Ratings based on 990 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Expedia double booked me for the reservation. And the staff at the Hotel made it easy for me to reverse the charge and have a lovely stay. The hotel is old world beautiful and everyone was very very very pleasant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West coast Florida

Comfort and Excellent staff

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Almost everything.
Cons: Room A/C control
Location: Handy location.
Great staff. Beautiful public areas. room comfortable with exception of A/C control tricky.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

The most wonderful stay!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Location, amenities, service, food and the wonderful staff!
Location: The location is excellent! You are adjacent to incredible dining and shopping if you choose to leave the Houstonian premises, which we did not!
The Houstonian is a fabulous facility with incredible amenities but it's the staff who really make it extra special! If you have the option of staying on the Concierge floor it is absolutely worth the small extra fee. Daniel was the Concierge in the Lounge and was so very kind, friendly and helpful. Our room attendant, Clarese, was on her game and was more than happy to bring us extra towels. She was a very happy person and seemed to enjoy her job. The Fitness Center offers countless (literally) classes which are complimentary with your hotel stay. We also visited the Trellis, which is the luxurious Houstonian spa, for a few hours of relaxation and lunch. You just won't find a better retreat in Houston!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco, california

Best fitness facilities

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The only reason to stay at The Houstonian is for their fitness facilities and resort-like grounds. We have been staying in this hotel over the last 10 years when we travel to Houston for personal business. The hotel rooms are looking dated and there is noticeable mold in between the bath tub / shower tiles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We had a wonderful stay at the Houstonian

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: More vegetarian option in the Olivette Restaurant
The Houstonian Club is top rated and the staff are just top notch
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay and friendly staff

Posted Jan 1, 2017
The room was so quiet and the bed was super comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WEST PALM BEACH

CHRISTMAS 2016

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: THE GROUNDS
Cons: ELEVATORS
Location: PERFECT TO SHOPPING AND DOWNTOWN
IT WAS VERY NICE, CLEAN, BEAUTIFUL GROUNDS, NO COMPLAINTS AT ALL
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great Hotel in the heart of the shopping district.

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Great beds. Great concierge service.
Location: Galleria. Great restaurants. Walking.
We enjoyed our stay here. The staff were great. The concierge service was fantastic - they got us into some great restaurants at a moment's notice. We will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
by Karen

Fantastic resort in Uptown Houston

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for 7 nights for a true getaway - the hotel/resort was incredible for just that! Impeccable service from every single person we encountered. Fantastic pool and top-notch health club adjacent - we truly felt like we were getting away with something to be able to work out there! On-site restaurant and bar were amazing. Easy and convenient access to all that the Uptown/Galleria area has to offer plus easy to get downtown and to IAH airport. Prices very reasonable for the level of service you received. The *only* thing that we would have changed was the thermostat in our room didn't seem accurate - we ended up having to drop the temp to 66 degrees and it still felt humid in the room. But it's an older building and it frankly seemed like the A/C was just overwhelmed. It wasn't uncomfortable. Other than that, an absolutely amazing experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Stayed over Christmas, everything couldn't have been any better. Decorations were soooo beautiful. Food excellent. Very quiet rooms.