Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland, Nova Scotia, Canada

Gorgeoys view

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Clean room and comfy bed - most appreciated after a long day!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Old heritage house across road from bay

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Old house but very clean and very good breakfast. Fresh clean linen and bedding
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and relaxing atmosphere, view of ocean, quiet

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Cons: TV channels
Location: Good location to everything
Friendly staff, clean, ocean view, good breakfast quiet and good bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Very Nice little Inn. Isolated

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Peaceful, quiet, beautiful ocean view, comfortable room, jetted tub, excellent meal service.
Cons: Stronger WiFi signal in upstairs rooms
Location: Approx. 25-30 minutes from central Halifax in the peaceful community of Hubbards, near picturesque Lunenburg.
I did not realize when I booked this property that it is located in the community of Hubbards which is over 25 minutes from the central part of Halifax. However, it is in a very picturesque and idyllic location directly across the road from a nice ocean beach park. My room (Lighthouse) was upstairs and overlooked the ocean and was very roomy and pleasant. The queen bed was clean and very comfortable. One highlight of the room was the large jetted tub that was big enough to allow me to fully recline. There is a nicely appointed dining room in the inn which is for guests only. I had a delicious salmon dinner the evening I arrived and a wonderful breakfast was provided the next morning. The hotel staff are very cordial. One small criticism is that the WiFi did not work in my room. I was able to get a good connection on the main floor. However, I should point out that this issue definitely did not detract from the enjoyment of my stay.
5 out of 5
by Sandra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Sandra

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
We really enjoyed this old inn that served a really good breakfast in the morning. It was right across from Queensland beach with a path across the road to get to it. It was very close to where we needed to be to visit relatives. The rooms are very quaint done up in the original Victorian style. We really loved it. The only thing that is a drawback is the stairs are original and can be hard to climb if you are arthritic. Otherwise, no other issues. The dining area is really nice. We met some wonderful people while we were there.
4 out of 5
by Louis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Lesley

Very enjoyable stay! Look forward to going back!

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
Very enjoyable stay at Surfside. Love the location across the road from the ocean and beach. Staff were friendly, and exceptionally accommodating. We were pleased to be able to have dinner there, and the dinner and both breakfasts were excellent. The room had a view of the beach, and was lovely to hear the sound of the waves on the shore, from our room. We were there during peak season, and price was reasonable. We have stayed there before and would definitely go back, when visiting in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PEI

Missing Hospitality

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Not a lot
Cons: Hospitality skills. Food retention to support the menu
Location: On a busy NS highway (103) facing St. Margarets Bay with a small nearby beach.
Upon arrival, no greeting just a request to read a form (smoking, clean up and damage waiver and set fees) and sign if you agree. Asked if we would like dinner that evening and shown a menu. 3 Starters, 7-8 Main Courses and 3 Deserts. Good choices. We picked mussels as starters, roasted vegetable pasta and a salmon dish. We were informed that there were no mussels in any of the shops so they could not offer this dish. There were also no fresh vegetables for the pasta dish - so only salmon, chicken and steak were available at a surfside, coastal inn. Amazing that there was only salmon that was from the ocean. We did not stay for dinner. Breakfast was nothing special. Overall very disappointing and a somewhat dreary reception and definitely lacking basic hospitality competencies.
5 out of 5
by Patricia

high Fives in all areas

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
Food was fabulous. Excellent chef, best salmon dinner I have ever had. All people were very helpful and friendly. Wonderful place.