Ratings based on 3,147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, great service

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Close to everything and right price, the room service is great, and the valets are really nice people.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Downtown, close to everything. Exceptional.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Exceptionally clean facility in safe environment, and close to eating establishments.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Overpriced - you're paying for the location.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Proximity to Minute Maid Park. We were able to walk to the ball games and back. Free beer before the game.
Cons: Everything listed above. Magnolia has a lot to improve on if they ever want my business again.
Location: Food, bars, theater, baseball, construction, ice cream, insomnia, frustration, early return.
When we got to our room, it was large and had a nice view of the church across the street, but the windows were filthy and there was a lot of noise. We paid for a king room, and the bed couldn't have been bigger than a queen. Half of the pillows smelled like body odor, and the blankets were scratchy. The bed was hard and lumpy, and the pillows were lumpy and soft. We were woken by construction throughout the night (2am!!) as well as an ice cream stand at 1am both nights. Yes, it was playing the creepy annoying music and parked right outside our window. On one side of the building was a building going up, on the other a detention center. Lovely. The breakfast was terrible; they never had enough food and when they ran out it took them ages to refill. They have a happy hour every day with one free drink as well as milk and cookies at night; that was nice. Parking was easy on the weekend. When checking out, I asked that they charge a different card and they obliged but I checked today and they reversed that decision. Now my partner's card has gone over their limit. Thanks, Magnolia! I don't understand why this hotel has such a high rating. I chose this hotel based on the overall rating and we cancelled our last night and drove back to Austin at 11pm instead. That's how disappointing this hotel was. Houston is a strange place. This hotel is in the 'Theater District,' one of the many disjoint and separated places in the sprawling city, and it feels like it was built for tourists.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Hot to do downtown Houston. Parking however was $35 per day
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown attractions.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Nice happy hour 5-7pm and milk and cookie bar from 8-10pm. Free breakfast. Great location for a game or a nice evening out. The hotel has gone down a bit since we last stayed many years ago (little things), but I would still recommend and come back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Staff was helpful. Great views from rooftop. Beware, check your final bill! If you remove an item from the room mini-bar to make space for your own water/soda, you'll be charged for what you remove (sensors inside). Front desk was helpful and cancelled the charge.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Medford, MA

Great Hotel in Downtown Houston

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: We liked the location, size of our room, comfort, and the amenities.
Cons: Not applicable!
Location: The Magnolia Hotel is located right in Downtown Houston. Downtown Aquarium and Minute Maid Park are both a 7-8 minute walk away from the hotel.
My boyfriend and I had a fabulous stay at the Magnolia Hotel! The room was spacious, comfortable, and the staff were friendly and professional. The location of the hotel is excellent as it is close to many of the activities that Houston has to offer including baseball games at Minute Maid Park, Downtown Aquarium, and bars/restaurants. We look forward to staying here again in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Busy Weekend

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: The beautiful scenery of the hotel and feather pillows.
Cons: STAFF!!!
Location: There is so many things to do in downtown Houston. House of Blues, Wortham Theater, and Bayou Place just to name a few.
I love this hotel, however, my expectation this stay was very disappointing. The suite was missing chairs and I did not have adequate seating for my family when they came for dinner. Also the hotel staff was very rude, which for me was disappointing because over the years I have never been treated in such an unprofessional manner. Usually the rooms are immaculate but this time not so. I could go on and on about how this was not my ideal stay but I really hope this was just a miss for the hotel due to the fact they had several weddings going on at the time. Although I believe professionalism and courtesy are to be extended no matter what the situation is, the Magnolia hotel is a beautiful establishment. I hope they do better next time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Texas

Never got there.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Was not able to leave on time to get there. I have stayed there earlier this summer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from katy, tx

They gave us a free romance package

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Anniversary free romance package. Everyone except the first desk lady at checkin were supper helpful and nice. The front desk person initially gave us a very poor first impression of the hotel customer service.