Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Clean, Comfortable and excellent Staff

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Everything. Location for our purpose. Very quiet and just off the expressway. Proximity to off-site eateries.
Cons: Adding a small microwave and a small combination safe to the room.
My wife and I were a long term stay (7+ days). The restaurant and Starbucks on site, just off the lobby was wonderful. Room was super comfortable, spacious with good chairs and excellent queen size beds. Very clean and appearing new and updated. The only negative is the conspicuous absence of a microwave which would allow warm ups of 'doggie-bag' leftovers from our frequent restaurant visits. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Planning a return visit in August 2016 and will most definitely stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Mex

Visita Brighton

Posted Dec 9, 2015
Pros: Todo
Cons: Precio
Location: Fue visita de trabajo
Excelente servcio.......................... ............
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointment after disappointment

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Call before booking to inquire as to whether or not the property had a hottub/jacuzzi and was assured that it in fact did. But they lied!! Couldn't upgrade to a room with a balcony even though the desk clerk had said he would. Room was cold upon entry and took forever to get to a desired temperature. No continental breakfast, no vending machines! Side security door never locked. Leaving anyone in off the street to come on in!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2015 by GM, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. My heartfelt apologies for your disappointment in the room type you were assigned and I regret any confusion over our amenities. We strive to provide every guest with a comfortable stay and we clearly missed the mark. Thank you for your honest feedback which we will use to foster improvements; for that reason, we hope to see you again on a return trip. Sincerely, Katelyn Hill, GM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
Right next to the highway so pretty load. Front desk helped me out by moving my room furthest away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I'm sorry that noise pollution interrupted the comfort of your stay, but I'm glad that our team was able to make things right. We value your comments and do us them to monitor the guest experience. Thank you for staying with us for for your time in reviewing our hotel. Sincerely, Katelyn Hill General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Thomas from Chicago

Brighton your day...

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
Arrived later on a Sunday. Not a ton around the area. Not far off the interstate. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful for finding some late night dining. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Would stay there again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Shintaro

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
front clark was horrible
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Shintaro, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. My heartfelt apologies you found our associate unhelpful. We strive to provide sincere hospitality and we clearly missed the mark. Thank you for your honest feedback which we will use to foster improvement; for that reason, we hope to see you on a return trip. Sincerely, Katelyn Hill General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ice hotel in Brighton MI

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Location: Metro Parks are worth a visit
More than met our expectations. Totally renovated rooms. Very nice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nathan from Lafayette, IN

Not bad, but needs a repairman.

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful staff. Fridge in room was broke and didn't know until after our food was in it for 8 hours.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Nathan, Thank you for writing. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience and sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of meeting your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to make amends when you were to return to the area. Sincerely, Katelyn Hill, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Most everything. They have done a good job on their remodel
The stay was good and the staff was very hopefully. When we were leaving to go to the game it was raining very hard and the staff had an umbrella for us so we could get to our car without getting very wet. The remodel of the rooms was well done since our last visit. My only problem with the room was the couch, it was uncormtable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed one night, staff and motel were great. We had a pending $20 charge on our credit card but it was taken off. We ask for and got 2 extra pillows, we assume the $20 charge covered the possibility they were not returned.