Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Nice staff. Clean hotel. Good location, in walking distance to boardwalk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corpus Christi, Tx

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: The hotel was on the Kemah boardwalk and there was a lot to do.
The room was good. It was clean and quiet and enjoyable. However, the staff has not been trained on customer service. The staff was very inexperienced. I don't fault them. It boils down to upper management. When we checked in, my husband had to go back downstairs 3 times because our key would not unlock the room assigned us. Finally, they sent maintenance up who had to rekey the lock. The next morning we decided to order room service and I called the extension 3 times and ended up with the front desk 3 times. After the 3rd time the girl at the front desk apologized and said she was going to the kitchen right away and they would be calling me. I did not leave the room until 4:00 that day and never received a call. The next morning we decided to eat breakfast in the restaurant and every table was either taken with guests or had to be cleared off. I sat down at one that needed to be cleared off and the bus boy came and cleaned it and told the waitress to come wait on me. She looked at me and nodded and I waited 15 minutes and she never came to wait on me. So we left.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

One night only

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Love the location of the hotel..walking distance to Kemah Boardwalk and restaurants. Which is great as the traffic in the area is terrible!!!
Check in was easy..clerk was not all that friendly. Decor of the hotel was really nice. Stayed on 5th floor. There was not a fresh smell in the hall way, more stuffy sweaty aroma. The room was nice and roomy, comfortable bed. Breakfast was included in the rate and we were informed that a buffet and items on the menu were available. Service started off really slow but improved once a new waitress took over. The variety was what you would expect but I guess they underestimated the amount needed. The warm buffet items stay empty most of the visit. It took a really long time to get our food and once received my husband's blueberry pancakes were plain pancakes with blueberries on the side and my breakfast potatoes were french fries! LOL! Overall it as okay..but needs a little work! Check out was fast and simple! A few minor adjustments and they could receive 4*
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

Excellent Location.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: The boardwalk is a great place for dinner. There are variety of restaurants including one for sushi. The NASA space center iS driving distance.
This hotel is in a great location. There are several decent restaurants close to the hotel, with great food and reasonable prices. The Hubcap grill right next to the hotel makes hamburgers that are even better than home made. The boardwalk which is only a couple of blocks away also has several restaurants and an amusement park for families with children. Everyone at the front desk greeted us with a smile and they were all happy to suggest places of interest. The room was large and clean. The first two days, the housekeeping staff were great, but for the rest of our stay, there was a change and we often had to chase them down the hall for basic things like sugar, coffee or wipes. This, however, was not a big deal, but it did take away from the hotel's excellent service. Having a restaurant on site was also good, but we found the breakfast prices a bit high. All in all, a great place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice Hotel but the staff is bad and unreliable

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: More reliable and knowledgeable staff members should be hired, replacing some current staff members.
Location: nice
Overall the hotel is pretty new, and the rooms a well designed, the HD TV is good; a good room except the air conditioning system is quite noisy. However,during my stay I had the worst staff experience---I do not recall experiencing such an unreliable and incompetent staff in any hotel I stayed at in the last 5 years. Here are some examples: a. I left a sport shirt in the breakfast room, and I detected that in the evening and the staff member that was present at 9p said that she will look for the shirt and give me a call but she never did. I am sure the sport shirt is still on the hotel property. b. I also told the same staff member that I needed a wake up phone call on Sept. 19, 6:15a; however, I never received a wake up phone call, and was therefore late for an important meeting. c. Sunday I had breakfast in the hotel; the waitress brought me some water and coffee but then it took 15 minutes until I could order the food. The waitress was also very upset and angry about something and mumbling to herself; overall it was not a pleasant breakfast experience, as I just was looking for a relaxed breakfast. Furthermore,other guest received meals that they did not order... d. When I arrived I asked the staff if there are any interesting music venues close by, but the staff did not know any. However, T-bone Tom a major music venue---with bands playing six days per week---is just a stone throw away from the hotel. How can the staff of the hotel not know?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best location close to everything

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Staff was excellent location was the best rooms were great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Castillo

Nice little getaway!!

Posted Sep 7, 2016
I love the convenience to the boardwalk. Great location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Good location, clean rooms, good breakfast, family friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Everything was great except for the breakfast

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Is very contemporary design hotel, I love the decorations and neat appearance.
Cons: If you can improve the food, I had better breakfast at another places with no charge.
Location: Everything was convenient.
Holiday Inn has always being a great hotel, I was only disappointed with the cold and no taste breakfast especially when they charging $11.99.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016
The hotel was nice! The water pressure however was awful!