Ratings based on 3,128 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Staff was helpful. Great views from rooftop. Beware, check your final bill! If you remove an item from the room mini-bar to make space for your own water/soda, you'll be charged for what you remove (sensors inside). Front desk was helpful and cancelled the charge.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Medford, MA

Great Hotel in Downtown Houston

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: We liked the location, size of our room, comfort, and the amenities.
Cons: Not applicable!
Location: The Magnolia Hotel is located right in Downtown Houston. Downtown Aquarium and Minute Maid Park are both a 7-8 minute walk away from the hotel.
My boyfriend and I had a fabulous stay at the Magnolia Hotel! The room was spacious, comfortable, and the staff were friendly and professional. The location of the hotel is excellent as it is close to many of the activities that Houston has to offer including baseball games at Minute Maid Park, Downtown Aquarium, and bars/restaurants. We look forward to staying here again in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Busy Weekend

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: The beautiful scenery of the hotel and feather pillows.
Cons: STAFF!!!
Location: There is so many things to do in downtown Houston. House of Blues, Wortham Theater, and Bayou Place just to name a few.
I love this hotel, however, my expectation this stay was very disappointing. The suite was missing chairs and I did not have adequate seating for my family when they came for dinner. Also the hotel staff was very rude, which for me was disappointing because over the years I have never been treated in such an unprofessional manner. Usually the rooms are immaculate but this time not so. I could go on and on about how this was not my ideal stay but I really hope this was just a miss for the hotel due to the fact they had several weddings going on at the time. Although I believe professionalism and courtesy are to be extended no matter what the situation is, the Magnolia hotel is a beautiful establishment. I hope they do better next time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Texas

Never got there.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Was not able to leave on time to get there. I have stayed there earlier this summer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from katy, tx

They gave us a free romance package

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Anniversary free romance package. Everyone except the first desk lady at checkin were supper helpful and nice. The front desk person initially gave us a very poor first impression of the hotel customer service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Nice refurbished hotel and location easily walkable to downtown offices you should verify if their rate includes Bkfst which is nice
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Great Downtown Hotel in Houston

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Good location and staff.
Cons: There are only 3 elevators to serve a 20 something story hotel. Had to plan on some wait time.
Location: Downtown, big city things to do. Only there on Saturday night and already had plans, so not really sure what else is down there in particular.
The Magnolia is one of the grand old hotel of Houston that has been updated to modern times. We were there for an overnighter to see the Rangers and Astros play. There seemed to have been multiple weddings in the area with at least one at the hotel. We were a tad early and had to wait for the room, but were not disappointed. Very clean and plenty of room even with my electric wheelchair. Nice toiletries and towels. With the weddings and stress on the valet, it looked like a madhouse. The staff was calm, courteous, and warm. The hotel is .4 miles from the ballpark and we got a shuttle there and walked back from both games.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. 2alking distance to minute maid park

Posted Aug 9, 2016
The hotel was very nice and comfortable. Interior was nice and clean. Hotel staff were helpful and very polite.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel stay

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Our room was not ready for an hour and half, but the manager offered us a better rate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Very pleasant stay. Staff are very helpful. Service is great.