Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Agua Azul - Master the art of ultimate Relaxation

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Spectacular common room & 30 foot diameter palapa ceiling features stunning views of the ocean in a framed setting of the bay & surrounding hills
Location: A short 10-15 min walk away, through the forest is a long and beautiful stretch of pristine beach area. It is well worth the walk.
Agua Azul la Villa - Master the art of ultimate Relaxation Magnificent, magical, wonderful are just a few descriptors to describe our stay at Agua Azul la Villa. With its breath taking views of the Pacific, this is no ordinary B&B. Brooke and Rick make you feel truly welcome and add to the specialness of the Blue Water house. It's almost like visiting with good friends, but you have your own private and separate room on different levels with spacious terrace, palapa and wonderful ocean views. In essence your own private oasis. If you're tired of the impersonality of the all inconclusive and want something truly unique, memorable and special and want to relax in a tranquil and serene setting with stunning ocean views, you must try Agua Azul la Villa. The real differentiator is how helpful and great Brooke and Rick are in making your stay a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Huatulco is my new favourite spot in Mexico. Charming, friendly, safe with a great variety of restaurants and with many things to do. Highly recommend and would come back in a heartbeat. Overall rating 5++ out of 5. Brooke and Rick and their awesome dog Tango are absolutely wonderful and gracious hosts. They are perfectly fluent in English and Spanish and truly make you feel welcome and ensure you enjoy your stay. One of the advantages is they can offer a wide range of advice as it relates to restaurants, tours and things to do and can help you arrange these for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maple Ridge BC

Better than home away from home

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: everything
I can't say enough about this place. Comfortable, clean, relaxing and the grounds are gorgeous. Close enough to all the sights, yet you feel tucked away in your own little paradise. Brooke and Rick make you feel welcome the minute you walk in the door, as does their dog, Tango. They serve the best coffee in town and a delicious breakfast that gives you a good start to your day. I would highly recommend Agua Azul la Villa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Aqua Azul la Villa is unique

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: The tranquility and the warmth of the hosts.
Location: The location is outside the town centre but it's a short ride by taxi which arrives almost instantly. Cheap as well. No trouble getting back either.
This is a very special B&B because the hosts are so caring that you feel as if you have just visited friends when you leave. This Canadian couple has lived there many years, built the business up themselves, and speaks Spanish. They participate in the community and know what is going on. Guests go back year after year; that speaks for itself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Great hosts, great room. Stunning views.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Really enjoyed staying here. Wonderful hosts. Pool is fab, especially when the sun goes down. Lovely, lovely hidden beach a short walk away - hosts gave us directions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC, USA

Relaxing Stay at a Beautiful Location

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Water pressure in the shower Private beach Gorgeous facilities
Cons: Breakfast would have been perfect if there was some protein, like eggs. The fruit and coffee were good though.
Loved our stay at Agua Azul la Villa. Rick and Brooke were lovely hosts. We had the best water pressure out of all the places we stayed in Mexico ;) The bed and breakfast itself was gorgeous. This is away from the city, so not close to stuff but that's exactly what we wanted. It's not hard to get a cab in though. The private beach was our favorite part, we were out there for about 4 hours and had the whole beach to ourselves! Would recommend if you're looking for a relaxing stay after the hustle and bustle of a city.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing in Huatulco

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed the views, chatting with Brooke &Rick, playing with Tango and the day pass beach day at Celeste. We highly recommend the day at Celeste, ask Brooke about it, and be sure to enjoy the fish strips/ ceviche......it was outstanding! It makes our mouth water just to think about it. Otherwise the beach is far, and you need a cab to get to town and other bahias.
5 out of 5
by Alex from Minneapolis, MN

Gorgeous, private, and quiet.

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
We had the best time staying at Agua Azul. Richard and Brooke were very welcoming, and Tango (the hotel pet) was a joy to be around. Breakfast was delicious each morning. The views from the hotel are great. There are two beaches within a five to ten minute walk from the B&B. One beach is a free virgin beach that requires a little bit of a hike through a semi rugged trail (not too vigorous) - we visited this beach on one of the days, and it was beautiful; we didn't see any other people on that beach for the five hours we were there. The second beach is privatized and charges an entry fee, but the majority of the entry fee is given back to you as a credit to use for food or beverages - it's definitely worth it. It ends up being about $400 pesos per person, but that gets you quite a bit - and the beach is gorgeous. Another great thing about the B&B is that you have 24 hr access to the pool - which I feel like never happens at hotels anymore. Lastly, you will need to take cabs everywhere from the B&B, but cabs show up within minutes of calling. Cabs to town cost about $50 pesos, and cabs to the airport will run you about $250 pesos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Agua Azul: Great Place to stay

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: location, friendliness
Location: one has to call a (rather cheap) taxi to go places, except the hidden beach. Huatulco is like that.
Very friendly and helpful hosts! Great breakfast, beautiful location, access to a secret beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B with good ocean view

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels
This is a B&B and not a hotel, make no mistake about that. There is a large dog that frequents the common area. If you have an issue with that, book elsewhere. The place is nice and secure within a gated community. There really is a nice ocean view. For planning purposes, be aware that a taxi or private car will be required to go to most destinations as there is little to nothing available within walking distance for dining and shopping. In December 2014, the taxi fare from the B&B to the main center of town was 50 pesos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

All what we expected & more

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Personal attention from owners, excellent breakfast with nice talk, my longest time period without watching TV!
Cons: I'd say it is well ok the way it is.
Location: Great view of the Bahia de Conejos, visit various types of beaches, tours to coffee plantations, get very good sea food at reasonable prices
We spent four nights in the hotel to revisit some places we visited long time ago when we got married and almost nothing was yet built in the area. The place has a beautiful view of the Bahia de Conejos and we really found it to be a great place to rest and go outside for sightseeing. We got a couple of days with sun even if weather forecast did not show that. An interesting restful alternative to other "noisier" resort destinations in Mexico.