Ratings based on 1,389 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Great location in museum district. Weather permitting, beautiful area for walking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

nice grand hotel, good location, museum district,

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Its is a old hotel but very nice, the staff was very frienldly and I was given a glass of wine when I checked in. Very nice room with a balcony
Cons: nothing in my opinion
Location: there are the museums, the park, the zoo and good restaurants
it was close by a meeting I had in the morning so i chose Zaza for the location. It was convenience and a real nice place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa City, IA

Highlight of the trip

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Location: Perfect location near museums, gardens and running trails.
I was in Houston for a conference located at the medical center. The conference recommended a hotel closer to the conference. I opted for ZaZa and am so glad I did. The stay was the highlight of the trip. We had one of the suites which was luxurious. The free Denali shuttles add a Texas style and was a great way to travel the extra distance to my conference location. Staff were incredible, from the waiters to front desk to cleaners. Turn down service is wonderful. The food is excellent and had a Texas flare. The location cannot be beat. We enjoyed free entry to the MFA on Thursday and spent time traversing the park. The amenities, including pool w/ bar and gym, were fabulous. We will be back to Houston for the sole purpose of staying here. This will become one of our regular spots.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Nice clean hotel. Pool area good. comfortable.. Not sure what else there is to write. For more info please call me and can discuss what I felt was good or what needs improvement
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Unique hotel in the Museum District

Posted May 31, 2017
Everything about the hotel provided a wonderful experience. The staff is pleasant, attentive and helpful. The rooms are well furnished and very comfortable. The decor is unique and whimsical. It was interesting to discover unusual artwork, furniture or accent pieces throughout the hotel. We had a most enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Museum district hotel

Posted May 25, 2017
Beautiful and well decorated, but the room was on the small side for the price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, cool lobby and great shuttle.

Posted May 15, 2017
Nice hotel close to Rice University. Room was nice but small. Pool service was great, but pool not heated. Bar device was exceptionally slow on Saturday night (not crowded). Food was very good.
5 out of 5
by Javier

Excellent hotel in a great location in Houston

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
My trip was amazing. Excellent service from the time I arrived until the time I checked out. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.Rooms were very comfortable and clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

Things could be looked into

Posted May 10, 2017
A few things that could be looked into more. Like most hotels when you sit in the tub the black mold is still around the top of the toilet bowl. And what's with the half glass in the tub it makes it to where you can't turn off and on the water easy. Oh and when you want to turn water off and on when your sitting in the tub you got to stand up to adjust the water. The mattresses Need to be changed getting old.But Service was great in every area. Love the potatos with breakfast wish I knew what they put on them. The spa needs bigger robes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Funky hotel in museum district

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Fabulous novel decor and excellent location. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Better bathroom ventilation
Location: Loads of museums nearby
Fabulous arty decor with historical and current Hollywood figures 'portraits on tthe walls. A lovely bar and alfresco dining area that we enjoyed. We loved the courtesy vehicle with the huge horns on the front! Our room smelt a bit musty, which we suspect is because the shower ventilation is not a very strong fan venting the room. The hotel staff were great about offering to swap rooms, but after back-to-back long flights from the other side of the world, we really could not be bothered packing up and swapping rooms. They also gave us a drinks voucher, which we enjoyed using in their lovely bar. We all had different cocktails and loved them. Great recommendations for restaurants nearby and the courtesy shuttle was very handy to go out to dinner and to get to and from the museums.