Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Overall a pleasant and well run hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: The pool at the hotel was nice as was the pool at the beach club. The beach was nice but rather un swimmer le most of the time.
Cons: The hotel needs todo a better job of supplying drinking water.
Location: Location good, the beach at Santa Cruz is nice and the water calm. Lots of places to eat in Santa Cruz and at La Crucicita in town.
We stayed a week and enjoyed our stay for the most part. The hotel is well run and the staff are helpful. Unfortunately we were there over a long weekend when the hotel was full and it was very noisy. The restaurant has concrete walls and hard surfaces everywhere so the noise bounces around the room. It was not enjoyable to eat there but luckily we had a breakfast only plan so we were eating lunch and dinner outside the hotel. The beach club is nice but the surf is strong at Chahue beach and the red flag was flying during most of our stay. My biggest complaint is that there was no drinking water available most of the time unless you were willing to pay for bottled water. The maids rarely left bottled water in the room. Come on Hotel Castillo! You need to have a big jug of water available for your guests and it would be cheaper and greener than the 500 ml bottles of water you are currently supplying. I've travelled a lot around Mexico and a water cooler in the lobby of the hotel for guests to help themselves is standard. Plus it costs the hotel next to nothing to supply it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saylorsburg, PA

Clean, friendly hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Small, friendly and clean! Good Food!
Cons: Cushions on the lounge chairs. Thats it. I would not change anything else
Location: I like being close to marina and far enough away from town even though it never gets too loud anywhere
This is my 3rd time at the hotel. It's always clean and the staff always go out of their way to make sure your happy! When in Huatulco, I'll always stay at the Hotel Castillo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Huatulco vacation

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Good value
Cons: Sewer smell
Location: Good, safe location. Near marina and restaurants
Dated facility, but friendly staff, good food and nice beach club. Decent value, but not a resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2017 by Luis G. Ramírez, Hotel Management
thank you for staying with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cortes Island, BC

Wonderful, small resort hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Luis, the hotel manager, and Nestor, the food and entertainment manager, were both excellent. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Location: Excursion services, buses, and taxis were easily accessible. Restaurants and shopping right in Santa Cruz.
We found the staff and managers were all exceptional, and they addressed any questions or concerns immediately. We were first placed in a room facing onto the boulevard, which we found too noisy. When we asked to be transferred to a room facing the pool and inner courtyard, we were moved immediately. They had musical entertainment at least twice a week, plus a big fiesta once per week - and we thoroughly enjoyed them all. We liked the fact that the hotel visitors were comprised of about 70% Mexicans and 30% Canadians. It was small enough that we were able to make friends quickly, which greatly added to the enjoyment of our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay...no complaints!

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
Clean and well kept property. Friendly, hard working, helpful staff. It is a little "vintage" and could use some updating. Well priced and good location. Has a restaurant and meal plan options, but we preferred trying other restaurants as well. Very nice beach nearby. Local entertainment was provided a few evenings. Internet wasn't reliable at times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much! It is good you have a goos time...about internet we will work on that... see you soon! Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB , CANADA

Location & Value!

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Everything! The Beach Club is one of the high points.
Cons: Not according to me..
Location: Central location allows lots of choices ... including using local transport. Walkable to town: La Crucecite, as well!
This is the third time I have had the pleasure to stay at this hotel. Good location ... value for your money ... excellent food .. rooms offer variety and choices for different -sized parties of travellers. Clean & very well managed!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
thanks for yoo like our parties at the garden, beach club... every day we do our best to give you a better service Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Nice and quiet

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Staff really good very attentive and helful food was great different menus
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B.C.

Beach club was the redeeming feature

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: The Chahue Beach Club
Cons: Rooms definitely need fans. The air conditioner makes the room smell of mould and mildew. Having a room fan would have made a huge improvement.
Location: the location is great. Right beside the new walkway into town. Good places to eat nearby and close to beach
Hotel staff were pleasant. The Beach Club at Chahue beach was very nice on the ocean and also had a great pool with an excellent shuttle service from hotel to beach. We were disappointed that the beach club did not have a designated smoking and non smoking area. The only non smoking areas at the hotel were in your room or the dining room. It made it very difficult to find somewhere to sit as there was always someone in front or behind or beside you that smoked. One day the fogger (fumigator) came through the hotel spraying smoke through the kitchen halls and grounds. Some people had been left notices but a number had not. We realize it is necessary but they should have made a better effort to let us know.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Clean and comfortable

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Clean and comfortable best describes our room. The staff were friendly and spoke English well. The things lacking, such as extra toilet paper, washcloths, facial tissue, and easily available ice, may be a cultural thing, not sure. Otherwise, good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatchewan, Canada

Great Staff, Great Service, Great Room

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: The hotel was for us centrally located and very well kept. Walking distance to many spots.
Location: Beaches are nearby, shopping and eating establishments are all close.
The front desk staff @ the Hotel Castillo are second to none, the maids are amazing and the grounds keepers keep the place immaculate. It has it's own private beach with a shuttle every 1/2 hour. A 15 minute walk to the Super Che grocery store. A 15 minute walk on a just completed wonderful walkway cut out through the mountain into La Crececita where there are many, many restaurants to choose from. Centrally located to visit other beaches with cheap cab fares to get there. It is an all inclusive establishment but we only took the breakfast (good) and foraged for suppers averaging $40.00 for 2. Very little NA influence and very ethnically Mexican. Loved it!