Ratings based on 799 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Beautiful Downtown Houston hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: The style, the ambiance and the service.
Cons: Lighting - traveling with someone who has low vision - the hotel seemed "dark" - especially the lobby and hallways.
Location: Walking distance to Minute Maid Park and several restaurants. Quite a few homeless in the area - but they don't bother you.
The Westin Houston Downtown is a beautiful hotel, nicely decorated, nice ambiance and the staff is excellent from the valets to the front desk to the wait and housekeeping staff. My room was on the second floor with a view of the lobby/atrium - which was nice, the only downside is you don't get any natural light - since the windows are tinted and the lobby lighting is subdued. The rooms are nicely appointed - the mattress is so comfortable, I was even told I didn't snore - so there must be something to either the mattress or the pillows - I'll have to find out what brand they use! The hotel is very close to Minute Maid stadium - walking distance of a block or two and close to a couple of restaurants. The hotel restaurant is very good and reasonably priced for the amount of food they provide. There is also a coffee bar in the lobby which serves Starbucks products - if you need your fix. It's also close to several highways - so getting to other parts of Houston and the airport are quick and easy. IAH is only @ a 25 minute ride. Valet parking is $34.00 p/day plus tax - but I never had to wait for my car and the valets were excellent, helping me and three seniors get into and out of the car - sometimes four at a time! Overall I give the Westin Houston Downtown high marks for location, service and style.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderfully decorated place with little amenities

Posted May 27, 2017
The hotel and the staff was nice. The lack of amenities was not the greatest. This is more of an upscale hotel therefore the decor and rooms were very nice. Complaints our group has was there was no microwave throughout the entire place and wifi was only free in lobby otherwise you have to pay $10/day for use unless you are a part of their SPG reward program. All in all great rooms but little amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Close to Minute Maid park.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Clean and comfortable
Cons: Lower prices!
Location: Look above
Enjoyed the convenience of walking across the street to the ballpark.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Very nice hotel near Astro stadium

Posted May 4, 2017
Great hotel, good price, perfect location and Excellent staff !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We were steps away from Minute Maid park

Posted May 1, 2017
It was an awesome experience we are steps away from minute maid park which was the reason first day it was definitely a five-star experience had a really affordable price for where the location was. My only negative feedback is after the game a lot of people were downstairs at the bar and we were one of them there wasn't enough staff to accommodate the amount of people as far as having somebody stop by and ask us if we wanted something to drink . Also when we arrive checking through clock we probably got there at 2:30 our room wasn't ready which we are OK with since we weren't supposed to check in until three anyway but we waited until 330 to actually get checked into the room and that's not because it was busy was because they said it wasn't ready yet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Great hotel close to all downtown pro sports venue

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Beautiful corner suite. Exquisite bedding. Spacious closets. Quiet rooms. Good auto valet service. No overnight laundry or dry cleaning offered. Front desk staff were pleasant and efficient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay elsewhere!

Posted Apr 24, 2017
First impressions were good: service, cleanliness etc. However, first night there we heard EVERYTHING coming from the open atrium in the center of the hotel. The conversations, clink of a glass, ice being poured into a glass at the bar etc. The signs indicated the bar closed at 10pm, so we gritted our teeth and waited, things did get quieter after 10pm. The second night was a disaster. The noise was even louder, and lasted past 10pm. When we called down, we were told there was a party that was supposed to last until midnight! If you HAVE to stay here, only stay on floors 5 and above that do not open to the atrium.
1 out of 5
by Jeff

Strike 2

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
I could have paid less to have a hotel open the door for me and to not give excuses when I complain about them not opening the door for us. Confusing to operate elevators because of security. Front desk should advise us key required to operate elevators. Hair in sink that was not mine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel downtown

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Orbitz
Friendly staff. Nice amenities and convenient to many restaurants, baseball stadium and basketball venue.
4 out of 5
by Darren

Convenient downtown location

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
Two night stay; property is nicely located across from stadium (there for a game). Bars and restaurants in walking distance. Bed was a little firm for my preference, but room was nice. Typical higher end business style rooms.