Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

The worst service I have ever experienced

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Service
Location: It is quite far from the town and main beaches.
The hotel main desk service and the management are extremely unprofessional and negligent. It took me three calls and two hours to have someone come to my room to place clean sheets in my room. When we checked in, the beds looked unmade and the sheets on my bed were stained and had hair all over them. I had arrived from an overnight flight and was exhausted but unable to sleep in the bed I paid for because of their disgusting sheets and horrible service. I decided to check out early and was still charged for the night I did not stay. I also did not receive my beach deposit of $100 pesos back. I have used my time and resources to call (long distance) and e-mail to resolve this issue and it has been a month. I am truly disappointed and angered with the lack of service and decency at this locale.
2 out of 5
by Lucero from Rialto California

a little dissapointed

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
I thought this was a beach front property but that was my bad should have checked on the maps section!! I rented 4 rooms and two of the rooms the ac went off for a few hrs they do clean your room but do not replenish the items like shampoo and towels unless you ask if you want pool towels you need to leave a deposit and i saw one roach in my room I did let them know of the concerns but front desk didn't seem interested I will go back to Huatulco but not to this place again
1 out of 5
by Noemi from California

Women run the other way!! Not safe!!!

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
Worst experience ever! The male staff made my sister and I feel uncomfortable. Asking for our numbers. Being persistent about joining them after work. We felt like we were being stalked and followed. All women...run the other way fast! I had to ask my husband to fly over the make me feel safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford CT, U.S.A

Nice Hotel, comfortable atmosphere

Posted Jun 3, 2016
I completely enjoyed our time at La Isla Hotel! The greatest asset of this hotel is their employees!! They made us feel very welcome and comfortable! We were on a first name basis with several employees who gave us exceptional service!! Value your staff La Isla, they are what make your hotel extraordinary! Gerson, Alexis, Hiram, Francisco, Jaun, Noel, Deysi, Adrian, Oscar, Eleutenio, Letty, and Isario! Food at the beach club was amazing. Bartenders attentive! My only suggestion would be to fix up the bathrooms in the rooms. We had a cracked drain cover and water damage on our ceiling above the shower. Also, house keepers could use a vacuum in order to clean more thoroughly. Other then that, we have no complaints! Cozy atmosphere!
3 out of 5
by angeles cornejo

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
I'd recommend this hotel as service was not great; tv remote control didn't work, we have to ask three times for bottle water for towels, they don't have room service. I was misled as we wanted to stay in the hotel by the beach.
1 out of 5
by imelda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alaska

One night only

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: The beach club was a nice option. The towels that we had to ask for were nice quality.
We had booked this hotel to be closer to the airport the night before our return home. Glad it was for only one night. Beds were uncomfortable. Place seemed to be in a state of disrepair. The pool was missing a lot of tiles. Broken floor tiles in our room. It was adequate at best.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

There are better places to stay for similar money

Posted Mar 11, 2016
Pros: The room was spacious on the 3rd floor. The pool was pretty to look at.
Cons: Proper management so that the staff could have tools to really impress the guest rather than feeling helpless.
Location: Not great. Find somewhere closer to Chahue beach and La Crucecita or you will end up taking a lot of taxis.
The staff were friendly, but it was the hotel's operation which was rigid and not with the customer in mind. The biggest inconvenience was that the chambermaid would take our towels and not return them until 7:30 pm or so; sometimes they even forgot to bring us new ones. It was so inconvenient that we ended up having them clean our room every couple of days so that when we returned from the beach we could have a shower. The breakfast was ok, but not great. The menu was limited for non-Mexicans and I ended up having the french toast 6 days in a row because it was something close to what I was used to. Fruit consisted of papaya and watermelon only, and one day there was only papaya. One waiter, Sergio, was a bit of a prima madonna . The front desk was not always able to break smaller bills for us (not their fault, they felt bad), so it made it hard to tip consistently. The room was nice and spacious, but the bed was hard, the pillows were tiny and lumpy and there were no facecloths or bath mats unless you asked for them. Then when they changed them you didn't automatically get them back. It's a bit far out for walking so you end up taking a lot of taxis and the price just went up. I wouldn't give La Isla another chance with my money, but the worst part is that I don't think they care if you ever come back. Typical Mexican service.
3 out of 5
by PAUL from Millerton

Hotel Isla is Just OK

Posted Feb 7, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. No English channels on their cable. One day we had no water. One day, no maid service. WiFi is terrible, Am and Pm, non-existent. Good A/C in the room. Breakfast buffet pretty bland, but they do have fresh squeezed OJ. Beach Club is convenient, but food and drinks are pricey.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unfriendly staff / dirty bathroom

Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Hotels
Checking in was a nightmare, the girl working in the frontdek was rude and very unfriendly. The bathroom was dirty with stains from the previous persons staying there. The floor was dirty with stain and it was never cleaned. The room had roaches