Ratings based on 839 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the Galleria

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: The rooms were very clean; the shower was first class.
Cons: The breakfast offering was rather sparse.
Rooms were nice; rest of the hotel showed its age.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Excellent stay, clean, quiet, and close to everything!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Needs some work, but still a nice place to stay

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Staff was very helpful. The one bedroom suite was a good size.
Cons: The fitness room is pathetic. The three cardio machines were nice but the room is so small there was not enough room to stretch or to do anything else
Location: Location is great since it was less than a 5 minute walk to the Galleria mall, which has a great food court and many restaurant options.
We stayed here for 10 days for an unplanned trip to Houston. The staff was very helpful, and the room was clean and very comfortable. The hotel itself needs some work, but several of the rooms were in the obvious process of getting a facelift. Our room was already remodeled so it was very nice. We felt like the hotel was a good value. The areas we felt were lacking was the fitness area and sound issues within the room. The sound issues were caused by a big gap between the bottom of the front door and the floor. We put towels down behind the door which helped. The a/c unit is also loud when it kicks in - if you are a light sleeper, you will need some white noise to make sure the noise does not wake you up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albania

Nice and comfortable

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Bad neighbors (noisy next door, family with children, banging, as if fighting), nothing was done. Otherwise would have been okay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston tx

Very outdated hotel.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
The Suites were tiny. The gym was also very small. You feel as though you were confined to one corner to workout. The pool was the size of my backyard pool. There were trees and vines to make it feel more private, so I have to give them credit for that. The "hot" breakfast was not what I envisioned. There were 3 hot selections (eggs, meat, starch). Moving onto review of the staff. If you check in around peak time -- good luck! There is only one person there. If you come in later in the evening around 11ish, you will have a hard time finding anyone. There are no bells to ring for service, so you just pace back and forth in the foyer until someone shows up. There was one particular male that worked at night who was blatantly racist and threatening. This employee was having a conversation with another male in the dining hall when my dad showed up at the front desk. My dad's room key wasn't working and he needed some assistance. He was nervously tapping the business card on the counter as he waited for someone to show up. The employee was annoyed that he did that and told my dad to "go back to your country" and threatened to call the police (Yes - for tapping/fidgeting with the card). The next day, the managers apologized and told my parents to submit a complaint to corporate. (Um thanks Sonesta ES, for not dealing with the matter at the local level??). Lastly, housekeeping was very nice, but they only spoke Spanish, so that was another hurdle to overcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Complete Retreat Great Amenities, Staff and Design

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Layout of room, comfort of mattress, good closet space, hangers, kitchen in room, staff warm and helpful.
Cons: Balance of hot to cold water in shower skewed towards hot - hard to cool down and still run the shower. 1 light didn't switch on. Minor maintenance.
Location: Galleria area of Houston fairly close to all Houston locations and attractions. City has both Uber and Lift. Hotel also had free parking.
Starting with the layout of the room which included a kitchen in a studio apartment layout with a full vanity sink and lots of storage area including closet with doors and lots of hangers, lots of drawers. Bathroom was not luxury, but it was excellent in plumbing choices. Bed and pillows very supportive and comfortable. Love-seat couch in media area nicely design and comfortable. Desk chair supportive and comfortable. Wifi easy to use. Free breakfast of good quality. Extra coffee during the day inexpensive. Self-serve coin laundry for residents there for longer stay. Laundry basket in closet. Helpful and warm staff. One light didn't turn on, and the shower curtain only had one holding magnet. Nearly perfect, though; including neutral/no scent sheets, towels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by adavis, Hotel Management
thank you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Good location, but needs renovations.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Overall I had a good stay. I loved that the Galleria was on the same block. I walked there. The parking was free , and the free breakfast was okay. The room was clean. They even washed the dishes in my sink. The halls and ceiling had marks and broken pieces.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by adavis, Hotel Management
Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

renovations...

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: the people and room layout
Cons: breakfast was less healthy than i usually eat
Location: location was great.
it was great and the people were nice. the only problem was the noise from the banging etc. and smell from the paint
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa,OK

Very nice and comfortable!

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Nice room very clean and newly remodeled. Excellent complimentary breakfast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Metairie, LA

Great location & nice hotel, price very reasonable

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: All the amenities included in price of room
Cons: nothing
Location: Locations great and a lot to do within walking distance.
Very nice experience and staff great ! The free complimentary breakfast had a full menu of hot and cold items. This is great when traveling with children who don't want to wait in a restaurant for their meal.