Ratings based on 1,055 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not very good

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pics did not match actual pool area Late check in no services available not even a bottle of water
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Great experience overall!

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Convenient location, clean facility, nice rooms, and a friendly staff!
Cons: Keep rooms at a moderate temperature for guest arrival.
Location: Convenient location to the airport, the civic center, food and fuel.
Very convenient location. The place was clean, the room was nice, and the staff was very friendly. My only knock was the a/c was off and the room was hot. Normally not a big deal, except I arrived at 11:30pm (thanks to the airline's computer crash), its August in Houston, and it was morning before the room cooled to a comfortable temperature. That said, I would not hesitate to stay here again. The good far outweighed the one issue!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

24hr airport shuttle my A**!!!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
After my flight being delayed for 2 hours, all I wanted to do was get to my hotel and sleep. I waited for over an hour while seeing shuttles from all the other hotels around. I looked around the airport for a courtesy phone but could not find one. Nor could I find a help desk. I finally had to turn my phone on and pay roaming charges to call the hotel, only to be yelled at by the man at reception, because I should have known that I was supposed to call when I got to the airport to request the shuttle. I was furious and told him that it didn't say that anywhere on the website, nor did they email me to confirm whether I needed an airport pick-up or not. After the phone call I then waited another 30 minutes. After which I gave up and took a cab to the hotel. When I got there the man at reception said that I should have called, and the shuttle driver waited and waited for me but there was no one there. He did not apologize nor did he try to make my stay more comfortable. I will never go there again, and quite frankly I will not stay at another Super 8 again!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for the rate.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Although the hotel was nearly full, it was very quiet. Location is great for the airport and highways.
Cons: The breakfast was lacking for sure, but there is a Waffle House in walking distance.
Location: Airport
Decent hotel, no thrills but for the rate it was fine. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. The pool was closed for the season even though it was summer, but it was very tiny the pictures online were stretched or something. Over all it was a fine place to sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Hidden Fees

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Location is ideal, shuttle to and from hotel is also a plus, if you make your own arrangements.
Cons: communication
Location: Shuttle, several gas station. LOTS of places to eat across the highway. It's very easy to find and easy access to malls, highway, eateries, etc.
Before booking my room at this location through Expedia. I checked the price, each time, for 1, 2, 3, 4 to a room, rate did not change at this particular facility. I was uncertain if we were 2, 3, or 4 staying in each room. Since the best rate was at NO Cancellation after the purchase, I booked two rooms with 2 each guests. Well, we ended with total 3 guests per room. I was asked this at the front desk, Mr. Sam (not his real name) said I would have to pay $10 more per person as I had only paid for 2. I explained the above, he immediately said in a commanding tone, "it's hotel policy". I then told him, I didn't book the room through your hotel reservation but rather Expedia. He asked me to contact expedia or wait tomorrow and speak to the manager. Since I had already prepaid my reservation, I was stuck with paying the additional $21 and change. Mr. Sam actually asked me to pull up Expedia.com on my phone and see for myself that the rates changed. I quickly did and showed HIM how the rates did NOT change LOL he was shocked but insisted i take that up to the manager or Expedia. The shuttle pickup for the airport was a mess, going through Mr. Sam and the morning person as well. I had to make arrangements directly with the shuttle driver after being stranded at the airport. I would not got back nor will I book this hotel chain.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Good option for a night stay

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Location: Dinner options with walking distance include waffle house and sonic at less than 5 min walk.
Before booking here I search online and saw many bad reviews, i ended up staying here regardless. Yes, one of the man at the main desk is not the nicest person on the planet, but the rest of the staff members with whom I had some type of interaction where not rude at all. Yes, when you go in the bathroom has a weird smell, but I think it is because they use too much clorox and not because they do not clean. The free Breakfast had a bar with options including toast, jelly, oatmeal, waffles, cereal and coffee, but they have additional options you can purchase. I won't say this is the best place to stay, but is definitely a good option for a cheaper stay on a hotel if you have a huge layover and would rather not sleep on airport benches.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis MN

Not worth the low price

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Interior updates, smoke smell, a/c systems, cracked titles in the bathrooms, and breakfast offerings.
Location: Location is near the airport. Within walking distance is a few gas stations, Sonic, Waffle House, and Jack in the Box.
The hotel looks much better on the outside than on the inside. The inside is very dated. The hallways and 2 rooms we stayed in both smelled strongly of smoke even though the rooms and all rooms around ours were non smoking. The a/c in both rooms would not keep the room at a comfortable level. The "Super Start Breakfast" is either a joke or this hotel is not handling it correctly. It consisted of white bread, juice, cereal with no milk available, and make your own waffles that turn out raw no matter how long you cook them. The area has many hotels, I would recommend going with another one even if it is more expensive.
2 out of 5
by Francisco from Okinawa, Japan

Layover Stay

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
We arranged to be picked up immediately after arriving at George Bush Airport at 1030. We were picked up at 1100 along with people staying at surrounding hotels by a hotel carpool-type van. We were checked-in with no issues, but upon entering our room we were blasted by a strong scent, as if the cleaning staff was trying to cover up something by infusing the room with some deodorizer, not comforting. The walls are thin and we could hear our neighbors television blasting as we tried to get to sleep. The breakfast that was offered isn't breakfast, but it will fill the void in ones stomach. Cereal, oatmeal, self-made waffles, orange juice, and a few other items, not impressive. I was looking for a place to stay during my 12-hour layover to Tokyo, Japan, and the hotel did provide that. In terms of comfort, the hotel needs help. The facility looks cheap and quickly put together.
5 out of 5
by Meg C. from Atlanta, GA

Exactly What We Needed

Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
I was very pleased with our stay. The room was clean, smelled fine, the bed was comfy, and the staff courteous. No Hilton, but I would stay again. Be sure to give yourself a few extra minutes - the airport shuttle stops at one or two other hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston

Ok

Posted May 15, 2016
No alarm clock, old school heating and cooling, no plug ins by bed, etc. hotel was ok but you get what you pay for.