Ratings based on 535 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay City,TX

Right in the heart of medical center

Posted Feb 7, 2016
A perfect location if you're scheduled for early morning surgery. Also family is close to visit if an overnight stay at the hospital is required.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Took my brother to Cancer center

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Nice staff
Cons: Out dated and poor quality food
Location: location to Medical center is excellent but will not recommend for patients that travel far to rest. Too expensive and poor quality.
Marriott was expensive and could have offered more upgrades. Restaurant was poor quality and amenities were less than desirable. The Hotel requires lots of attention. Marriott is not going to keep its reputation in hotel and resort world with this type of Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We have shared your comments with our culinary team as we want to make sure we exceed your expectations while dining with us. I would like to take the opportunity to share with you that we are currently undergoing a $13 million dollar room’s renovation that is transforming our guest room. All of the rooms will be fully renovated by April 2016. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again and have you experience our new rooms product. Thank you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston,TX

Right in the heart of Houston's Medical Center

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Can't say enough good things about this place. Easy check-in, great staff. After we had our car parked by the valet service, my wife noticed she had left her phone in the car. The valet practically sprinted to our to retrieve her phone. A great place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: I liked that the self parking is in a garage that is relatively inexpensive and right next to the hotel.
Location: I really liked that it was very close to my destination, the NRG Stadium where the Houston Texans play football.
Although my stay was very short, in one day out the next. It was great to be able to stay in a nice hotel near where my final destination was. I felt safe in the area. The breakfast on the second floor of the hotel restaurant was fabulous. A very relaxed atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel. Great location on Metro line.

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: Easy access to arts district, parks, zoo and center city.
Cons: Hotel was undergoing renovation so some services and areas of hotel not available. Wish I'd known before checking in. Still would have stayed.
Location: Excellent location along metro line.
Convenient for business and pleasure. Easy access to arts district, parks, zoo and center city. Full service hotel with very friendly and courteous staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Careful of your cc charges

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Cons: They should give you meal vouchers at check in to ensure there's no confusion about your meal/charges.
Hotel was clean but needs some updating. Our rate included a FREE breakfast & even after speaking to the restaurant manager & telling our server, they still charged my credit card for 6 people :( When I called back to rectify I explain to the front desk rep, he transfers my call accounting where it's a voicemail that says they will get back to me in 24 hours. The rep didn't even apologize for the error. I am less than pleased.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: Location
It was very disappointing to find the room small, outdated with no sound proofing whatsoever. The people in the adjacent room stayed up all night talking and arguing and watching TV preventing me from getting much sleep. I was expecting a four star rated hotel. Alas, It turned out to be a two star hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2015 by Matt, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear that your hotel stay did not meet your expectations. The goal of our hotel is to provide a comfortable and enjoyable experience for all of our guests and we apologize that we fell short of your expectations. We realize you have a choice of hotel accommodations, and we appreciated your business. I want to share with you about our multi-million dollar renovation that we are currently undergoing. Our renovation will completely transform the hotel, including a complete reinvention to our Guest Rooms, Suites, Guest Corridor and Concierge Lounge. We are excited about this project, and progress is always a worthwhile journey. Rest assured we’re working hard to update our hotel, so you can reach new levels of innovation. We hope you will consider the Houston Marriott Medical Center for any future stays you have when your travels bring back to Houston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2015
During a very difficult time with my Dad's healthy we have spent 40+ nights at the hotel and the staff has been very considerate and compassionate to our needs. The location is great for my Mom to walk back and forth (about 4 blocks from Hermann Memorial Hospital). She enjoys getting a little exercise after long days at the hospital. The concierges meals are excellent and this has been such a nice experience to have a clean, comfortable room to go back to each night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palo alto

Perfect if visiting Rice or Houston area hospitals

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Pros: Free shuttle and ability to walk to great restaurants
Cons: More shampoo
Location: Walk to Rice, area hospitals and fantastic restaurants
Perfect, we were there on business with local hospital and it felt like a vacation. Location location, location
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

This is a place not to stay!

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Will never use Expedia or Marriott again. My husband is a cancer patient at MD Anderson and our 4lb. MaltiPoo was with us. They entered our room with the privacy sign out, and threw us out on the street at 11:30 at night because supposedly the TV was too loud and we had our dog. She has traveled with us for 10 yrs. She comforts my husband and makes him feel better. The manager was rude and cocky, also sent a security guard to fetch us out. We are almost 70 yrs. old and he threw us out on the street. At 11:30 at night, sent us to another hotel and said it would be $195.00 a night, and it was $350. He's a liar! Again, was treated rudely and will never be part of such inexcusable behavior.