Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2017
The lighting system too dim. Especially on the poor area. We fell into a dip near the poor as it was too dark.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beijing, China

nice location close to the montain & beach

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: The host family are very warm and nice to guest and knowldegable about the area. The husband is local native man and the wife grew up from Taipei.
Location: Hiking, cycling, shoping for local made foods (sticky rice made food is really good especially if you can have the fresh one).
Althoug I only stayed at the hotel for one day, I could manage to go to famous hiking path and beach by bicycle, which was provided by the host for free. Their breakfast was very delicious. The couple worked together to make a combined Chinese and Westin healthy food in a very quick way.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dirty, overrated hotel with only two restaurants

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: The location is great because the hotel is located in the Hualien Taroko Gorges.
Cons: The restaurant food is dirty. I saw bugs on the cheese plate and told the waiter, who ignored me. My friend vomited and had diarrhea after dinner.
Location: There are some hiking trails and good sights to see.
This hotel way exceeded my expectation. There is no place to eat except for two restaurants inside the hotel. When you venture outside of the hotel, there are a few hole-in-the wall eateries and a convenience store. The first restaurant offers Chinese menu and had some odd dishes that are not tasty. The other restaurant has western style food. We had both breakfast and dinner buffet there. The first time I swung the restaurant I saw bugs flying around and on the cheese. The second time we ate there because there is no other choice. The flies were still there. My family vomited severely and had diarrhrea all night long. I also felt sick the next day. I told the hotel at checkout that my family got sick, and they would not give me a refund for the dinner and said that said that it could be due to other reasons. My family and I also had the spa treatment there for 1 hr and 45 min. It was not impressive. For the rate this hotel charges, it is overrated. The hotel is situated in a great location within the Gorges, and they organized some ok tours - the tour guide was helpful and good. The hotel could have made it easier for the guests to do more exploration of the various trails without being to the tours. It was hard to get around outside of the hotel without a car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful!

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: We signed up for a half day afternoon tour which was a bit of a let down.
As this was our first time visiting the area, we were incredibly impressed with both Taroko and the hotel. What an amazing place for some R & R or to see the natural beauty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Wonderful experience in a friendly atmosphere

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, beautiful environment, very local and happy to explain to us how local is nice
Cons: Probably not, just be ready for a very localized experience and leave behind you preconceived ideas ...
Location: Beautiful environment by the river, the forest, not too far from the ocean. Plenty of walking, hiking, temples and nature to discover
We spent 3 days and enjoyed them very much. Obviously not (and thank you for that) the 5 stars hotel chain type, a very customized stay, friendly staff, always trying their best and happy to explain Taroko to us. Definitely recommend it for few days vacation ..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2015
beautiful scenery. Plenty of things to do in and out of the hotel. definitely the best hotel in the region
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northville Michigan

Remote location Amazing views

Posted May 31, 2015
Beautiful location in the mountains Great hiking and nature. Good food and nice rooms with beautiful view of the gorge Some staff not as gracious to Americans as Asians
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

A generally excellent, conveniently located hotel.

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Staff, facilities, cleanliness.
Cons: Some areas are starting to look a little worn out (carpets, paint, etc.). Could do with some minor cosmetic touchups.
Location: The location is an excellent base for exploring the Taroko national park, with several hiking trails within walking distance.
Stayed for three nights in 3rd floor honeymoon suite. The room was quite large and comfortable. On the first night the heating didn't work, but when I mentioned it to staff the next day they had a new heater in the room within 10 minutes. Breakfast and dinner in the western buffet was generally of a high standard, although the Chinese restaurant was less impressive. Hotel facilities were excellent, and staff were helpful and courteous. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay, and would happily stay again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

what is with that smell in the rooms?

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: the room and hallway smell
Location: excellent for hikes, shirt trips , sightseeing
We just finished 3 weeks plus travel in Asia, staying in hotels in Thaiwan, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam at multiple locations.... I must say that my experience in this hotel, was the worst. What is with the smell in the hallways and rooms? I wasn't able to sleep all night, had a talk at 4:30 am with the front counter if there is anything they could do,,, I have spoke to other guests, and they had the same experience. in front of the hotel was strong smell of sewer water, maybe there was a leak somewhere,,, The food stuff and location was great,,,,, I would never go back, and wouldn't recommend it to my friends,, I need to have my sleep,,,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Excellent hotel with beautiful view

Posted Nov 30, 2014
I would rate this hotel 6 stars! The view from the room was beautiful even though it was the lower grade one. Dinner buffet was yummy with quality spread and it came with a main course. Pity that we only stayed for 1 night and couldn't fully enjoy the other facilities and tour around the hotel. The only minor disappointment was the supposedly "tribal dance" which was more like singing of folk song and a brief introduction of the tribe. They only taught us a few simple tribal dance steps on the final song. There wasn't any translation so was wondering how the non-Chinese understood what they said.