Ratings based on 2,176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Our experience at Hotel Derek Houston was a great! We enjoyed our 2 nights there and the location was convenient. The service and room provided everything we needed to be relaxed and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, modern hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Hotel is very nice and has lots of amenities: gym, restaurant, bar, pool. Looks very modern and upscale and reminiscent of a hotel on the Vegas Strip. Check in was very welcoming. Very nice room with modern furnishings. Food at the restaurant was very good, but pricey, and service was very slow even though we were the only ones dining at the time. More attention was being paid towards the bar patrons than my party of four and our dinner was $100. Back at the room, tried to call front desk to inquire about pool towels before heading down and received no answer. When we went down, we saw four staff members engaged in lively personal conversation. Did not seem very professional for the image they were trying to give off. Nevertheless, it was a very nice stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Room and hotel was nice, the daily security deposit charges are a bit high.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice break

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Clean comfortable easy access to local attractions
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

not a good time

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Information I got from one staff was not the same as from others. Took 35 minutes to get coffee packets to my room, felt like bed sheets were dirty. Was given a 12 dollar card to use in restaurant as I was checking out, but couldn't use it for breakfast, only on menu but menu wasn't available til lunch. So instead of 12 they gave me coffee. I usually stay at Omni or Double Tree and I will continue to do so.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted Jul 7, 2016
It was great. Everyone was nice professional and kind
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2016 by Mark Noyes, General Manager, Hotel Management
That is awesome of you to say – thank you for the kind comments. Look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Derek again very soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Fun spot in the city

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Great getaway. Close to everything. Cozy, funky cool decor. We go often. Fast friendly check in and out. Great valet. Bar food is delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by Mark Noyes, General Manager, Hotel Management
We love your review of Hotel Derek! Thank you for the comments on our cool, funky décor and friendly team – we consider ourselves pretty lucky! Look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Derek very soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tx

Worst experience

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Arrived and room was nice and clean. Next morning received a bill for the parking fees 1 valet and 2 self park, I was by myself. The front desk took care of it. Next day went out came back to room and all my stuff was missing. Hotel let my someone into my room and they took all my stuff. Where the security? I will never stay here again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Time

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Enjoyed my overnight stay. Room was nice, but a little small other than that no complaints..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Mark Noyes, General Manager of Hotel Derek, Hotel Management
And we enjoyed having you as our guest at Hotel Derek! Next time, try out our new signature suites – these offer a little more room to stretch your legs and include a private balcony and living area with very cool design. We can’t wait to roll out the red carpet for your next stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great amenities bad front desk service

Posted Jun 24, 2016
This is a beautiful hotel with amazing amenities However, the front desk made a mess of our hotel stay. It took an hour to check in. We were double charged for a room and not notified. It wasn't until the bank put a hold on our credit card that we realized there had been a mix up. The actual room is lovely, and the bed is super comfortable but taking a shower was challenging because the tub was slightly backed up. I felt I was shower in a tiny puddle. Overall I would recommend this hotel just make sure you have time to dot all your i's and cross all your t's.