Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by RADU

Charming gueshouse

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing scenery, beautiful property, 20' = 20km from the Cape Town waterfront. Warm hosts, nice pool, good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Godalming

Great villa in beautiful location

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: Views. Garden. Breakfast. Hosts. Only one of two property owners who wrote to us after our stay which was nice.
Cons: Shame cottage was not built just a little larger for inside seating but nice room all the same.
Location: Hout Bay down hill with restaurants, some shops and beach. Llandudno beach very close - lovely. Good road access to everywhere! Chapmans Peak a must
The Villa is set on the mountain side on edge of Hout Bay towards Llandudno and is an excellent property with 4 rooms, great garden and pool with lovely views. We stayed in the smallest room in a separate cottage with its own small garden and terrace with great views towards Constantia Nek which was nice with a coffee or wine!. Room very comfortable and nice bathroom. The only small comment is that it would have been great if it had been built slightly larger so it could accommodate inside seating to use on during the cool evenings rather than sitting on the bed. Hosts very welcoming who provided a very enjoyable breakfast and friendly chat. Shame they are moving on but I am sure the new owners will do an equally good job. Good luck for the future. Would revisit in the future.
5 out of 5
by Gillian from Loughton

A Real Gem

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels
Its very rare that a hotel or guest house stay is faultless, but this was. The hosts Patrice and Catherine are the most wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble. They are always there with good restaurant tips and advice on places to go. The villa is beautiful, the rooms are really well appointed with very tasteful décor ,great shower and big comfortable beds. The garden and pool enjoy the same attention to detail and the views are amazing over the mountains and bay. Breakfast is an event with freshly bought rolls and croissants daily and a choice of fresh fruits, yoghurts, cheeses and a cooked breakfast if you have room. Hout bay is charming, and this guest house is simply the best.
2 out of 5
by Rob from London

Beautiful guest house intrusive instructions

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The location and garden were superb.
Cons: Get rid of the instructions to guests as to how to behave and what you will be charged if you don't.
Location: Near to local beaches and good location to sit and relax-subject to guidance.
A fantastic location ruined by requests/instructions. A beautiful place which had a series of intrusive almost authoritarian requests as to how to behave. No towels to go to the beach, please replace the garden furniture in the original position, avoid sun tan lotion on bed linen-and here are the charges you will incur if you don't adhere!!.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2015 by Patrice and Catherine, Hotel Management
Thank you for finding our place as fantastic. What you call "intrusive instructions" is only our internal policy where we remind people to respect our house in order for the next guests to find the same quality of accommodation. It is in the interest of everybody. You complained because you have not been allowed to go to the beach with your bathroom towels. Sorry for that but it is not permitted. When you left we discovered that you didn't take care of any other instruction and you destroyed our bed sheets #with embroideries# with your Sun/Tan lotion although you were informed about that. However we didn’t charge your credit card after you left for this damages. On the other hand in staying in a guesthouse it is to meet with others and to enjoy life and conversation with others. I remind you that during your stay your boyfriend never said only once hello at morning time and left without saying bye bye. We use to welcome guest with a better education.
5 out of 5
by Steve C from Ascot Berkshire

Wonderful Location

Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels
Very helpful and friendly owners.Superb room with wonderful views of Hout Bay and Chapmans Peak.Highly recommended. Will definately return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Iain from Scotland

Wonderful accommodation

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: Above
Cons: Nothing
Location: Would not want to walk back to location at night but a simple 15 min walk in daylight
Everything excellent. Friendly and helpful mother and son owners. VERY comfortable 7 night stay.
5 out of 5
by Stefan Auer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our Villa at Houte Bay

Posted Nov 24, 2012
Pros: The View.
Cons: The security process.
Location: Beautiful view overlooking Houte Bay valley.
The guest house was very comfortable and clean and well maintained. The patrons Patrice and Kathereine were very welcoming and friendly and helpful in planning the trips to places of interest. The breakfasts were meticulously prepared and had some superb homemade jams. Definately a place We go back to again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location, wonderful hosts

Posted Aug 25, 2011 on Hotels
Only one night here but oh how I wish it was longer, lovely room, charming hosts, glorious breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hübsches, ruhiges Guesthousr in Hout Bay

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Catherine und Phillipe bereiten uns einen so herrlichen Emofang bei unserer Ankunft und stehen gleich mit all ihrrr Erfahrung und ihrem Wissen bereit, um Ausflüge und Tagestrips in Hout Bay und Umgebung der Kapregion zu gestalten. Erwähnens- und beachtenswert ist das tolle und reichhsltige Frühstück, welches die beiden regelrecht zelebrieren und das auf der Terrasse im Garten, bei kühlerem Wetter im Haus eingenommen wird. Ein hervorragender Start in den Tag. Von unserem großen Appartement aus haben wir einen fantastischen Blick über die Bucht von Hout Bay. Die Zimmer sind top ausgestattet, es fehlt an absolut gar nichts. Parkplätze vor dem Haus sind vorhanden. Insgesamt ist alles sehr sauber und gepflegt. Die Zimmer sind geschmackvoll und stilecht eingerichtet. Der wunderschöne Garten mit Pool runden das Gesamtbild ab. Wir sind als Gäste gekommen und reisen als Freunde ab.