Ratings based on 340 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Heart of downtown

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, decor
Location: Gorgeous tapas bar with live music immediately opposite the hotel, various bars & clubs nearby
This is a lovely hotel right in the middle of all the historic part of Downtown and close to Main Street clubs & bars. The staff were very kind and helpful. The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed for one night, but would have been a bit small for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Great Hotel, right in the middle of Houston's night life
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Hotel Intertwined with History

Posted Jan 9, 2017
This is by far one of the coolest hotels I've ever stayed in - it used to be a bank, and was later converted into a hotel! The rooms are spacious and clean, and the hotel staff is excellent. Close to a lot of things, including a cute restaurant (The Honeymoon) across the street. Great stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Champagne luxury on a beer budget

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Gorgeous rooms (very clean, elegant decor), friendly service, exceptional value for money, free wifi, convenient valet.
We had one night in Houston before a flight home, and ICON looked so nice I couldn't pass it up. The experience FAR exceeded our expectations: huge room with a huge king bed, luxurious and not gauche finishings and decorations (miles above the usual hotel decor, including Fairmont etc.), friendly service, great-looking bar and restaurant in the lobby (although we didn’t use these), hot chocolate and spiced pecans when we arrived on a very cold winter night. It’s in a beautifully restored heritage building, and it’s part of the Marriott chain, which I hadn't realised, so great if you’re looking to accrue points. The room was just so comfortable and indulgent, especially at the end of a long vacation, and yet when we checked out the total due was remarkably reasonable considering the level of luxury and overall experience. Also, it’s extremely central if you want or need to be in the heart of downtown. Couldn't recommend this hotel enough!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Excellent hotel with friendly and professional staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Close to many restaurants

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Awesome, fast check in, great room service, and the staff was very helpful. If you are planning a romantic get away this is the perfect place to stay. The jacuzzi tub and spacious shower is very elegant and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great Hotel Downtown

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Clean, quiet, free parking, free shuttle anywhere downtown. Great staff.
Cons: Hotel is next to Houston Metro train taking you to Museum District, the hotel in sic blocks from the theater district with free shuttle to and from. T
Hotel is next to Houston Metro train taking you to Museum District, the hotel in sic blocks from the theater district with free shuttle to and from. There are many great restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place, convenient location

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Really nice rooms, close to a lot of bars and restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the freeway

Posted Dec 11, 2016
It's was a wonderful stay room was amazing but parking was to much and the staff never told me when I called that I need a extra 100 dollars on top of the money I paid for the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Elegant classy hotel in a great location in Houston, downtown.
Cons: The gym in the basement could use some overhaul. Even though each treadmill has its own TV, the TVs are not connected to the treadmills.
Location: Museum of Fine Arts Houston, Menil Collection, Bayou Bend Museum and Garden, Rienzi
Our stay at the ICON in Houston was wonderful. It is a historic hotel with modern comfort.