Ratings based on 1,360 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Museum district hotel

Posted May 25, 2017
Beautiful and well decorated, but the room was on the small side for the price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, cool lobby and great shuttle.

Posted May 15, 2017
Nice hotel close to Rice University. Room was nice but small. Pool service was great, but pool not heated. Bar device was exceptionally slow on Saturday night (not crowded). Food was very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

Things could be looked into

Posted May 10, 2017
A few things that could be looked into more. Like most hotels when you sit in the tub the black mold is still around the top of the toilet bowl. And what's with the half glass in the tub it makes it to where you can't turn off and on the water easy. Oh and when you want to turn water off and on when your sitting in the tub you got to stand up to adjust the water. The mattresses Need to be changed getting old.But Service was great in every area. Love the potatos with breakfast wish I knew what they put on them. The spa needs bigger robes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Funky hotel in museum district

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Fabulous novel decor and excellent location. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Better bathroom ventilation
Location: Loads of museums nearby
Fabulous arty decor with historical and current Hollywood figures 'portraits on tthe walls. A lovely bar and alfresco dining area that we enjoyed. We loved the courtesy vehicle with the huge horns on the front! Our room smelt a bit musty, which we suspect is because the shower ventilation is not a very strong fan venting the room. The hotel staff were great about offering to swap rooms, but after back-to-back long flights from the other side of the world, we really could not be bothered packing up and swapping rooms. They also gave us a drinks voucher, which we enjoyed using in their lovely bar. We all had different cocktails and loved them. Great recommendations for restaurants nearby and the courtesy shuttle was very handy to go out to dinner and to get to and from the museums.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

QUIET !

Posted May 6, 2017
Cons: Only criticism is their internal phone system. You don't easily get connected the first time to the person to whom you want to speak.
Location: Houston Museum of Fire Art ! Especially the second floor impressionists and little cafe below.
As ZIP clients, we received an upgrade when someone cancelled at the last minute. Now THAT builds loyalty ! It was a suite with a large bathroom -- so nice for husband and wife with the same scheduled events. Big separate closets for both. We ate 6 meals in their restaurant during our week's stay, and can't fault their hamburger (delightful tiny fries), Cobb Salad like you've not had before, and dainty cheese board to share. We spent an afternoon around their pool just sunbathing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Anniversary weekend

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Every time I stay there it feels like I'm staying for the first time. The Valet people are super nice. Checking in is never a hassle. Also at night you receive a knock at the door with complementary water, ice & surprise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Staying Agsin

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Just a great place, friendly staff, love the decor, great views, great bat, great location. Coffee on each floor. Will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

mannerism superb, Hollywood themed hotel, beautifu

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Everyone catered to us.
Cons: air vents in bathroom and free parking
Location: museum, park, zoo, restaurants.....
Excellent, one of the best hotels and I travel 3-4 times/year
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to the Medical Ctr, Rice U and museums

Posted Apr 7, 2017
I stay here almost every time I go to Houston (1 or 2x a year). It has a great location. It's kind of quirky design-wise but fun. Restaurant is good. This visit they upgraded me to a suite. Lovely. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durango, CO

I feel like a million dollars at the Zara!

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Our visit turned a medical visit at MD Anderson into a mini-vacation. Thank you!