Ratings based on 1,163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great booking

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: everything from room to dining
Cons: nothing as far as i'm concerned
Location: good location next to the galleria
royal sonesta hotel in houston, tx was a great choice even though it was only one night. we had a cruise out of galveston, tx the following day. it took us only an hour to get to the ship. harvey greenberg \los angeles, ca.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by RSH, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We wish you could have stayed with us longer but we’re thrilled that you enjoyed everything. We thank you for sharing your review and hope that you’ll be able to join us again one day soon. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta Houston
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ms

Great experience

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Everything was in place no problem, no complaints, the staff was polite. Enjoyed my stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by RSH, Hotel Management
Greetings, A great experience is what we aim to provide each of our guests and we are delighted to have done so with you. We appreciate your wonderful review and hope you’ll be able to join us again on your next visit to Houston. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta Houston
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Y

big and clean room

Posted Sep 16, 2016
I only stay for one night but every thing looks good nothing to make you warred only the proce is lettel high
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by RSH, Hotel Management
Dear Tareg, It was a pleasure to welcome you to Houston and we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you’ll make yourself at home with us again when you next visit the Galleria area. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta Houston
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Great staff
Great experience! SECOND TIME STAYING HERE, would definitely recommend the stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by RSH, Hotel Management
Dear Leo, It was a treat to welcome you back and we thank you for sharing your feedback. We hope you’ve found a new home-away-from-home for your future visits to Houston. Yours in Hospitality, Royal Sonesta Houston
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waldorf, MD

Great Hotel!

Posted Aug 30, 2016
The hotel was great! I mean it was pure luxury. The beds were comfortable. The room was clean. The star was friendly. The only negative thing I experienced was that I had to request a microwave for my room, and that I was inaccurately charged for parking during my stay at the hotel. I didn't like that all guest had to pay for parking, $22 a day, plus tax and gratuity. Fortunately for me, I shared a car with another family, so I didn't have to pay for parking, but they did. Management just slapped parking on my bill with the assumption that I had a vehicle. Thankfully, after calling to discuss, management was very understanding, and removed the charges.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by RSH, Hotel Management
Dear Chelle, Greetings from Houston. It was a delight to have you as our guest and we thank you for sharing your review. We’re thrilled you were so impressed with the design and comfort features of our hotel and we’re pleased to read that our Royal Sonesta team made you feel so welcome. We apologize again for the misunderstanding on your parking and we’re glad to know that this was quickly resolved. Once more, it was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to having you join us again soon. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta Houston
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016
The Hotel staff were amiable and they helped us with everything we needed on time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by RSH, Hotel Management
Greetings, We appreciate the feedback regarding your recent visit to Houston and we’re thrilled that our Royal Sonesta team made you feel so welcome. We look forward to you joining us again when you next visit Houston. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta Houston
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Den Haag

Heel goede ligging. Redelijk hotel.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: De locatie
Cons: Vriendelijkheid receptiepersoneel. Kastruimte, pas-spiegel, scheerspiegel De uitsraling van het hotel (of het "Royal" laten vallen in de naam)
Location: De locatie van het hotel is uitstekend. Het ligt dicht bij het luxe winkelcentrum de Galleria, vele winkels, restaurants en uitvalswegen
De aankomst bij de receptie na 10 uur vliegen was teleurstellend. Het receptiepersoneel was ongeinteresseerd en liet ons vrij lang wachten. Toen wij later vroegen om een magnetron op de kamer (personeel van de koffie shop had ons verteld dat dit mogelijk was), werden wij met een kluitje in het riet gestuurd. De uitstraling van het hotel, inclusief de kamer is redelijk, maar is zeker niet "Royal". De kamer heeft de meeste voorzieningen die mogen worden verwacht, met de volgende opmerkingen: de kastruimte is beperkt voor 2 personen, er is geen pas-spiegel, geen scheerspiegel, achter kastjes was het zeer stoffig. Het hotel heeft een aardige bar/lobby met vriendelijk personeel. Je kunt daar ook een goede maaltijd bestellen. Er is tevens een koffie shop die met Starbucks kan concurreren. De locatie van het hotel is uitstekend. Het ligt dicht bij het luxe winkelcentrum de Galleria, vele winkels en restaurants in de omgeving en uitvalswegen. Parkeren kost 22 dollar per nacht.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by RSH, Hotel Management
Greetings, It was a pleasure to welcome you to Houston and we thank you for sharing your review. Our Galleria location is envied by many and we’re thrilled that it served you well for your time in the city. We’re delighted that you enjoyed our newly designed guest rooms, Axis Lounge and PJ’s coffee, but regret to read that you felt other details were missed. We apologize for your experience not being perfect and appreciate you sharing your valued feedback which has been reviewed with our team. When your travels bring you back to Houston, we hope you’ll stay with us again so that we can continue to impress you a consistent experience. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta Houston
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

A stay full of surprises

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Shuttle service
Location: Some shops and places to eat but need to be prepared to walk if not using the shuttle
Swimming pool tiny for the size of the property. To a non American this hotel feels like you are in the middle of a series of highways..roads going everywhere but seemingly nowhere. Shuttle service more than accommodating taking us to WholeFoods and Walmart within 3 miles radius a REAL plus if you have no car. Awkward however, if you don't have an American phone and you need to call them to pick you up and then go through a long prerecorded message to get to the hotel then through to the guest relations. Due to location we ate in the bar on Saturday night as their restaurant was closed and was with great intrepidity having read trip advisor terrible reviews. We had two people with dietary GF and Dairy Free requirements in our party but contrary to what I had read, the chef was caring enough to come out and talk with us, with the end result far exceeding the expectations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by RSH, Hotel Management
Dear Kiwichook, Greetings from Houston. It was a pleasure to welcome you and yours on your recent travels to Houston and we thank you for investing the time to share your review. It delights us to read that you felt well attended to both in the hotel, and in our Axis Lounge, as it’s really our team members that set up apart. Your feedback regarding reaching our shuttle to arrange for a pickup is of great value and is something we will review in the weeks ahead. We thank you again sharing your comments and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta Houston
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio Texas

Super vale la pena

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Agradable, todos muy amables.
Location: Todo. Shopping, entretenimiento, restaurants
Excelente hotel familiar. Agradable, todos muy amables. Super vale la pena. Todo esta cerca. Shopping, entretenimiento, restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2016 by RSH, Hotel Management
Greetings San Antonio Family! We’re thrilled that you were able to come over to Houston to join us and we’re so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our vibrant location puts much at your fingertips including fine shopping, amazing culinary experiences and many of Houston’s main attractions. We appreciate your rave review and we look forward to hosting you again. Warm Regards, Royal Sonesta Houston
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Katy Tx

Staycation

Posted Aug 16, 2016
I had the opportunity to relax at a very pleasant hotel. The gentleman at the bar and the young lady at the shop were very accommodating. I wasn't too impressed with the lady that checked me in. She didn't provide me with information about my stay, I had to ask for it. Other than that, all the other staff made me feel quite welcomed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by RSH, Hotel Management
Dear Jacque, We’re always thrilled to welcome a Houston local for a Staycation and we thank you for allowing us to host yours. We’re thrilled to learn that you were so impressed with the hospitality of our team and apologize if your arrival experience did not mirror the rest of your interactions. We thank you again for your feedback and invite you to come visit us again soon. Yours in Hospitality, Royal Sonesta Houston