Ratings based on 1,258 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wyoming

Amazing hotel with character

Posted Feb 22, 2017
We had a one night layover in Houston and decided to stay downtown. We LOVED the ambience of the ICON. The room was gorgeous. Definitely upgrade to the junior suite!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ICON stands out in Downtown Houston

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Service comfort and atmosphere all 4 star.
Cons: Premium Voss water is available in the room along with one free bottled water. I would place two free bottles for making coffee etcetera.
Location: Hotel is located on Main across the street from many nightlife options. On the light rail line so you can reach more dining and "must see" places easy
The ICON Hotel in Downtown Houston is a great experience for any visitor business or leisure. Arrive to an attentive valet then be greeted by an helpful bellman/doorman. Walk into the spacious lobby and stop to enjoy the superbly appointed décor that compliments the historic architecture and well organized social areas. The queen suite is small but so well laid out it feels much larger. Again it will take you a few moments to take in and appreciate the style and multiple window views before enjoying the rooms comfort. If you have tried and been disappointed with the many "boutique" hotels in downtown Houston don't mistake the ICON for being one of them. ICON is a true 4 Star + Hotel and I will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PR

Nice hotel excellent location

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Everything was perfect. Corteous staff. Good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
I booked this room for my future daughter-in-law's bachelorette party. They had a wonderful time, the room was gorgeous and the staff was very accommodating. I will be booking a room soon for a "stay-cation" soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel. Convenient to Univ of Houston.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: The room and the large bathroom. The lobby was very nice.
Cons: It was all great!
Location: Downtown restaurants and shops nearby. Easy drive to the University of Houston.
Hotel was very clean, comfortable and quiet. Staff was great. Breakfast buffet was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice mix of old and new

Posted Jan 29, 2017
This hotel is located near to downtown in an old bank building. The large safe and safe deposit room are still behind the check in desk. The lobby is old world spacious with very high ceilings. The rooms are very comfortable and roomy. The bathroom is very large with a huge tub and the complimentary robes are a nice touch. It also has an old built in nook in the wall with the hair dryer. Breakfast buffet was delicious and included a made to order omelet if you wanted Definitely a place,I would both back to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Heart of downtown

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, decor
Location: Gorgeous tapas bar with live music immediately opposite the hotel, various bars & clubs nearby
This is a lovely hotel right in the middle of all the historic part of Downtown and close to Main Street clubs & bars. The staff were very kind and helpful. The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed for one night, but would have been a bit small for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Great Hotel, right in the middle of Houston's night life
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Hotel Intertwined with History

Posted Jan 9, 2017
This is by far one of the coolest hotels I've ever stayed in - it used to be a bank, and was later converted into a hotel! The rooms are spacious and clean, and the hotel staff is excellent. Close to a lot of things, including a cute restaurant (The Honeymoon) across the street. Great stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Champagne luxury on a beer budget

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Gorgeous rooms (very clean, elegant decor), friendly service, exceptional value for money, free wifi, convenient valet.
We had one night in Houston before a flight home, and ICON looked so nice I couldn't pass it up. The experience FAR exceeded our expectations: huge room with a huge king bed, luxurious and not gauche finishings and decorations (miles above the usual hotel decor, including Fairmont etc.), friendly service, great-looking bar and restaurant in the lobby (although we didn’t use these), hot chocolate and spiced pecans when we arrived on a very cold winter night. It’s in a beautifully restored heritage building, and it’s part of the Marriott chain, which I hadn't realised, so great if you’re looking to accrue points. The room was just so comfortable and indulgent, especially at the end of a long vacation, and yet when we checked out the total due was remarkably reasonable considering the level of luxury and overall experience. Also, it’s extremely central if you want or need to be in the heart of downtown. Couldn't recommend this hotel enough!