Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Lousy bed

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Great place with super staff. Bed and pillows were not comfortable at all. Also our room faced the water which was great except it was difficult to get to from the lobby. Up one floor then walk to far end and go up stairs to second floor. The rate was decent. My only criticism is the bed and really that's what your there for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

convenience

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: proximity to DART.
Cons: rooms need updating. parking exit needs proper lights.
close to Howth and easy drive from airport. short walk to DART. difficult exit from parking lot as no clear traffic signals allow one access to main road.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Shabby

Posted Sep 9, 2017
A shabby and noisy room and an uncomfortable bed. Definitely not worth the money. Would not stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Nice hotel close to Howth.

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Location, staff & food.
Cons: Internet. Shelving in bathroom. Second bag had to be stored on floor in bedroom, partly blocking access.
Location: Visit Howth. We didn't have time to explore additional activities.
We stayed here because Howth was fully booked and we needed to be fairly close to the airport. Lovely situation. Helpful staff. Plentiful parking. Good food available on site. No reliable internet connection in our room on the second floor when we were there. Small bedroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Howth

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Comfortable stay - easy access and parking. Check in was simple and quick. Good breakfast and the bar is handy.
3 out of 5
by Donald

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Relaxing hotel with great water view

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Old world charm. Beautiful location by the beach on a a narrow peninsula. Rooms are a bit small and dated but the facilities were great. Restaurant pool beach pub and restaurant all comfortable and friendly. Very good food. More expensive than my usual choices but well worth it. I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK

FANTASTIC!

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: The friendliness, location, gorgeous views
Cons: Nothing - it was perfect.
Location: Howth Village and Howth Summit are very nearby and town is a bus ride away - tons to do.
The staff at the Marine could not be more friendly, accommodating, patient and overall just brilliant. We had a big birthday celebration with a lot of people staying at the hotel so there was a lot to coordinate and they did it with ease and a smile on their face when I got a little stressed. Thank you guys - it was just an amazing experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Nice Location, Staff were decent but what a stink!

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Had my wedding reception here back in 2008 so just the restaurant this time! Hotel had let standards slip
Cons: Sewerage issues & handling of their complaints!
Location: Lovely area as located in Sutton Cross, which brings you into Howth harbour & head which is a delight for those keen on fish for supper!
Gotten room 240 with a nice view out of the back of the hotel looking out to the gardens leading up to the beach. Facilities & Staff were decent as not first time we stayed at hotel...we had our wedding reception here back in 2008 & had a fantastic day so we felt all nostalgic when booking for a night off from the kids. Their Italian restaurant, Cucinos, was top notch as it was a delight from starter to dessert. However, it all turned unpleasant when we were awoken in the morning by a nasty stench of sewerage coming from our bathroom in room 240 & proceded to open our solitary window as much as we could so to get as much fresh air as we could! So suffice to say, we made our business to go down to the reception & complain about this...They were not in the least interested & put the smell down as coming from the sea!. Not impressed with this! My wife & I proceeded to have our breakfast then decided to have a ramble outside to the beach to see if there was indeed a smell!...We only smelt fresh air from the sea breeze blowing gently at us so we turned back towards the hotel & located our room from the back garden. I went over to the area directly underneath our bedroom window & could get the same repugnant smell that had awoken us earlier that morning...we were directly underneath a sewerage manhole which was from my professional opinion & experience, was having problems which the hotel had not addressed sufficiently & let us & other customers put up with it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Excellent hotel with a lovely view over Dublin Bay

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Lovely area and people are exceedingly helpful.
Cons: Sound insulation between rooms
Location: Howth is nearby plus you can wander along the coast to see the moon over Dublin Bay.
Hotel was very nice and comfortable and relatively quiet (I went on a weekday). Free access to the pool and steam rooms was a bonus although I didn't like that you were required to wear a bathing cap (or had to purchase one for €2) in order to use the pool, which seemed unusual. The pool/sauna facilities are not just for hotel guests and people can join the club to use the facilities as well. My room was large and had a great view over Dublin Bay toward Howth. The Full Irish breakfast in the morning, plus porridge and full buffet, topped off a lovely experience. Only downside about the room was that I could faintly hear my neighbour snoring so I've given 4/5 stars for Room Comfort.