Ratings based on 528 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Luxurious hotel in the front row

Posted Dec 16, 2017
The hotel is built in the 1920th and is very luxurious, it is located in the front row to the best view of the Shanghai skyline view. As well as it is a block away from the famous walking street. Excellent breakfast in the hotel. Close to the subway as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Hotel Manager to Fairmont Peace Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Anton, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful comments on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that our location and view from the bund helped to create such a memorable experience for you, as well as our breakfast. I sincerely hope there will be another occasion to welcome you back at the Fairmont Peace Hotel when you are next in Shanghai. Kindest regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, fl

Best Hotel in Shanghai

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Great atmosphere, exceptional staff and perfect location.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Easy access for morning or evening walks on the Bund, easy walking to great restaurants and some great shopping areas on the Nanjing Road.
We have stayed at several other five star hotels on the Bund and they are great, but the Peace Hotel is simply exceptional. It is a beautiful building and is a very relaxing place to stay. It is within easy access of many great restaurants and it's Cathay Room serves up some excellent food with some stunning views over the river. We had a couples massage at the Spa and it was exceptional, ask for Lily and Rose, both fantastic. It costs a bit more to use the hotel spa than what you might find elsewhere in Shanghai, but the overall experience is far superior, even if you only try it once, we would say it is worthwhile We would highly recommend upgrading any stay at the Peace Hotel to include the use of the Club Room. From the private check-in and guest service to the actual use of the Club Room, it makes a stay extra special. Great breakfast, inclusive afternoon tea and evening drinks and snacks. This also includes free wines, beers and spirits if you require. We were quite tired after arriving from the USA and didn't really feel like going out, so we just popped up to the Club Room and enjoyed the evening snacks with a glass of wine in a relaxed and delightful atmosphere. Every staff member we encountered went above and beyond to make sure our stay was fabulous. While we won't single out any member of staff, we can say that all the staff in the Club Room go out of their way to pamper guests. We think that staying at the Peace Hotel will enhance any visit to Shanghai.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Hotel Manager to Fairmont Peace Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Bill, On behalf of our entire team, thank you for sharing such wonderful detailed feedback on your recent stay with us. I am so thrilled to read that so many of our team members created such a memorable and enjoyable stay for you and I will ensure I share your compliments with them to encourage them to continue to strive for excellence with all their interactions with guests. I sincerely hope we will have another occasion to welcome you back to the Fairmont Peace Hotel when you visit Shanghai again. Kindest regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Breakfast

Posted Nov 29, 2017
I have had the best breakfast ever in this hotel. Chinese style. Location is convenient but the city is so big I imagine many locations are. The Kazz group is the most campy experience. Just too much perfume in the lobby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Hotel Manager to Fairmont Peace Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear B, Thank you very much for taking the time to share you positive comments on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that our breakfast and location made it so enjoyable for you. And we all look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Shanghai. Kindest regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SF

Excellent hotel close to everything

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: location, staff, food, room comfort
Cons: none
Location: walking distance to restaurants, shops and museums
Checked in early and the room was not ready. Lobby staff offered to store luggage. Unlike last time, the staff failed to acknowledge my frequent guest status and offered room upgrade. (But the VIP free upgrade happened automatically.) The facility and room are excellent as usual. Staff are all well-trained and very professional. There was noise in my next door the first night and the second day the manager called to apologize and offered solutions including moving to another room. Since the guests next door left already, we decided to stay. Really appreciate their service because it shows that they really care about guests' experience in the hotel. This time we tried both their 8th and 9th floor restaurants, including their once-a-year Thanksgiving dinner. Those are one of the best in Shanghai, especially the Thanksgiving dinner. They use very expensive materials to present a four-course meal prepared by a French chef but only charged a fraction of the American price. Their award winning wine selection is also one of the best in the world. Dinning experience with great food, great service and breath taking view of the Bund is just unforgettable. Staying in this hotel will definitely bring you back to old Shanghai's best times during 1920s to 1930s.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Hotel Manager to Fairmont Peace Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Colorful, Thank you very much for taking your time to share your excellent comments on your recent return stay with us. I am delighted to read that our Chef's signature Thanksgiving dinner and the service provided by various team helped to create such a memorable and enjoyable experience for you. I sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Fairmont Peace Hotel when you are next in Shanghai. Kindest regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Beautiful historical hotel on Bund

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Pros: Beautiful hotel with lots of character and history-great location right on Bund, staff attitude excellent-great Chinese restaurant on 8th floor
Cons: Better maintenance of the showers-already getting moldy. Hotel needs to have better system to order cabs for customers-cab system very bad in Shanghai
Location: Bund views, shopping and great restaurants all walking distance, convenient location
Very convenient location right on Bund, excellent Chinese restaurant on 8th floor with nice Bund views, staff attitude excellent, beautiful rooms with loads of character
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Hotel Manager to Fairmont Peace Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Ginger, Thank you very much for sharing your detailed feedback on your recent stay with us. I am happy to read that our history, location, staff and Chinese restaurant made it so memorable for you. However I am disappointed to read that you experienced some shortcomings regarding to our room facilities and cab ordering system. I have tasked our Executive Housekeeper, Chief Engineering and Director of Guest Experience to take actions on your review, to avoid this happening to another guest. We sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Fairmont Peace Hotel when you are next in Shanghai.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Great hotel but has a haunted vibe.. kind of scary

Posted Nov 11, 2017
This is a great hotel but honestly almost checked out as soon as we arrived. Felt completely haunted. The hallways were scary and my room felt like there were untold crimes commited. Hard to explain. Truthfully the first time I have ever felt this way. My friend staying with me felt the exact same way. Almost like there was ghost lurking or evil spirits. Very strange, but true. The lights in the room would flicker at strange times aswell.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Hotel Manager to Fairmont Peace Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Phil, Thank you very much for sharing about your recent experience with us. I am sorry to read that you felt uncomfortable and didn't enjoy your stay. This is the first time we have received such a comment since re-opening in 2010. We have received plenty of positive comments about our art deco interior design & architecture as well as our lighting. I do hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Fairmont Peace Hotel soon again. Kindest regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Nice hotel close to The best vieus of the city.

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: None.
Location: Close to attractions.
5 days in Shanghai after a tour in China. The best hotel in China.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by Hotel Manager to Fairmont Peace Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear ed, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your 5 star comments on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that our central location helped to make your 5 days in Shanghai much easier. I sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Fairmont Peace Hotel when you are next in Shanghai
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Very comfortable. Period recreation is well done.

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Concierge staff very helpful. Compared to Peninsula, my regular place, it is almost as good. Could have a better gym.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Hotel Manager to Fairmont Peace Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear MK, Thank you very much for taking your time to share your wonderful comments on your recent stay with us. I am happy to read that our concierge was able to assist you and I will ensure I share your compliments with them to encourage them to strive for excellence. We look forward to your next visit to Fairmont Peace Hotel. Kindest regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Diamond Bar, California

Very convenient location very

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Staffs were very kind the room was very clean, food was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Manager to Fairmont Peace Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for taking your time to share your wonderful comments on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that our kind staff, clean room and great food helped to create such a memorable and enjoyable experience for you. I sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Fairmont Peace Hotel when you are next in Shanghai. Kindest regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

All in all good hotel. More readiness skill

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Room, atmosphere, amenity quality
Cons: Readiness, service consistency
Location: The Bund, Huangpu river, shopping at Nanjing East Rd, Shanghai Radio Tower etc
Overall pleased; but it seems hotel is not ready for sudden reservations/requests. Due to urgent business matters, I booked this hotel one hour before check-in over Expedia. The hotel said they need 30 mins to retrieve Expedia booking, but it already passed one hr. Next, it's already past check-in time but they keep saying my room is not ready, letting me wait for about 30-40 mins at the lobby with my suitcase. The room was surprising; great ambience with Shanghai 1943 authentic atmosphere; combined with modern touch. Also, this hotel also forgot to give my bottle of wine; even though I was entitled to get one as Expedia Gold member Pleasant hotel, but should enhance more readiness skill
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Manager to Fairmont Peace Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, Thank you very much for taking your time to share your detailed comments on your recent dining experience. I am delighted to overall your stay was pleased. I am also disappointed to know you have experienced some inconvenience while checking in. I have tasked my Front Desk Manager to review your comments and take actions. I sincerely hope we will have another occasion to welcom you back to the Fairmont Peace Hotel when you next visit Shanghai. Kindest regards,