Ratings based on 1,149 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

VIP plus was a no show

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Hotel was great, great location. Food was over priced, but that's to be expected. There was great local street food for breakfast a block away. The VIP package was bs, our added benefit wasn't disclosed until check in and it was a measly 15%off food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Howard Johnson

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Lovely hotel in excellent location. We really enjoyed our stay thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Best location right opposite nanjing road.

Posted May 26, 2017
This hotel is very old with proper maintenance. But the location is good anc centralize nanjing road
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great Position but!!

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: It looked good
Cons: One of the things I think people look for in a hotel, is a feeling that they are welcomed & made to feel at home. Staff should smile & be approachable
Location: Location is good, if you want to be with all the other tourists and McDonalds & all the same old same old, high street shops.
I expected a lot from this 5 star hotel. On arrival no one was on the door to greet us & no one took our bags or showed us to our room. We were supplied 2 tea bags, 1 black tea & the other green. Having called room service to bring up some extra tea for us, someone traveled to the 19th floor & handed us 2. The plugs were peculiar, making it difficult to charge our phone. Everything in the hotel, room service, mini bar were just priced over the top. A can of coke, from the mini bar was 30 yuan in the hotel 3 yuan from the local shop. Frankly it was more about the lack of welcome & comparing it to the Aster House Hotel, that we stayed in on our way through Shanghai, the Howard Johnston was a disappointment & I'll be staying at the Aster, on my next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, Australia

Perfect location

Posted May 22, 2017
Located 10min stroll from the Bund. Close to shopping, subway and Peoples Square. Hotel has everything you need. Rooms are clean and great size. I will be going back in 2018
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AOB

Nice location. Staff not as friendly.

Posted May 18, 2017
Hotel is nicely located next to Nanjing road. I have been staying here for over 5 years during my visits to Shanghai and never had problem. Check in has always been a smooth operation, however, this time had to wait for 30 minutes just to resolve my booking issue which was due to some trainee at the reception. Taking time is one thing but during all this time I was not even being explained whats wrong and no one was even polite enough to offer me a smile or apology. Further I was asked not to have coffee from starbuks in the lobby, funny thing is that this starbucks is located in the hotel lobby. Why have starbucks in the lobby and then ask guests rudely not to consume coffee in hotel lobby. Felt weird.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
nice and convinence hotel location, this is my 3rd time stay in this hotel
4 out of 5
by michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

It's an average experience

Posted Apr 23, 2017
The twin bed room size is small! Breakfast is the same everyday which can get old if you eat the same meal everyday!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very close to shopping & Metro

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Taxi service.
Location: lots of shopping.
Excellent location. Metro is very near. Very good approach as it is close to Inner Ring Road. Lots to shop. But missing Indian restaurant near by.