Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Not going back.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pools were dirty. No regard for adult only pool. Ice charges were all over the place. Who charges for 8 ice cubes anyway? Children and adults screaming and slamming doors from 6am until midnight. The step down into the filthy tub was dangerous. Don't even go into the hot tub. The staff are not at all happy so us as clients were treated poorly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Close to everything, exelent for the cheap price! Nice air conditioner, clean and good service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location, great views, worth the money!

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Location was great!
Hotel Marina Resort pretty much lived up to our expectations. It is in a quiet location within close walking distance to the beach, restaurants, convenience stores, anything you'll ever need. The hotel staff doesn't speak much English; one can probably get by, but everything is much smoother and better understood in Spanish. We were first given room 202, a room in need of upgrades. The bathroom was setup in such a way that even with the shower curtain closed, water would soak everything outside the shower. On top of that, the secondary drain on the bathroom floor to get rid of all this water wasn't working so the water made it outside the bathroom and onto the bedroom floor. We made this known to the staff and were given a new room (623) the next day which was much better and had no problems. Breakfast included with the room rate is pretty basic but worth it in my opinion. You get coffee, a choice of eggs, bread, and either fruit or fruit juice. The swimming pools are nice, clean, and large in size. The hotel provides towels to use at the pool and/or the beach. Note that this hotel has no elevators, only stairs. All of the staff was very nice and helpful. They fixed the issue with our room with no real problems. I would definitely stay here again if in Huatulco.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha

Not Recommended

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Orbitz
This hotel is very dated, no elevator, ant problem in my room, and no one on staff speaks Elglish. Pictures of this hotel do not tell the story.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Great Hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: The people who worked at this hotel were amazing. The facility is beautiful and at a great location with a lot to do around it.
Cons: The shower pressure in our room was low, but other than that I have no complaints.
Location: There are a lot of shops nearby and tourist restaurants.
My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights, 4 days for our anniversary/husband's birthday. The included breakfasts were good, coffee was amazing. The pools were nice, the staff was friendly. The only issues that we had was that our shower pressure was very low, and the bed wasn't the easiest to sleep on after having a day of complete activity that was already making my body sore on its own. On our first night, when we hadn't done any activities, the bed was fine. Oh and if you don't do well with stairs let them know that at check in. This is not a hotel with elevators, and we were on the 4th floor. Also, side shout out. We were told by a waitress at the brunch about a gentleman, named Silvano, who does do boat tours to different beaches for a lot less than you can purchase anywhere online. For a private tour we paid 1500 pesos (about $84 usd) and we left at 10:30 am and returned around 5:30 pm. We went to 7 different beaches (at least 3 virgin beaches which you cannot get to by land and must take a boat to), he had fishing poles with which we did some deep sea fishing and caught some fish, and this also included the use of snorkeling gear along with him taking us to see some of the reefs. He also said that if you were alright with him finding other customers for a group tour the cost was about 300 pesos (about $17 usd) and you could rent the snorkeling equipment. It was an absolutely incredible experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from union city tn

Not what you pay for.

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Orbitz
Walked in the room. Bed sheet was dirty on the corner. The lights was flickering then went out for a minute. The air didn't want to start. And worst of all there was a huge black spider in the corner of ceiling. Huge... I went and told them i cant stay in that room they told me i'd have to one night. Well i went to another hotel that night. Then i tried to get refund and they charged me staying there one night. I was in that room for less than 5 minutes. No way i will ever go back to that hotel. I went to villablanca. Very good hotel. Clean rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel, great location close to the marina.
2 out of 5
by Kaitlin from Annapolis, CA

A cheap place to stay

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
There is nothing special about the Marina Resort. The rooms are clean, but certainly some aspects were in need of repair. This was a last minute choice and we had little affordable options so it worked. I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you needed a last minute place to stay. The king bed was comfortable though and the staff was friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

location was great, everything else just okay...

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Pros: Location, price
Cons: I understand I am in Mexico, but you have to have staff in there that speaks some English. I don't speak Spanish very well but I also don't own ahotel
Location: good location, easy walk to the beach and it was nice seeing the cruise ship at port.
Wasn't expecting a lot I feel the price was pretty good. I like to walk around and see the city that I'm staying in so the hotel is typically not that important to me. Nobody spoke English in the hotel at all, I had to have the taxi driver come in and help me communicate with the staff when I first got there. Also the roaches were pretty bad, but when I told the staff they took care of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Beautiful view across from the Marina.

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Clean, proximity to everything.
Cons: The pool area is small but we never went as we enjoyed the many beaches!
Location: The center of town is walking or quick taxi ride. Lots of great restaurants nearby. The Marina Hotel offered free breakfast which was very easy.
I think this hotel is underrated by silly people who don't understand what a gorgeous place this is and the excellent infra structure of the town. It is authentic; kind wonderful Mexican people and just a very great place for eating, sunning and visiting some of the many beaches it offers. The only negative people would be those far less traveled and expecting Mexico to be Kansas.