Ratings based on 1,205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Elegant classy hotel in a great location in Houston, downtown.
Cons: The gym in the basement could use some overhaul. Even though each treadmill has its own TV, the TVs are not connected to the treadmills.
Location: Museum of Fine Arts Houston, Menil Collection, Bayou Bend Museum and Garden, Rienzi
Our stay at the ICON in Houston was wonderful. It is a historic hotel with modern comfort.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel of choice every time I come to Houston.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Food and bars feet of hotel's entrance.
This hotel is great! The staff and rooms are the absolute best. The rooms are amazingly quiet, you might hear some faint street noise via the windows...but I have never heard any of my neighbors (to the side, below], or above) The only reason they don't have 5 star rating is that their vallet rate is very expensive. There are a plenty of public garages in the area that you could save several dollars on per night, I'd recommend one of those.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Posted Oct 16, 2016
The room was not as clean as expected and for the money i paid i wasn't satisfied but the staff is really cool
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Mitchell, Hotel Management
Dear kristy, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback during your stay with us. I am disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations as it is always our priority to exceed them. We hope we can better serve you on your next visit to Houston.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Snazzy Downtown Hotel, a bit pricy

Posted Oct 3, 2016
The hotel was great. The room was amazing. I loved the oversized bathtub. No complaints about the staff. My only complaint is the crazy fee they charge for valet parking. $33 a day is a bit extreme. Especially given there is no other option to park on site.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin

Beautiful hotel in downtown Houston

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The design, the spacious room, the cleanliness, the bathrooms, the windows, the downtown view, the beds and sheets. The ceilings.
Cons: The staff in the front need to smile more, sometimes it seemed like we were a bother. The cleaning staff/concierge were great.
Location: Downtown Houston, there's baseball, museums, bars, trendy restaurants. Everything you need for a couple's romantic weekend getaway.
This hotel is beautiful. When I arrived I had made an error and mixed up the reservation dates. The staff was able to provide a room anyway even though it was my fault. I have never had an experience like that, I was very pleased, thank you staff. The amenities were great, the shampoo/shower gel/soaps were so nice I want to buy them for my home. The bathtub and the rain shower were beautiful, the whole bathroom was and the bed, well, let's just say it was hard to get up in the morning. It was the most comfortable bed and the most comfy sheets I have slept on in a hotel. Great view of downtown and extremely clean. Very great. The hotel is an antique, it was a bank in 1901. The elevators are amazing and so beautiful. I could go on and on, great place to stay and will do it again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place at a good location

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: location, friendly staff, and free shuttle service. Cons: Overnight parking fee $35
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by Mitchell R., Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope we can serve you again when your travels bring you back to Houston!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Elegantly restored historic hotel in great locatio

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Good: Beautiful hotel in historic Houston bank. Walking distance to ballpark & light rail. Quiet, spacious with comfortable beds & excellent shower. Not as good: Pricey valet ($33/nt), paint fumes from renovations prompted me to complain & front desk immediately offered to move me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Mitchell, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing feedback on your most recent stay with us, it is always our mission to deliver a memorable experience and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you again upon your next visit to Houston.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pay to park

Posted Sep 6, 2016
We had a nice time, but we had to pay $33 to have valet park your car....room was about $150 and $33 for parking!!!! There should have been an option to self park.....
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by Mitchell R., Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent stay with us, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unfriendly staffs, rude, don't like Asian people

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Unfriendly staffs,rude check in staffs, excepted pet for $100 fee but staffs are not friendly with pet at all, they will staring at you and your pet when you walk in like you should not be long there. They also not friendly with Asian people either.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Please accept out sincerest apologies for the experience you had during your most recent stay with us. Please be assured that we have addressed this issue appropriately within the organization and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Houston.