Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Adequate but very isolated.

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Location: Total isolation. Swim, kayak. Very tiny store, 25 minute walk, for water, soda, not much else. Great food truck across street Fri-Sun.
If you are looking to stay on hotel grounds for a few days of complete isolation, swimming, kayaking and sunbathing Relais Mahana may work for you. There is no civilization outside of the hotel site. It's quaint and clean. Half the staff are really friendly and half don't seem to enjoy their job very much. Lapita Village hotel was a better friendlier experience and walking distance to Fare town. If just a few days on Huahine; go for Lapita Village. If a week or so, spend 2/3 days at Relais Mahana (weekend best for Tiki Pop Food Truck option) and the rest of the time at Lapita Village.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Great location, beautiful beach and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by Erik from Hawaii

Excellent

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels
We went to 7 different islands in French Polynesia and this was our favorite place to stay. Very nice and well-kept bungalows, immaculately clean. Beautiful location on Huahine's best beach. Excellent snorkeling and free kayaks and wi-fi. Even the restaurant made some vegetarian dishes for us that weren't on the menu. Everyone was very nice except the lady at reception who was a bit confrontational. We avoided her after check-in and all was well. The only disappointment was the weather- it rained 2 of the 3 days we were in Huahine. But there was a storm that hit all of FP so it wouldn't have mattered where we stayed. We enjoyed Huahine and will definitely be coming back. Do yourself a favor and skip Bora Bora and spend more time in Raiatea, Moorea, and of course, Huahine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, USA

Great hotel right on beach with superb snorkeling

Posted Aug 2, 2014
A fantastic place right on a great beach with a stunning coral garden only yards away for superb snorkeling. It is very family friendly: our nine year old enjoyed swimming, snorkeling and sea kayaking, and the food was also kid-friendly (great breakfast buffet!). The staff are all efficient and friendly. A perfect place for a relaxing family holiday. We will definitely stay there again in future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ying from CHINA

This is a nice stay in front of the beach!!!

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Pros: beach, environment, coral garden, silence, cleaniess, equipment for activities.
Cons: INTERNET is supppppper slow... the reception area has a better one; yet slow. I could have helped you guys though... The crab is bad
Location: SNACK (south, turn right in the front) STORE ( (south, turn right in the front )
We stay close to water and can access the beach by jump. For this special part you dont need water shoes to walk since it is mainly sand. There are many fishes close to coral and is already good enough when compared to other places we have visited for this island. We attended some tours and enjoyed it. However the following experiences in other islands made us feel that the "full day island tour curise" is expensive and with middle quality. I would suggest people to just stay around the hotel and relax. The beach is nice and ready the sunset watching (facing west). The foods are good and the "tears steak" is strongly recommended. There is also a snack at 10 mins walk from the hotel, which we went several times to take some cheaper food. And if you walk for another 5-7 minutes (make a small turn to left following the main road), you will see another store to buy some food for storage or cans. Finally, be ready to be biten by the moooooossssquiitoooos~
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by kevenda from Sydney NSW, Australia

Lovely location unpleasant welcome.

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: staff at reception
Location: Right on the beach of a tranquil bay
This hotel is in a pleasant location and the bungalows are well designed. Breakfasts are alright if a little mean. The welcome to the hotel was appalling. There was no one on the desk and a note was left to say the staff member would be back later. We were given the worst room even though there were very few people in the hotel. We asked for a better room and the overly aggressive receptionist said we could not as the hotel was full but we had looked around whilst waiting and it was almost empty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amanda from Auckland, NZ

Huahine Feb12

Posted Feb 21, 2012
Pros: On arrival they gave us a cold juice and cold flannel which was lovely and refreashing
Cons: No air conditioning in the room
Location: Opposite site of the island from the airport. Didn't stay during the day so not sure what is around the hotel to go and see
Only stayed for 1 night as a stopover. Quite a distance from the airport but that only means you get to see a lot of the island which was excellent. No airconditioning in the room, only a fan. Lovely beach and there seemed to be a lot of coral which would be great for snorkling. Lovely spot to watch the sunset.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dieter from Vienna, Austria

Wonderful relaxing place

Posted Feb 5, 2012
Pros: Place to relax
Cons: Next little shop 20 min walk away
Location: Nice, very quiet
Hotel is wonderful located, very friendly receptionist (Nadja). Restaurant only tested for breakfast, ok, not more, but there is Chez Tara 100m away, which is excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brazil

Cool hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2011
The beach room is awesome and the staff are helpful, but there´s only one receptionist for lots of clients.