Ratings based on 2,041 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SFO

Nice hotel at the heart of Houston

Posted May 3, 2016
5 star customer service , good location , Panama window.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice hotel and wonderful staff.

Posted May 3, 2016
It's amazing the staff are very supportive and on top of that the hotel itself has nice facilities. I enjoyed it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC Area

Hipster hotel-recently updated?

Posted Apr 30, 2016
My stay was ok. The hotel is located in what appears to be a general hotel district. The bottom floors of the facilities were very nice- definitely had a hipster vibe. The rooms themselves had a funky vibe, but my room had popcorn ceilings and the card reader didn't work well. The bar was ok- if you sit at the bar I believe they give you complimentary snacks. The gym was excellent- well maintained and free fruit and water available. I had a terrible experience with the shuttle where I had to wait a half hour and an hour and a half for the shuttle to pick me up from 2 miles away. To top it off, they charge a 12 dollar service/resort fee each day- I didn't necessarily see the value. Would I recommend- it really would depend on the purpose of your stay, but generally there are plenty of other hotels in the area that maybe wouldn't have the modern look but would provide better service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved my stay there

Posted Apr 26, 2016
I loved my stay and will defenatly be back. The people that work here are super nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Hotel in galleria

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Very nice hotel. I would highly recommended and I would definitely stay there again..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent for the money

Posted Apr 18, 2016
The hotel is in good shape. The pool is somewhat small. Within walking distance of the galleria, but not easy crossing the highway. This is a good cost effective option from those connected to the galleria. Watch out for 'resort' fees though. Extra $12 for fitness area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Maintenance Racket on Sunday Monring?

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Usually, it's a laid back nice place.
Cons: Think twice before scheduling noisy maintenance at the sacrifice of customer comfort or at least offer some solutions.
Location: Close to Galleria and nice restraunts on Westhiemer
Maintenance workers were beating on roof around 0800 on Sunday morning. Our room was on the floor just underneath. Staff told us the A/C unit that supplied the hotel staff offices was out and that was why the maintenance was going on. I question who was working on a Sunday morning in the admin staff offices that justified all the commotion.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

Outdated for the price

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: The interior and room quality
Location: My husband's family lives there so I don't really know about surrounding area.
Staff was great and friendly. We had to leave at 3am and the desk said they couldn't check me out because they were doing night audit. I see charges on my credit card and have yet to receive a copy of the bill, which I wrote down my email for. I agree with the other reviewer the perfume piped in the lobby got overwhelming. Rooms are very dated and the windows do not buffer the sound from Highway 610 at all. And there is traffic all night. I had one Coke from the fridge and it was flat. The shower drain did not work and I had to stand in water that pooled like a bath tub. Plus the shower fixtures were coming out of the wall and the shower faucet dripped. If the hotel was as great as the staff it would be four stars, but it's not. The bartenders, front desk and room service people were really great! Too bad the hotel wasn't for the price you pay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2016 by Mark Noyes, General Manager, Hotel Management
Gretchen, thank you for the fantastic comments about our Hotel Derek team - they're the best! Our hotel does have a few years under its belt, but the room conditions that you experienced during your recent stay are certainly not on par with what we have readily available for our amazing guests. We're terrible embarrassed about the experience that you and your family had and we'd really like the opportunity for a do-over if you'd allow us to woo you and your husband back during your next visit to HTown! If you're in the mood for some seriously swanky interiors, check out our new Terrace Concept Suites - they just been released and all six of individually designed by Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams. Look forward to connecting soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San antonio

Great location

Posted Apr 8, 2016
The hotel was in a great location for shopping and dining. The staff could not have been nicer and more helpful. The price was right. We had drinks in the bar and that was awesome. We had a great breakfast the next morning. Checkout was easy. I would definitely recommend the Hotel Derek.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2016 by -Mark Noyes, General Manager, Hotel Management
You know what they say; location, location, location! Hotel Derek is prime locale for shopping and dining and we’re so pleased that you took full advantage. Look forward to welcoming you back to HTown soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Consistent quality

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: The beds and linens are excellent.
Cons: Rooms could be updated a little but are generally great.
Location: Handy to shopping at the Galleria with plenty of good places to eat nearby
The Derek is my go to hotel in Houston whether I am on business or there for pleasure. It has consistent service, comfortable rooms, good food and quality facilities for working out or relaxing by the pool. The location is very central and with handy access of 15-30 minutes travel to either the west, downtown or the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2016 by -Mark Noyes, General Manager, Hotel Management
On your next visit to H-Town, ask about our newly remodeled Terrace suites, it might be the missing variable to the equation. Thank you and we can’t wait for you to return!