Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Z

Pleasant getaway

Posted Jan 10, 2017
A really nice change from typical hotel fare. If you want to be near downtown but still feel away from the rush, it's perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for visiting museums

Posted Jan 15, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Robin's Nest and loved the enthusiastic and colorful painting of the buildings and rooms. Delicious breakfasts and tea with muffins and fruit a great pick-me-up in the afternoon. We had a problem with hot water but the staff was most helpful in responding to it. Robin is a lovely hostess. Most especially we were delighted to find ourselves in a beautiful old part of Houston where we could walk to wonderful museums (and the Rothko Chapel) and enjoy a large variety of restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Locked out in the cold. Even colder inside

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Location. Charm. Hot breakfast--very good but small portions. Wifi worked. The New York Times The hosts were cheerful.
Cons: Able reach hosts after hours. A confirmation email with gate code. A light above the inside stairs, maybe motion activated.
Location: Great location for museum visits. Easy short drives to most of them; some could be walked.
When we arrived during check-in hours (3pm) no one was there, the house was dark and we didn't have the key code for the gate. I called the website number and left a message and someone called back in 35 minutes with the code. Once inside, the house was empty and freezing. The upstairs thermostat said 70 degrees, but it was in the 50s. The wind was coming through the cracks. We piled under all the blankets and our coats and pretended we were camping. The next morning, the downstairs was even colder--the heat had just been turned on and needed a few hours to cut the chill. We ate breakfast in our coats. Much of this could have been avoided with some foresight on their part. We are game and made it work. There is cheer but not solicitude, charm but not comfort. No apologies offered, just explanations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

And now for something completely different!

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Pros: I liked the location, the historic nature of the home, the decor and original art work, the staff, the front veranda porch, all the nature in the yard
Cons: Stepping in and out of the Martha Mae bathroom historic claw foot tub with wrap around curtain and inner plastic liner might be tricky for some.
Location: The Nest is in the museum district close to several museums, restaurants, galleries, and St. Thomas university. Easy to reach on the airport shuttle.
Staying at the Robins Nest is magical. The decor is intriguing , the rooms spotlessly clean and the breakfast is excellent. The light fixtures in each room are exquisite. When you visit you will see what I mean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tenerife, spain

nice and unique bed and breakfast

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: general atmosphere, decoration, and very friendly staff
Location: musean in walking distance, and some bars and restaurants.
i felt very good in this unic hotel, every thing was very good, as if i were at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Charmong historic house close to museum district

Posted Jul 6, 2015
The house while built in the 1800s was in great condition and decorated with whimsical charm. The host was available as needed and the cooked breakfast was very good. The only downside was that the wifi signal was not very strong but this was a minor point. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Columbia, Tx

It was a wonderful surprise!

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: The atmosphere, the setting and the beautiful history! The people and the staff were wonderful! I would love to hold an event here!
Cons: Personally, absolutely nothing! I love the historical area and the location is perfect!
Location: The museum district is so close and downtown is a short cab ride. It's in a great location!
My husband and I were attending a concert at the Toyota Center. I tried to find a hotel but couldn't. I came upon this jewel! I have not had the best experience with BNBs in the past but this was a wonderful surprise! It was the best experience and we met some wonderful people!!! I would not recommend for young children, however. Only for the reason that I personally enjoyed the quiet space and the decor is not really conducive to anyone under the age of 12, my opinion, unless your child is well behaved. However, loved fact that it is child and pet friendly. It could be a perfect place to stay while visiting Houston regardless if you are a business traveler or a couple needing time away. Cannot wait to visit again!! Thank you, Robin!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2015
It was very pleasant. The manager fixed the WiFi very quickly once I let her know it needed to be reset, everyone was very friendly, and it was a lovely place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio TX

Great small Bed and Breakfast

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: It is a small quaint Bed and Breakfast.
Location: It is in a neighborhood off of Montrose and Richmond.
The staff were vice. Check in was simple. I had to leave early so I did not have a chance for breafast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

A Delight to the Eyes!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: I loved the riot of colors and patterns throughout the building and the grounds. The eclectic, and sometimes funky, decor was downright charming!
Nestled in the middle of the Museum district, the Robin's Nest was a remarkable feast for the eyes both inside and out, as the grounds were as well maintained as the rooms. While the lack of 24/7 staff was somewhat disconcerting at first -- especially for after hours check-in -- it was quickly dispelled by their availability to answer any questions and direct you by phone. And while some folks may find this lack of staff on premises during the after hours disconcerting, I actually enjoyed having the whole house to myself. My room was clean and very comfortable. The only minor inconvenience was that for this particular room, the historically charming bathroom was across the hall. But the B&B owners took this into consideration and provided complementary bathrobes. I wish that I could comment on the quality of the breakfast, but with the purpose of my trip to Houston being to visit my daughter, I elected to spend as much quality time with her, which meant that we enjoyed breakfast together elsewhere. I would most definitely consider staying at the Robin's Nest again!