pleasant and very helpful, especially KESHA. Room was spacious and with an upgrade in chairs would be quite comfortable if not fancy. The kitchen area was well setup for cooking and the appliances were functionally good. The room had several tables. There was an OK straightback chair and a nonfunctional desk chair.There was a well used easy chair. The bed was more firm than I like but good, though with poor pillows. The air control was excellent (I used both the cooler and the heater.) Cleanliness was adequate. Good number of electrical outlets, especially at both sides of the bed. Environment was soothing and quiet (amazing, even with an active toddler 2 doors down.) The only significant problems were a horrid luggage dolly & small front doors that made it very difficult to enter or exit the lobby. Parking was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What is the point of reserving?

Posted Jun 13, 2014
We reserved a non-smoking double room. Whenever we got to the hotel they acted like everything was okay. When we went into the room the smell of smoke assaulted our nostrils. Then we discovered that it was a single room with a foldout couch. And you know how comfortable those couches are. We called downstairs to tell them about the mixup and they told us that there were no other rooms available. So my question was why did I prepay a month before for a room when we won't get that room. We stayed the night because we had no other choice but expidia did reimburse us for that one night. The next day the hotel moved us into another room that they claimed was non-smoking but was still a single. We went in that room and it was noticeably better as far as the smell goes but it was still a single room and it did not have a couch. There was also ashtrays.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I sincerely apologize that the room you were provided with was not in-line with your reservation. As this hotel's manager, I can assure you that I am taking steps to keep this from happening again in the future. As well, our staff is working to eliminate the odor you noticed. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty nice, great staff

Posted May 18, 2014
Not the greatest quality but great staff and I'd reconmed it, wish they had free conditioner XD water not the best filtered but drinkable and room is clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting a review of our hotel. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not offering any free conditioner to you. I truly appreciate your comments regarding our great staff and the cleanliness of our hotel. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
2 out of 5
by Jason from La Verne, CA

Wish I more choices for hotels during my stay.

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Cons: Alot!
Location: Lyndon's BBQ next door. Many other great food establishments not to far away.
I chose this hotel for my stay, because my normal hotel was completely booked up that day. First thing I noticed was the attendant wasn't at the desk when I arrived. I had to call on a phone, so someone can come to the front desk to check me in. I also noticed the lobby was dingy, and didn't seem really inviting. I got to my room, and as soon as I opened my door, I can tell it was a smokers room. I was to tired to go all the way back to the front desk and ask for another room (hay it was only one night). The top of the kitchen counter had chips of laminate missing from it. The sofa had stains on it and the carpet felt dirty, I had to keep my socks on the whole time. Next time, I will drive a few cities away, if I cannot get my normal accommodations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Jason - The staff and I read your comments about your stay with us. I sincerely apologize that you had to stay in a smoking room, the condition of your room and that there was no one at the desk when you came to check-in. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will work on retraining the staff members to make sure your experience is not repeated. We will begin inspecting each room prior to guest check-in as well as retrain our staff on ensuring correct room types are provided. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Alright long term stay

Posted Oct 1, 2013
The people were great. The location is nice. They took a run down hotel, cleaned up the common places, put in a great staff, and went on from there. This place is not that bad, but its a true 2.5 star hotel. I enjoyed my stay and would go back. Just don't have unrealistic high expectations. Staff was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write such a good review. I am glad to read that you were pleased with the staff. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will work hard to make improvements to the appearance of the hotel, to make sure your experience is not repeat. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.