Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap, but frustrating

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels
It's nice to be so close to the mountain so you can get it in and out easily. However the staff refused to call a taxi for us to get around town, instead forcing us to call their (unlicensed) friends, who of course charged significantly more. Clearly a racket to take advantage of foreigners and wildly unethical for any paid hotel staff. The manager said he would look into this.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Descent rooms, but know your business.

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels
It is a comforting convenience for a Chinese hotel operator to speak English well, but at a certain point it is also a red flag. He was open enough that I quickly found out that he considers himself to be a Republican and not a fan of John Boehner--not what I traveled to Huangshan to hear. Also, he talks fast and will start making plans for you if you're not careful. There is dining on site (you'll find him there as well) at severely inflated prices. Fortunately local dining is nearby, but it requires a 15 minute walk through their completely unlit driveway and along the highway (bring a flashlight). They offer shuttle to Huangshan Gates. The girl at the front desk said the first bus was at 6am. The next morning we found out that the first shuttle actually left at 3am. So if we ignored her advice, we could have seen sunrise at the mountain. Also the breakfast offered was sub-par--by Western or Chinese standards.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ideal location for Mt. Huangshan Vacation

Posted Oct 4, 2013 on Hotels
Great location, very convenient to local points of interest. Owner is very friendly, speaks very good English and will help arrange transportation to any of the local attractions. He even arranged a vehicle for us at 4:30am to the train station 57 km away. The hotel restaurant is quite good, offering both traditional Chinese food and California style Chinese food, and is also affordable. If you are looking for an opportunity to meet and interact with other international travellers, this hotel is a great choice. The outdoor common areas provide a relaxed atmosphere that promotes mingling of guests. We would definitely stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kah from Sydney Australia

Country atmosphere - peaceful and quiet.

Posted Jul 8, 2013
This is the old forest research station located just outside the main southern entrance into the Yellow Mountain Parks. A very quiet and pleasant location but not within walking distance to the town near by. Hotel provides free ride to bus station for taking buses into the Yellow Mountain national park. Limited choice of food at on site restaurant. Very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good budget hotel with good service!

Posted Jun 25, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is located at the southern gate of huangshan entrance. It is near the big lcd tv screen and the new tourist infomation center which is not in operation yet. Got good breakfast! Good enough for budget singaporean. The service by the breakfast auntie is excellent and the hotel counter lady gave good advice for climbing the mountain.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mel

Good hostel

Posted May 4, 2013
Pros: Staff, food, scenery location.
Cons: The bathroom layout is weird, good for couples but if you are traveling with a friend or a relative keep in mind that the bathroom have a clear glass.
Location: Not close to tankou but they provide free ride if u need go. Beautiful scenery around the hotel.
We stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed it, the girl on the reception was very helpful her English is not so good but just have patience and you will understand her fine. Or you can call Wen the owner if you have problems understanding them, he speaks english. Food is really good. You can book tours with them to the ancient villages. They provide you with a map for the yellow mountain hike which is helpful.Make sure you stayed on the Mt. at least one night preferable two, you can store your luggage at pine ridge for free is totally save. Overall our stayed was very pleasant!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location and Friendliness

Posted Apr 28, 2013 on Hotels
The location was ideal for a night's rest before heading up to Huangshan. Just a few minutes to the mountain shuttle bus stop, and the hotel drives you there for free. The place is set up like a camp, with dining and breakfast rooms in different buildings, and some rooms away from the lodge. WiFi only in the main Lodge. The rooms are very basic but decent for a night. It was fun to meet and get tips from other travelers over dinner and breakfast. The staff speaks very limited English but everyone seemed to figure things out eventually. When coming back down the mountain a couple of days later, I needed get to Tunxi but the shuttle bus just dropped me off at the side of the road. Luckily it was near the Lodge. I walked back to the Lodge, and the receptionist was so nice that she actually call the Tunxi bus to come get me. Thank you! (By the way, a modern new tourist office and teahouse will soon open right across the creek from the Lodge. No doubt this will make the Lodge more popular.)
4 out of 5
by Karen

Good base for Huangshan Mountain

Posted Apr 10, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is right next to the entrance to the park and the hotel owners are very helpful in providing information and transport. The bathroom was very small but the room was fine and we had delicious freshly made food in the tiny restaurant on site. The mountain was beautiful but you need a head for heights!
1 out of 5
by Anne

Would not recommend it!

Posted Jan 24, 2013 on Hotels
I booked a double graden view room and I got two twin beds put together. It was freezing cold in the room as the heater on the wall was too small to warm up the room. Bathroom was very small. Just basics, hot water worked- only lasts for 10 mins and the tank takes 30 mins to be ready. There was a pungent sting in the bathroom that would not go away. Overall bad accomodation. The breakfast was one small bowl of rice porride with one boiled egg and half salted fermented egg and a cup of tea and soy milk. Service was not there. I booked a bus through the hotel to go to shanghai and I repeatedly confirmed before booking that it was a direct bus from the town to shanghai. I took the bus at 6:50. The bus then went through small towns and eventually stopped at a gas station and swapped us to a small, worn down, disgusting local bus. We paid 140 yuan for an express air conditioned coach to shanghai. It was a long 9 hour bus ride back with people throwing up, smoking and spitting. We got ripped off as the ticket for the bus we got should have been 85 yuan, I paid 140. She sold us an unofficial bus. We got up early for our paid breakfast which we didn't get. The resturant within the hotel is very good.
5 out of 5
by Maxine

Amazing service

Posted Jan 6, 2013 on Hotels
I recently stayed at Pine Ridge Lodge just after the New Year and was truly impressed. The service we received was out of this world. The hotel arranged all the shuttle pick-ups from our arrival destination on the bus (which would have been super confusing without their help considering my friend and I don't speak Mandarin) and they gave us a map for Huangshan and told us about all the best things to see once we were on the mountain. They also explained how the prices worked and provided us with discounts where they could. It was amazing. Also, if you're in the area I would suggest going to the hot springs. Soooooo nice there! I will definitely be going back to the Tangkou/Huangshan area and will stay at the same hotel 100%. Enjoy!