Ratings based on 335 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty, bad smell

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Not recommended for everyone. Dirty, bad smell, old
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible hotel, at most 2.5 star.

Posted May 11, 2017
This is at most a 2.5 star hotel. My room was terribly old and wall papers fall off. Stains on the carpet are massive and disgusting. It should not be marketed as 4 star hotel and should be removed by Expedia as VIP hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

You get what you pay for!

Posted May 8, 2017
Cheaper price, "cheap" hotel! Location was ok, close enough to the old market and Yu Garden, as well as 20 min to the Bund. But the place is run-down and not so clean. Internet wasn't very reliable and from all the staff I interacted with, only one spoke a broken English at reception. Should have paid a bit more to stay at better hotel. I will not be staying there again!
4 out of 5
by Jane

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very tired looking although would have been lovely in its heyday. Very dark room needed a torch to set air conditioning and safe didn't work. On the plus side a comfy bed and great shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Clean and convenient hotel close to central

Posted Apr 19, 2017
This hotel is located in the heart of shanghai, 10 minutes walk to train station, very convenient for shopping, it's clean and staff are very accommodating, the only downside for me is that it's a bit old, needs renovation.
4 out of 5
by Ryan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good location, but badly need renovation.

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Amenities and customer service.
Location: Very close to Yu Yuan and not far from the Bund.
Location is the positive point for the hotel, five minutes walking distance to Yu Garden, ten mins walking to subway station (Lao Xi Men) take Line 8 & 10 which takes you to People's square and Nan Jing pedestrian street for 1 or 2 stops; or you can take the bus (route 66) just at opposite side of the St. Across the overhead bridge outside the hotel, there is a comprehensive mall filled with lots of eateries and Tesco supermarket. However, for the hotel itself, it's run down and urgently need to be renovated. Overall, the hotel is OK for the price and location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milpitas

Old 4 star hotel looks like 2 star now

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Breakfast is better than expected except the crowd and bad table manner of most local people.
Cons: Make rooms brighter, change the shower head, and make sure the elevator passes inspection.
Location: It's about 5 min walk to Yu-Yuan Garden, which was nice years ago, but now its surrounding seemed like the the most chaotic spot of Shanghai.
Not 4 star, can only consider 2 star nowaday. One of the elevator needs to use hand to close manually before it can go up or down, really scary!!! Never seen it in my whole life. For that reason, I have to wait extra long for the other lift, escpecially they had groups of all sorts staying there. And if you're travelling in pairs, make sure print out your confirmation letter and circle the "breakfast for 2" on it, cause the hotel tried to charge you extra for the add'l breakfast as they claim that all web bookings only includes one breakfast. So the black and white from Expedia really defends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Needs an update. Room falling apart.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Location: Old Town.
The gentleman on the door was extremely helpful and friendly, I have to say. And always had a smile to offer. I was very disappointed with the quality of the room, especially for a hotel ranked as having four stars. Wooden door frame in bathroom had rotted away, a section of the bathroom mirror had fallen off, there were rips in the lampshades, stains over the walls and carpets, the shower hadn't been cleaned (the shower head was moldy), parts of the wallpaper had peeled off. Our non-smoking room smelled of smoke and smoke drifted in from others smoking in corridor. Beds were comfortable, but mine had another person's hair on the sheet. It's in a good location for visiting Old Town. Was difficult to converse with staff due to my lack of Chinese. No tourist information leaflets at the hotel. Members of staff on phones when working. The hotel has a lot of potential, but I think it would benefit from a refurbishment and better service.