Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
We did have minor issues with communicating a food allergy to wheat given that wheat is in soy sauce, but got there eventually
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, BETTER staff (Tom and Stella)

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: Clean, great service, excellent concierge.
Cons: Went to the 1st floor restaurant while we were ill. The staff who took our order was informed said nothing about their big portions. Food was wasted.
Location: About 50 minutes away from Tongkou, the bottom of Yellow Mountain. Not much around the hotel but the staff is excellent at trip planning for guests.
We went to Yellow Mountain for 3 days and stayed at the Crown Plaza, which is about an hour away from Yellow Mountain. The hotel staff is very knowledgeable about the area and are excellent at arranging transportations that will make your travel smooth. The best part came with the worse. My family came down with food poisoning (not related to the hotel). We called the concierge close to mid-night asking for assistance as a few of us were feeling VERY VERY ill. The hotel staff actually went to the local pharmacy and picked up medication for us, and their assistance made the world of difference. BIG thanks goes out to concierge staff TOM and STELLA for their excellent service and making our trip easier (and feeling better!). Would definitely stay here again if I go back to Yellow Mountain area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2016 by Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your choosing and stay with us, also thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to learn that you were satisfied with our hotel, especially our great service and excellent concierge, it's our pleasure to bring you satisfaction and convenience, we will absolutely share your praise with Tom and Stella, as well as all the hotel staff; meanwhile we are sorry for the restaurant service didn’t meet your expectation, we have recorded your opinion and let the relevant department follow up with action. Thank you again and we are sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng in the near future. Happy New Year to you and your family!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely, large hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: The decor was beautiful, and the staff was helpful. The breakfast buffet was spectacular!
Cons: There appeared to be some level of video surveillance in the main lobby restroom- very uncomfortable.
The lobby of the hotel is expansive and beautiful, and our room was nicely appointed, clean, and comfortable. Staff at the main front desk were pleasant and spoke English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel.

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Location: We did not explore the city, but think there could be some good stuff. We really just used it the day before and the day after our visit to Huangshan
We stayed here in between going to Huangshan. The staff was friendly, spoke English well and was very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2015 by Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Comfortable room, great service
Cons: More English-speaking staff members
Location: 15 minutes from the airport, 1 hour from the south entrance of Huangshan National Park
The staff went out of their way to make my stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The concierge even helped me get a refund when the local hot spring establishment would not let me use their facilities. The hot spring staff thought my board shorts and tankini was too revealing for the males that would be sharing the indoor hot spring facilities!...Only a handful of staff at the hotel speak English. But, with their help and some creative ways of communicating with the other staff members, it is manageable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel for Huangshan

Posted Feb 6, 2015
We were most impressed by the helpful staff. Concierge supervisor Joy was very responsive and a pleasure to work with before we arrived. He arranged for our transportation from arrival to departure at Hangzhou airport with a good price for hotel limo. Rooms are spacious and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by john from new york city

Comfortable base

Posted May 29, 2014
The Crowne Plaza is a great place to stay while exploring Huangshan and environs. Clean spacious rooms, free wifi, at reasonable rates. Definitely recommend. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by michael from singapore

Pleasing stay

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: The ambience, room, staff and surrounding scenery for a stroll.
Cons: Separation of floor level for tour group ( tends to be noisy ) from free and easy travelers.
Location: Really not much except nice scenery. There are convenience shops nearby to buy everyday necessities. For me, it's a quiet and nice resting place
The location is slightly out of the way . However the ambience and room more than make up for this small inconvenience . The staff are most accommodating and the location ( whilst slightly outside the Main Street ) is actually a very pleasant place to stroll after a nice meal. On the food, although the selection was limited, it is very tasty and appetizing A great place to rest after climbing the mountains. I highly recommend this hotel to all discerning travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from Houston, TX

Nicest Crowne Plaza Ever

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Luxurious rooms, excellent value, helpful staff
Cons: Expensive food
Location: Tunxi, near Huangshan Mountain
We stayed here for one night on the way to Huangshan Mountain (Yellow Mountain). The Crowne Plaza in Tunxi was an unexpected delight. The lobby is gorgeous and the rooms were extremely nice, on par or better than most 5-star hotels (perhaps a level below the Park Hyatt or Conrad, but for a fraction of the price). I recommend storing your luggage here and just taking a backpack to the mountain if you plan to stay overnight since it is a fairly long and vigorous hike/stair climb (about 1-3 hours, depending on whether you use the tram). Note: the cost of hiring a car to take you to the mountain was not trivial and everything on the mountain is pricey, but worth it. The service at the front desk and concierge was excellent. The was also pricey (I think we were steered toward the most expensive restaurant on the premises). The quality of dinner was better than breakfast, which is a large buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia area

A real gem

Posted Jun 1, 2013
Great breakfast buffet, as well as the dinner buffet. There was a very large selection of western and chinese dishes. Would highly recommend it. The concierge was very knowledgeable and help us organize a trip to the Yellow Mountains.