Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastbourne, East Sussex

This hotel is absolutely amazing!

Posted Jun 18, 2017
Pros: See above. The design, style, staff and service, roof terrace bar, room sizes and quality, location, quality of food.
Cons: Nothing that we came across. It wasn't cheap, but value for money when you compare what you would pay for this in other parts of the globe
Location: Near the Bund. Great views across to the incredible Shanghai skyline particularly at night.
This hotel is just simply fabulous. 1. The design is great in 'art deco' style. 2. Staff were so friendly and helpful. It really counted that we were residents and got great tables via Concierge two nights running at the 12th floor terrace bar. This hasn't always been the case on our travels 3. Food was fabulous. Breakfast had great choices with really top quality food. The blueberry pancakes were just to die for along with the Eggs Benedict 4. The view of the Shanghai terrace bar was just incredible. This has to be the world's best skyline at night. We went to New York last year and this just knocks spots off it..... 5. Room was lovely. Very spacious and had a great system for controlling everything from air con to radio to lighting system etc. The toiletries are great (Oscar de la Renta). Like most guests i'm sure a few found their way back to England and when we use them it just transports us back to Shanghai! 6. Location is great. It's just 5 minutes walk, if that from the Bund, which is the main thoroughfare on the river that most tourists go to. Everything about this place just oozes absolute quality. It's grand but does not have the stuffiness and formality of some of the grand London hotels.I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anybody staying in Shanghai. I read somewhere that it has been voted best Asian city hotel two years running and this doesn't surprise me at all.
4 out of 5
by Mark H

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful style with spetecular river view.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Style, service, cleaniness.
Cons: More bottled water in the room.
Location: Walking along the bund. Eating at numerous fine dining restaurants on the bund.
The hotel staff was very helpful. The room was very comfortable with adjustable lighting, which gives very romantic atmosphere.
5 out of 5
by Robert

Elegant, Sophisticated Modern Comforts

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
This was the best hotel we experienced in our almost month long foray in Asia. It was roomy, clean, bright and super luxurious. The linens and bed were SO comfortable. The staff was friendly, professional and extremely accommodating. The in room coffee and tea service was nice, and the suite (which our accompanying friends upgraded to) even had a nespresso machine! When we booked, we debated on whether or not we would be able to justify such a room, being that we were going to be out touring Shanghai so much of the time. But it was well worth it. The view of the night skyline, the quiet beautiful surroundings, the walk-in closet with dressing room- they all made it WELL WORTH THE PRICE! When we got to Hong Kong, I found myself wishing I had booked at the Peninsula there as well! I recommend this hotel completely without hesitation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Orbitz
Cons: not enough electrical charge plugs for the business traveller. Especially at the deak
the electrical socket on the deak was faulty so when I plugged my laptop in for the night I found out in the morning no power! UGG!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Warm friendly staff and a great hotel!

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Always a great stay at the Peninsula!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cairo, egypt

The best hotel in the world

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Location, design , staff, views, concierge service, food, lobby music ....every thing.
Cons: Wifi
Location: Any thing you want is there around you.
From the moment you arrive you will be pampered like you're a King. Every request is honoured in seconds. You are not given a chance to complain about any thing, they solve it before you even think about it. The room design & amenities are out of this world..magical. The swimming pool & spa are regal. Certainly the best thing in Shanghai is the Peninsula hotel. You will feel very sad leaving this wonderful stay, they make sure that every moment of your stay is really enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by BERRICK

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Alfonso from venezuela

100% recomended

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
My stay was amazing good, i always stay at the peninsula for their great standard of service.