Ratings based on 512 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very good hotel in the 3* price band.

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Pros: best location (shops, transport, etc), helpful staff, good food in its restaurant (Chinese), and shuttle service. Cons: two flights of entrance stairs (i.e., it requires some effort for moving heavy suitcases, there is usually a staff member to help), and decoration is a bit dated (but OK for us as we like the old Shanghai). Personal experience: The cafe/bar closed for some 10 days during the Chinese New Year period. We sometimes go to its sister hotel, Jin Jiang Park (international hotel) to have coffees. When there is a shortage of taxi, the customers of the hotels and shops on the east side of hotel have the advantage. So it would be better to walk eastwards for some 100 meters (~yards). We had a dark room facing inner courtyards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

distinguish hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: location
Cons: direct USB plug
Location: center of the Shanghai, cuisine, tourism, and transportation
The hotel has a long history, located at the center of Shanghai, very convenience of transportation, cuisine, tourism, entertainment, and etc. The room and its facilities are up to date. The only thing can be improved, maybe, should provide USB port in the room directly, instead of all the power plugin. Because in China, the voltage is 220V, not very popular, then for the electronic devices from other countries, direct USB plug, would be more convenient than power plug.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2018 by Bernard Luk, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We'd like to see you are satisfied with the stay at our hotel. We will keep providing the qualified product and service. Welcome to choose our hotel again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

older hotel, nice decor, plumbing needs updating

Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Orbitz
older hotel, great location, nice decor, plumbing needs updating
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by Pacific, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel! We are always at your service! Hope you stay our hotel again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Studio City, CA

Posted Oct 24, 2017 on CheapTickets
Cons: The hotel standards need to be addressed. The amount of mold visible in the room and the public spaces was pretty unhealthy.
The Ji Jiang Pacific Hotel is a historic building that borders Shanghai's People's Square. The history and the beauty of the building was a big selling point. However, the hotel itself fails to be worth the price. Check-in process was fine, though we were unaware about a 500 yuan deposit. Very minimal English was spoken, and the bellhop expected a tip from us...even though that's not common in China. We had to usher him out of the room. The room, which unfortunately didn't face the park, was very dungeon-like and in beat-up shape. Wallpaper peeling, scratches and scuffs on all the furniture...but most of all, mold. There was mold in the bedroom and covering the bathroom. There was also mold visible in all the public areas. The room, which was advertised as non-smoking, smelled like smoke, as did all the hotel's public areas. We had a fantastic view of a stone wall out window, even though our room choice advertised a "room with a view." If you can't get a park-view room, don't even consider this hotel. The location IS fantastic, very close to Nanjing Road, literally across the street from People's Square. I really wish I could recommend this hotel due to the history, but it's simply not up to basic standards of cleanliness, maintenance or value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by Pacific, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shanghai

Posted Oct 4, 2017
The facility is aged and is not upkeep. The room I stayed in infussed a mouldy odour and was not clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good location, comfy beds, stairs to get in

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Convenient location to the metro and main shopping street of Shanghai, comfy beds.
Cons: A lift from the street to the lobby would be helpful to many guests. Air con was a bit average.
Location: Close to the metro, McDonalds & Starbucks are nearby. Close to main shopping strip of shanghai but downside is annoying people trying to sell watches.
The hotel is right across the road from exit 8 of the People's Square metro station. Once arrived there is two flights of stairs to drag your bags up, no lift to get inside. There is a very strong but pleasant smell in the lobby when you arrive. The check-in staff were prompt and efficient, after check-in someone took our bags up to the room, I thought this was good service until he laughed at the person I was travelling with and poked their stomach because they are, lets just say it, on the large side. He then delivered our bags to the room and stood around awkwardly waiting for a tip. I have never tipped anywhere outside the US and had just arrived in the country so only had 100 Yuan notes, we told him we had nothing smaller to tip him with and he stood awkwardly smiling for another minute before we said goodbye and ushered him out of the room. Once inside the room is large, comfy beds and bathroom isn't bad. The hallways smelled of cigarettes but this smell doesn't come into the rooms. The only issue we had was the housekeeping being stingy with the toilet paper. One day we finished off one toilet roll and opened the spare one, the next day they didn't replace the spare roll we had used so by the end of that day, the only roll we had ran out, we had to ring up to ask for another toilet roll which was shoved in our face as we opened the door to housekeeping. Had they just replaced the spare roll when they cleaned the room it wouldn't have been an issue.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

near mrt

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
It is a great hotel to stay. But my room floor is kinda dusty I can smell it when I entered my room. Overall the localtion is awesome. It's near mrt.
4 out of 5
by Olga

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Time travel

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel needs a serious interior makeover. Looks like the furniture, carpet and bathroom have not been updated in 20 years. The room was very damp, even though the air-con was on 24/7. In Shanghai summer, when you return soaked in sweat, that's a no-no. The staff at reception spoke almost no English and smiling was clearly not part of their training. That said, if you like to travel in time, then maybe this is for you. The lobby maintains both the old heavy fake marble decor and the smell of yesteryears. Also, the wifi technology seems to date back 20 years.
5 out of 5
by William

Great stay for Shanghai

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay, real close to the sights of Shanghai.