Ratings based on 1,034 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Not a 3- or 4-star property in early 2016

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: The location is very nice, and near several Houston and Galveston attractions. The beds were comfortable.
Cons: This question allows only 150 characters, which isn't enough to list the problems we had with A/C, broken furniture and broken ice machines.
This hotel is nicely located well away from traffic noise and from commercial areas, and it would be a terrific place to stay if it wasn't currently under renovation (our stay was at the end of January, 2016). It's a resort, not a highway stop, so the management should know that construction noise such as jackhammers, drilling and pounding on the cement floors beginning at 7:30 AM would likely disturb guests. The hotel is in serious need of updating, so the construction is understandable, but the hotel management seems to be trying to cover their costs at the guests' expense. At the least, the hotel should offer some sort of a "renovation discount" and they should certainly make sure potential guests know about the on-going construction when they are making reservations. This will no doubt be a class hotel by next year, but it's no better than an old Motel 6 right now.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older Hotel Under Construction

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Has potential for a nice view and nice decor, when fixed up.
Cons:
The first room they gave me had an AC so noisy, I had to get another room. Plus the view was of a large roof. The 2nd room was a better view, but the higher up you went, it was closer to the construction. At close to midnight, another guest used their key to open my room (the front desk double booked the room). The smell of paint was strong on the 6th floor although the construction was above us. They never did the wake up call for the first morning. On the 2nd night, I had a lovely "wake up call" at 7:30am of drills and buzzsaws probably in the room right above me. I actually had planned to sleep in that day. Not a good experience at this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2016
The hotel is making changez but as of now it is old and rooms are creepy looking
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Horrible experience-never again

Posted Nov 30, 2015
The staff was rude and after asked to return to the room to change the linens and retrieve towels, no one EVER showed up. Also, when asked to bring extra towels, only two towels were brought. Ridiculous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Nice hotel close to relatives

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Price and location
Nice hotel and great price, stay just one night to visit relatives
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Red Deer, Alberta

Nice Quiet Hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: Quiet spot off the beaten trail
Cons: The room was not set up very good for the business traveler. Not place to plug in laptop or USB charger. Wi Fi access was frustrating.
The hotel was nice. Some things are getting dated but it was clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Ants in my room!

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: The fitness center, except that it was located offsite - it had wonderful equipment.
Cons: Cleanliness, attention to food being served..
Location: Kemah boardwalk was a 5 min drive away. Space Center Houston was about 15 mins away. Lots to do!
We had ants in our room, the pool area was in disrepair, and the hotel looked a little rundown inside. I booked last minute for $100 for the night. I wasn't surprised that the breakfast buffet was not included, because it was such a cheap price for the hotel. What I was surprised about was that the breakfast was $13/each person and they were serving RUNNY NASTY SMELLY scrambled eggs, stale biscuits and pastries, and runny grits. Honestly - we paid $13 for two little boxes of cereal and some bacon. Not much else was edible. I asked the waitress about the pancakes or waffles (there was syrup on the breakfast bar, and I thought at least that might be freshly made - ala la quinta inn). I was told - "I'm sorry, that's for brunch, which isn't starting until 11AM." I remember thinking, possibly this is why the eggs are undercooked? so that they don't get overcooked in the chafing dish before brunch? Lesson learned. Don't pay for breakfast. Wait for brunch. The pool was very dirty and there were beer cans all around the pool grounds when we took a stroll out there. We weren't planning on swimming, as it was too cold. But we also weren't planning on the hotel grounds looking like something out of a horror film. All in all - we probably won't go back to this hotel until it is "in season". Maybe they take better care of the facilities during the summer?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated and Poor Quality

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Decor and facilities very dated. Bedding thread bear. Entire hotel smelt damp. AC set far to cold in common areas.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location, disgusting hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: the view
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: Right down the road was a fantastic place. It was just a big dirt lot and there was about a half dozen food trucks there. Great food and a fun time.
This is a pricy hotel. I spent a fortune to stay here because it was right on the water and had a great rating. I feel tricked! This place had rust in all the drains, a tub faucet that leaked continually and water spots on the ceiling. The room was tiny and musty and the freaking beds were covered in offing plastic. I've stayed in roadside motels that were cleaner; to be honest there is no a lot of difference in the rooms. And I was upgraded to a balcony ocean view room too...so, all this wasn't for a bargain rate room but one of their 'nice' ones. I will never stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north Dakota

Nice area and good value.

Posted Nov 11, 2015
We stayed for one night 11/5/15. Shower was hard to turn on. Then it leaks by when close. Soap was cheap to bathe with. So in all just the bathroom was the downside.