Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Great Hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: The people who worked at this hotel were amazing. The facility is beautiful and at a great location with a lot to do around it.
Cons: The shower pressure in our room was low, but other than that I have no complaints.
Location: There are a lot of shops nearby and tourist restaurants.
My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights, 4 days for our anniversary/husband's birthday. The included breakfasts were good, coffee was amazing. The pools were nice, the staff was friendly. The only issues that we had was that our shower pressure was very low, and the bed wasn't the easiest to sleep on after having a day of complete activity that was already making my body sore on its own. On our first night, when we hadn't done any activities, the bed was fine. Oh and if you don't do well with stairs let them know that at check in. This is not a hotel with elevators, and we were on the 4th floor. Also, side shout out. We were told by a waitress at the brunch about a gentleman, named Silvano, who does do boat tours to different beaches for a lot less than you can purchase anywhere online. For a private tour we paid 1500 pesos (about $84 usd) and we left at 10:30 am and returned around 5:30 pm. We went to 7 different beaches (at least 3 virgin beaches which you cannot get to by land and must take a boat to), he had fishing poles with which we did some deep sea fishing and caught some fish, and this also included the use of snorkeling gear along with him taking us to see some of the reefs. He also said that if you were alright with him finding other customers for a group tour the cost was about 300 pesos (about $17 usd) and you could rent the snorkeling equipment. It was an absolutely incredible experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

location was great, everything else just okay...

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Pros: Location, price
Cons: I understand I am in Mexico, but you have to have staff in there that speaks some English. I don't speak Spanish very well but I also don't own ahotel
Location: good location, easy walk to the beach and it was nice seeing the cruise ship at port.
Wasn't expecting a lot I feel the price was pretty good. I like to walk around and see the city that I'm staying in so the hotel is typically not that important to me. Nobody spoke English in the hotel at all, I had to have the taxi driver come in and help me communicate with the staff when I first got there. Also the roaches were pretty bad, but when I told the staff they took care of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Beautiful view across from the Marina.

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Clean, proximity to everything.
Cons: The pool area is small but we never went as we enjoyed the many beaches!
Location: The center of town is walking or quick taxi ride. Lots of great restaurants nearby. The Marina Hotel offered free breakfast which was very easy.
I think this hotel is underrated by silly people who don't understand what a gorgeous place this is and the excellent infra structure of the town. It is authentic; kind wonderful Mexican people and just a very great place for eating, sunning and visiting some of the many beaches it offers. The only negative people would be those far less traveled and expecting Mexico to be Kansas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Villa, Illinois

Great value for the money, excellent location

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Great View, price, attentive staff, looks classy from the outside, clean rooms, spacious rooms, double pool plus hot tub
Cons: The breakfast buffet was not good when crowds of people were there, but it was excellent the next day there was a table service breakfast.
Location: many fun adventure activities, snorkeling, rafting, ecological park, shopping, exploring.
The hotel looks like a very classy 4 star hotel from the outside. Our room was a triple suite-two full rooms with kitchen counter and table, sink, but no fridge. Fantastic view of the harbor from our room. The room was clean, and the pool area was clean and well attended. On the morning of our first full day, the hotel must have been hosting a large event, and the buffet breakfast was terrible, it was crowded no tables to be found, food almost gone, no servers to be found, bees swarming around the food. The second day, I couldn't believe it was the same place. No crowds at all, and a charming first class breakfast was served at the table by an attentive waiter. We had a few requests while we were there, and all were attended to in a short order. Everything was was a short walking distance or a very cheap cab ride away. No English was spoken at the desk, but if you didn't speak Spanish like some of my traveling companions, the staff figured out how to serve their needs. The place was very quiet and we slept well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It is what you would expect of a 3 start hotel.

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Cons: Lower price
Its an average hotel, its a 3 start and thats what you would get, for a hotel in Mexico its like all the other hotels in Hautulco, overpriced, you could get the same or better in the US for this price and certainly better internet. Its well managed and staff is courteous and kind.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice but needs updates

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Cons: Rooms need to be updated, looks to depressing needs more lively colors and bathrooms need remodeling.
Hotel was in a good location, staff and restaurant was very nice but rooms need to be updated, bathrooms need some remodeling, specially the showers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta Canada

Room with oceanview and pool view

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: View and breaky at the restaurant. And was not too noisy
Cons: Wifi on upper floors could be stronger
Location: There's two beaches within walking distance, also shopping for souvenirs close at pier, but cruise ship stops there weekly, so haggle for a good deal.
We stayed a week, really enjoyed the quiet hotel. We had a view of the ocean and pool off our balcony. There are two pools, restaurant which included breakfast daily in our rate. Short walk to the town centre ( La Cruecita ). Our breakfast was very substantial, giving customers a few choices.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Total disappointment!

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: EVERYTHING from maintenance to the rooms and common areas to the pool area....They need to have a MAJOR clean-up session!!!
Location: Perfect location right on the marina
We booked a 'triple suite' and I believe we've the worst triple suite you could ever imagine. The location was prime but nothing else. I am super disappointed with the condition of the room, dirty floors and walls, moldy smell, ripped shower curtain, missing doors in the kitchen cabinets, dirty glass tabletop, stained chairs, stained and ripped beach towels, beach area dirty and poorly maintained, no guest parking, and the list goes on and on.... Marina Resort is URGENTLY in need of maintenance and/or renovation and needs to keep up with the new resorts around the area. Won't stay there ever again!!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Old Hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Although the staff was friendly and the location is great because it is literally right across the marina, the hotel rooms are poorly maintained. Our room's bathroom had holes in the ceiling in which lizards ran in and out of. The room was uncomfortable to stay in because it seemed crowded. There are better hotels for better rates nearby that are closer to the beaches.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego CA.

Bed Bugs, roaches and lack of maintenance

Posted Jun 25, 2014
The location and the view is great but....our reservation included breakfast wich they didnt provide. Bugs everywhere, cable TV didn't work, restroom light out, huge shower leak, I requested another room and guess what! Same issues. I requested a refund but they denied.