Ratings based on 1,269 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from College Station

Great mini vacation

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and the staff that I met was AWESOME!! Everyone was very nice and some even suggested things that I could do while I was in town. Great service!! The bathtub in the deluxe room was a very relaxing retreat after days of walking around Houston! My only complaint was that the bed was too hard. It felt a kind of like I was sleeping on the floor. But, I suppose that's a matter of preference. Some people may like hard beds. Otherwise, I had a great time staying at the hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice hotel in the heart of downtown Houston

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The theme all throughout the hotel and having to use a key card to access the hotel room floors.
Cons: Only thing I wished there was was guest parking for a cheaper price instead of having to park along the street or in another garage somewhere nearby.
Location: There were bars and restaurants within walking distance. Also great breakfast/brunch cafes too!
The experience was great! We checked in a little bit earlier than the stated 3 PM. The room layout, decor, and ambiance was amazing. The shower was spacious and also had an extra rainfall shower! Bathtub was separate and had jets on the side for a Jacuzzi-like hot tub. Perfect for our little getaway! The valet staff was great and friendly. You get a card with a ticket number and phone number for you to text when you want to get your car. We completely forgot about that and just went up to them for our car. Thankfully, they were nice and remembered us, so we didn't have to run up to our room to get the ticket.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Unprofessional front desk service

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Front desk service
Generally the hotel is okay. But I have to say the front desk staffs are very unprofessional! I booked my room with breakfast and paid through Expedia. When I checked in, I mentioned to the hotel staff I already paid for both the room and breakfast. But the next morning I found I was charged the room again on the hotel receipt, plus when I had breakfast I got the bills for it, because I did not have the breakfast vouchers, which the front desk staff did not even give to me when I checked in. I had to go back to the front desk asking them to correct and reissue the bill and give me the breakfast vouchers. Besides, Expedia gave me the VIP Amenities for Free buffet breakfast for 2 for this hotel booking. But the front desk refused to give the additional vouchers for the breakfast. It's really an unhappy experience. I'm very disappointed of the how the front desk treat their customer. I book the hotel constantly in the Houston area, never have the bad experience like this. I will void this hotel in the future. And I would like to remind the other customers who are about to book this hotel - be careful about what you're charged by the hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Our second time back did not dissapoint.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Our king suite was very roomy, clean, and unique with decor and shower head raining down from above in enormous shower area. Ideal proximity to bars and restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in downtown Houston nightlife

Posted Mar 7, 2017
The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Every question was met with a quick response and each request was followed up promptly. I truly enjoyed my stay and will stay again when in town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Interesting historic features

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Bathroom in room.
Cons: Front desk team need to be more welcoming.
Hotel icon seems to be in a good location, and the hotel lobby has some nice features. The hotel staff checking us in were a bit disappointing, but a subsequent member of the front desk team was more helpful in suggesting places to eat. Overall the hotel is stylish but a bit tired, and the carpet in the common areas could do with being kept cleaner. Room itself was nice, clean and bathroom was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wyoming

Amazing hotel with character

Posted Feb 22, 2017
We had a one night layover in Houston and decided to stay downtown. We LOVED the ambience of the ICON. The room was gorgeous. Definitely upgrade to the junior suite!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ICON stands out in Downtown Houston

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Service comfort and atmosphere all 4 star.
Cons: Premium Voss water is available in the room along with one free bottled water. I would place two free bottles for making coffee etcetera.
Location: Hotel is located on Main across the street from many nightlife options. On the light rail line so you can reach more dining and "must see" places easy
The ICON Hotel in Downtown Houston is a great experience for any visitor business or leisure. Arrive to an attentive valet then be greeted by an helpful bellman/doorman. Walk into the spacious lobby and stop to enjoy the superbly appointed décor that compliments the historic architecture and well organized social areas. The queen suite is small but so well laid out it feels much larger. Again it will take you a few moments to take in and appreciate the style and multiple window views before enjoying the rooms comfort. If you have tried and been disappointed with the many "boutique" hotels in downtown Houston don't mistake the ICON for being one of them. ICON is a true 4 Star + Hotel and I will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PR

Nice hotel excellent location

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Everything was perfect. Corteous staff. Good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
I booked this room for my future daughter-in-law's bachelorette party. They had a wonderful time, the room was gorgeous and the staff was very accommodating. I will be booking a room soon for a "stay-cation" soon!