Ratings based on 1,142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016
The Hotel staff were amiable and they helped us with everything we needed on time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by RSH, Hotel Management
Greetings, We appreciate the feedback regarding your recent visit to Houston and we’re thrilled that our Royal Sonesta team made you feel so welcome. We look forward to you joining us again when you next visit Houston. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta Houston
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Den Haag

Heel goede ligging. Redelijk hotel.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: De locatie
Cons: Vriendelijkheid receptiepersoneel. Kastruimte, pas-spiegel, scheerspiegel De uitsraling van het hotel (of het "Royal" laten vallen in de naam)
Location: De locatie van het hotel is uitstekend. Het ligt dicht bij het luxe winkelcentrum de Galleria, vele winkels, restaurants en uitvalswegen
De aankomst bij de receptie na 10 uur vliegen was teleurstellend. Het receptiepersoneel was ongeinteresseerd en liet ons vrij lang wachten. Toen wij later vroegen om een magnetron op de kamer (personeel van de koffie shop had ons verteld dat dit mogelijk was), werden wij met een kluitje in het riet gestuurd. De uitstraling van het hotel, inclusief de kamer is redelijk, maar is zeker niet "Royal". De kamer heeft de meeste voorzieningen die mogen worden verwacht, met de volgende opmerkingen: de kastruimte is beperkt voor 2 personen, er is geen pas-spiegel, geen scheerspiegel, achter kastjes was het zeer stoffig. Het hotel heeft een aardige bar/lobby met vriendelijk personeel. Je kunt daar ook een goede maaltijd bestellen. Er is tevens een koffie shop die met Starbucks kan concurreren. De locatie van het hotel is uitstekend. Het ligt dicht bij het luxe winkelcentrum de Galleria, vele winkels en restaurants in de omgeving en uitvalswegen. Parkeren kost 22 dollar per nacht.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by RSH, Hotel Management
Greetings, It was a pleasure to welcome you to Houston and we thank you for sharing your review. Our Galleria location is envied by many and we’re thrilled that it served you well for your time in the city. We’re delighted that you enjoyed our newly designed guest rooms, Axis Lounge and PJ’s coffee, but regret to read that you felt other details were missed. We apologize for your experience not being perfect and appreciate you sharing your valued feedback which has been reviewed with our team. When your travels bring you back to Houston, we hope you’ll stay with us again so that we can continue to impress you a consistent experience. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta Houston
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

A stay full of surprises

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Shuttle service
Location: Some shops and places to eat but need to be prepared to walk if not using the shuttle
Swimming pool tiny for the size of the property. To a non American this hotel feels like you are in the middle of a series of highways..roads going everywhere but seemingly nowhere. Shuttle service more than accommodating taking us to WholeFoods and Walmart within 3 miles radius a REAL plus if you have no car. Awkward however, if you don't have an American phone and you need to call them to pick you up and then go through a long prerecorded message to get to the hotel then through to the guest relations. Due to location we ate in the bar on Saturday night as their restaurant was closed and was with great intrepidity having read trip advisor terrible reviews. We had two people with dietary GF and Dairy Free requirements in our party but contrary to what I had read, the chef was caring enough to come out and talk with us, with the end result far exceeding the expectations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by RSH, Hotel Management
Dear Kiwichook, Greetings from Houston. It was a pleasure to welcome you and yours on your recent travels to Houston and we thank you for investing the time to share your review. It delights us to read that you felt well attended to both in the hotel, and in our Axis Lounge, as it’s really our team members that set up apart. Your feedback regarding reaching our shuttle to arrange for a pickup is of great value and is something we will review in the weeks ahead. We thank you again sharing your comments and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta Houston
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio Texas

Super vale la pena

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Agradable, todos muy amables.
Location: Todo. Shopping, entretenimiento, restaurants
Excelente hotel familiar. Agradable, todos muy amables. Super vale la pena. Todo esta cerca. Shopping, entretenimiento, restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2016 by RSH, Hotel Management
Greetings San Antonio Family! We’re thrilled that you were able to come over to Houston to join us and we’re so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our vibrant location puts much at your fingertips including fine shopping, amazing culinary experiences and many of Houston’s main attractions. We appreciate your rave review and we look forward to hosting you again. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta Houston
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Katy Tx

Staycation

Posted Aug 16, 2016
I had the opportunity to relax at a very pleasant hotel. The gentleman at the bar and the young lady at the shop were very accommodating. I wasn't too impressed with the lady that checked me in. She didn't provide me with information about my stay, I had to ask for it. Other than that, all the other staff made me feel quite welcomed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by RSH, Hotel Management
Dear Jacque, We’re always thrilled to welcome a Houston local for a Staycation and we thank you for allowing us to host yours. We’re thrilled to learn that you were so impressed with the hospitality of our team and apologize if your arrival experience did not mirror the rest of your interactions. We thank you again for your feedback and invite you to come visit us again soon. Yours in Hospitality, Royal Sonesta Houston
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Great hotel! Really enjoyed this place! My overall experience here was everything I wanted in a hotel stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by RSH, Hotel Management
Greetings, It warms us to know that you so thoroughly enjoyed your Royal Sonesta Houston experience and we hope we have an opportunity to provide you with a similar experience on your next visit to the area. Yours in Hospitality, Royal Sonesta Houston
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Accra

Great Experience

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Clean, Friendly, central location with easy access to amenities.
Cons: Not very much.....may be place some park benches in the manicured lawn for guests.
Location: A nice walk to the Galleria Shopping Mall, walks round the manicured lawn, nice restaurants i.e. Eddy V's
From the day I arrived, there has been a genuine level of hospitality I have rarely seen at any hotel I have stayed at. This extended till I left and has left a memorable experience…….to be continued. The rooms were very appeasing and setup with attention to detail. Food was also memorable with an assortment from a simple selection. In all, a memorable experience which I would want to share with my family on my next trip to the Houston.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by RSH, Hotel Management
Dear Wenike, Cleanliness is one of our core values and we are thrilled that you felt comforted by the attention to detail of our housekeeping team. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed our central location and that the hospitality of our team carried your experience to a new level. It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Houston one day soon. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesa Houston
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Location and atmosphere
Cons: The parking lot was scary. I stayed over the weekend when it was relatively empty and I mentioned to the front desk that I was afraid to go to my car.
Location: River Oaks shops/movies.
The hotel was clean and up to date, and the staff was friendly and courteous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by RSH, Hotel Management
Dear Marguerite, It was a pleasure to welcome you to Houston and we thank you for sharing your review. We’re delighted that you enjoyed the style, energy and location of our hotel and we thank you for highlighting the attention to detail and hospitality of our Royal Sonesta team. We value your feedback regarding our parking and hope our team shared with you that we’d be happy to escort you to the parking garage, or perhaps they even invited you to take advantage of our Valet Parking as an option. Once more, it was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you again. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta Houston
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Nice, comfortable, central location from shopping

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Location and cleaniness.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Galleria is nearby, lots of eating choices and most important, a very safe area to run in if you're a runner like myself.
Staff was friendly and responsive. Remote location to activities and more shops and eats.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by RSH, Hotel Management
Dear Ray, Our central location is envied by many due our proximity to restaurants, Memorial Park and the Galleria shopping center. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed and we look forward to welcoming you back when your travels next bring you to Houston. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta Houston
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from F . Argentina - Buenos Aires

Muy bien

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Um ambiente agradable , buena atención , limpio, habitacion amplia con todas las amenidades Muy recomendable
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by RSH, Hotel Management
Dear Carolina, We’re thrilled you felt so at home with us and appreciate your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for any recommendations you might make to friends or family. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta Houston