Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Everything was great. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great hotel for business stay

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Best for business travel with great staff and well-equipped rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2017 by Jisoo Chon, Hotel Management
Dear zhi, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Peninsula Shanghai and sharing your pleasant experience with us. Your kind compliments towards our staff and room are much appreciated and will be shared with the team. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Peninsula Shanghai very soon. Kind Regards, Jisoo Chon General Manager The Peninsula Shanghai
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Close to meeting venue

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Excellent experience, with attentive staff and great service. Definitely recommend for business.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2017 by Jisoo Chon, Hotel Management
Dear zhi, Thank you so much for choosing to stay at The Peninsula Shanghai. We are delighted to learn that the service has met up to your expectation. We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Shanghai very soon. Best Regards, Jisoo Chon General Manager The Peninsula Shanghai
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic Elegance on the Bund

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Perfect location; classic elegance
Cons: While overall the staff was great, for such an elegant and amazing hotel, I would have expected slightly better service
Location: Right on the Bund. Across the street from spectacular views of "downtown" Shanghai; walking distance to main shopping area and Yu Gardens
Elegant old-world hotel with great food and great views
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2017 by Jisoo Chon, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review and we are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant experience during your stay with us at The Peninsula Shanghai. We all hope to welcome you back to The Peninsula Shanghai in the near future. Best Regards, Jisoo Chon General Manager The Peninsula Shanghai
5 out of 5
by Robin

One of my favorite hotel ANYWHERE!

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
We spent 4 nights at the The Peninsula Shanghai in a Deluxe River View Suite. This is only my second time to stay at The Peninsula Shanghai, but I have to say it is one of my favorite hotels anywhere! Our suite was large, over 1000sqft, with great views over the Bund, river and to the skyscrapers of Pudong. But more importantly, the level of detail in the design, execution, maintenance, comfort and service are the best I've ever experienced. I also find that staying along the Bund is a big plus as a tourist, compared to staying across the river in Pudong. Yes, there are many nice hotels in Pudong, but overall, the Bund area seems much more walkable and interesting. The indoor swimming pool was clean, beautiful and never crowded during our stay. Wifi was very good, although remember that you usually can't access Google/gmail from within China. As for the neighborhood and getting around the city: there are tons of museums, parks, shops, restaurants, coffee shops and even large malls all within easy walking distance of the hotel. And we also found using Didi (the Chinese equivalent of Uber) very easy and convenient to use. Just download the Didi app and select English as the language. It now accepts credit cards from several countries, including the US, UK, France and others. I mention Didi because we found them to be MUCH cleaner than the taxis. And their 'Premier' car class was always very clean, nice and inexpensive compared to US and UK taxi/Uber options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2017
Dear Robin, Thanks so much for your generous compliments towards our service, location and room facilities. It is my pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at The Peninsula Shanghai. Your review shall be shared with our entire team and I am very certain that this review will be a great motivation for all of us. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Shanghai in the near future. Best Regards, Jisoo Chon General Manager The Peninsula Shanghai
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Hotel Ever

Posted Sep 26, 2017
The Peninsula in Shaghai is flat out the best hotel in the world. I put laundry in the convenient room box for pickup at 2:00am and found it returned and PERFECT at 6:30am.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Jisoo Chon, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for the pleasant review of your experience at The Peninsula Shanghai. I am delighted to know that our hotel met up to your expectations. We appreciate your comment on your overall impression of us, especially the laundry service. We will definitely share your encouraging review with all of our staff here at The Peninsula Shanghai. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Peninsula Shanghai very soon. Best Regards, Jisoo Chon General Manager The Peninsula Shanghai
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastbourne, East Sussex

This hotel is absolutely amazing!

Posted Jun 18, 2017
Pros: See above. The design, style, staff and service, roof terrace bar, room sizes and quality, location, quality of food.
Cons: Nothing that we came across. It wasn't cheap, but value for money when you compare what you would pay for this in other parts of the globe
Location: Near the Bund. Great views across to the incredible Shanghai skyline particularly at night.
This hotel is just simply fabulous. 1. The design is great in 'art deco' style. 2. Staff were so friendly and helpful. It really counted that we were residents and got great tables via Concierge two nights running at the 12th floor terrace bar. This hasn't always been the case on our travels 3. Food was fabulous. Breakfast had great choices with really top quality food. The blueberry pancakes were just to die for along with the Eggs Benedict 4. The view of the Shanghai terrace bar was just incredible. This has to be the world's best skyline at night. We went to New York last year and this just knocks spots off it..... 5. Room was lovely. Very spacious and had a great system for controlling everything from air con to radio to lighting system etc. The toiletries are great (Oscar de la Renta). Like most guests i'm sure a few found their way back to England and when we use them it just transports us back to Shanghai! 6. Location is great. It's just 5 minutes walk, if that from the Bund, which is the main thoroughfare on the river that most tourists go to. Everything about this place just oozes absolute quality. It's grand but does not have the stuffiness and formality of some of the grand London hotels.I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anybody staying in Shanghai. I read somewhere that it has been voted best Asian city hotel two years running and this doesn't surprise me at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Jisoo Chon, Hotel Management
Dear Malcolm, Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely detailed review of your experience with us. I am very pleased to learn that we met up to your expectations during your stay at The Peninsula Shanghai. We appreciate your comment on your overall impression of us. We will definitely share your encouraging review with all of our staff here at The Peninsula Shanghai. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Peninsula Shanghai in the near future. Kind Regards, Jisoo Chon General Manager The Peninsula Shanghai
4 out of 5
by Mark H

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful style with spetecular river view.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Style, service, cleaniness.
Cons: More bottled water in the room.
Location: Walking along the bund. Eating at numerous fine dining restaurants on the bund.
The hotel staff was very helpful. The room was very comfortable with adjustable lighting, which gives very romantic atmosphere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Jisoo Chon, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It is gratifying to learn that you’ve had a pleasant experience during your stay with us at The Peninsula Shanghai. Your kind compliments regarding our service, location and room are much appreciated and will certainly be shared with the team. We also duly noted you comment about needing more bottled water in the room which are readily available through our Housekeeping department upon request. Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review and we hope to welcome you back to The Peninsula Shanghai in the future. Best regards, Jisoo Chon General Manager The Peninsula Shanghai
5 out of 5
by Robert

Elegant, Sophisticated Modern Comforts

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
This was the best hotel we experienced in our almost month long foray in Asia. It was roomy, clean, bright and super luxurious. The linens and bed were SO comfortable. The staff was friendly, professional and extremely accommodating. The in room coffee and tea service was nice, and the suite (which our accompanying friends upgraded to) even had a nespresso machine! When we booked, we debated on whether or not we would be able to justify such a room, being that we were going to be out touring Shanghai so much of the time. But it was well worth it. The view of the night skyline, the quiet beautiful surroundings, the walk-in closet with dressing room- they all made it WELL WORTH THE PRICE! When we got to Hong Kong, I found myself wishing I had booked at the Peninsula there as well! I recommend this hotel completely without hesitation!